Mortitheurge Willbreaker

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Skorne Logo.jpg Mortitheurge Willbreaker

Skorne Mortitheurge Solo

Masters of the powers of death and agony, the mortitheurges known as willbreakers can influence the mind of an enemy soldier as easily as they can control the great beasts of the skorne war host. A soldier who faces a willbreaker knows the roiling fear of uncertainty, that his own weapons might be turned against his friends and allies or he might be forced to lay down arms and placidly accept the blows of the enemy. Few things can terrify a warrior more than the stark realization that his fate is not his own.|Hordes Solo Gallery}}

Basic Info

Mortitheurge Willbreaker
Missing Info
Mortitheurge Willbreaker.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 5
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Beast Master - This model can force friendly Faction warbeasts in its CMD as if it were that beast's real controller.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.

Weapons

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Flesh Hardening

(★ Action) CMD - - Round -
Target friendly Skorne living warrior model/unit. If the model/unit is in range, continuous effects on it immediately expire and it gains Tough for one round.
Influence

(★ Attack) 10 - - - Yes
Take control of target enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model. The model immediately makes one basic attack, then Influence expires. A model can be affected by Influence only once per turn.
Puppet Master

(★ Action) or (★ Attack) 10 - - Round (★)
When Puppet Master targets an enemy model/unit, it is a magic attack. You can have one affected model reroll one attack or damage roll, then it expires. Puppet Master lasts for one round.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Mortitheurge Willbreaker

Mortitheurge Willbreaker in a nutshell

The Mortitheurge Willbreaker is a buffing and magical support solo and it's all about the three spells. Flesh Hardening to keep infantry alive, Puppet Master to land crucial shots, and Influence for when the enemy leaves a model with a spray in the wrong place

Combos & Synergies

  • Casters with low Fury. Any place you want to force a beast, but cant because of control range issues. Has interesting interactions with long leash.
  • Praetorian Ferox because the combination of Tough and Steady is awesome
  • Any Venator or Praetorian reason - the more tough the better.
  • Puppet Master helps with any assassination.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • No weapons or useful attack, which is a rarity in Skorne and a real problem in drawn out games.
  • Most single wound Skorne are cheap enough that you'd be better off getting more troops than you are spending the points on a Willbreaker. Especially as at range they just get double-tapped now they are knocked down.

Tricks & Tips

  • Look for people carrying sprays to take over. You can get a lot of mileage out of influence that way.


Other

Trivia

  • Mortitheurgy comes from Latin mortus, death, and theourgía, “sorcery”, from theós, “god” + érgon, “work”. One who works miracles, or persuades a god or spirit to perform a supernatural work, so a sorcerer or shaman of death. Not like a necromancer, but likely one who draws miracles from working with death. Fitting name for a torture wizard, really.
  • Released in Hordes: Gargantuans (2013)

Other Skorne models

Skorne Logo.jpg       Skorne Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Hexeris1 - Hexeris2 - Jalaam1 - Rasheth1 - Makeda1 - Makeda2 - Makeda3 - Mordikaar1 - Morghoul1 - Morghoul2 - Morghoul3 - Naaresh1 - Xekaar1 - Xerxis1 - Xerxis2 - Zaal1 - Zaal2 - Zaadesh2
Lessers & Attachments Aptimus Marketh (Warlock attachment) - Zaadesh1 (Lesser Warlock)
Lesser Lesser Warbeasts: Agonizer - Aradus Scarab - Reptile Hounds
Light Basilisk Drake - Basilisk Krea - Cyclops Brute - Cyclops Raider - Cyclops Savage - Cyclops Shaman - Razor Worm
Heavy Aradus Sentinel - Aradus Soldier - Archidon - Bronzeback Titan - Rhinodon - Titan Cannoneer - Titan Gladiator - Titan Sentry
Chiron - Despoiler - Molik Karn - Tiberion
Gargantuans Desert Hydra - Mammoth
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Cataphract Arcuarii - Cataphract Cetrati - Cataphract Incindiarii - Immortals - Legends of Halaak - Nihilators - Paingiver Beast Handlers - Paingiver Bloodrunners - Praetorian Ferox - Praetorian Karax - Praetorian Keltarii - Praetorian Swordsmen - Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer - Venator Catapult Crew - Venator Flayer Cannon Crew - Venator Reivers - Venator Slingers

Solos

Abidan the Keeper - Ancestral Guardian - Aptimus Marketh - Extoller Novitiate - Extoller Soulward - Hakaar the Destroyer - Immortal Vessel - Mortitheurge Willbreaker - Paingiver Bloodrunner Master Tormentor - Paingiver Task Master - Tyrant Rhadeim - Venator Dakar - Void Spirit - Zaadesh1

Battle Engines Siege Animantarax - Supreme Guardian
Theme Forces
Disciples of Agony - Masters of War - The Exalted - Winds of Death
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Skorne Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.09

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed     (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Beast Master     (Edit)

  • The Beast Master doesn't have its own battlegroup - the warbeast still needs to be in a warlock's battlegroup.
  • Although a Beast Master can force them, it can't leech from them (you'll need a second rule, like Condition, to do that).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability     (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flesh Hardening     (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Influence     (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
  • General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Movement
  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • Melee Attacks
  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
  • Destroying the Controlled model
    If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
  • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Puppet Master     (Edit)

  • Puppet Master can be put on a model in a unit, and it will be applied to the whole unit. However, as soon as any model in the unit chooses to use it then it expires on the entire unit (so really it only affects one model).
  • Puppet Master can be used on "secondary" damage rolls such as Electro Leap, Magic Bullet, etc.
  • It can't be used on "stay in play" damage effects like a Scather's AOE.
  • If you cast Puppet Master on the same model/unit multiple times (eg Dhunian Knot) it doesn't stack, at all. (Infernal Ruling)