How usable this model is in Mk IV depends on the Faction:
- Cygnar: This model is available in Unlimited Cygnar, but no longer counts as a Cygnar model (instead it is merely a Mercenary that works for Cygnar).
- Mercenary: This model is available in Unlimited Mercenaries.
You can view the Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.
Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.
The Order of Illumination relies on an arsenal of blessed weapons and holy wards, the preservation and upkeep of which falls to Morrowan battle priests. Soldiers of the Order are glad to be joined by such priests, who support them in battle with prayers and shield them from enemy magic. Battle priests are so focused on their sacred duties that they may appear ragged and disheveled, with no concern for superficial appearances. They are quite willing to pay the ultimate sacrifice to safeguard the faithful warriors with whom they serve.
|Morrowan Battle Priest
Attachment [ Small- or Medium-based Cygnar or Morrowan ] - This model can be added to a small- or medium-based Cygnar or Morrowan unit.
Partisan [ Cygnar ] - When included in a Cygnar army, this model/unit is a Cygnar model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
- Granted: Rise - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Rise. (Rise - If a model with Rise is knocked down at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it stands up.)
- Sacred Ward - This model cannot be targeted by enemy spells.
- Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary. The Shield Guard special rule can only trigger once per attack roll.
- Spell Breaker - When this model hits another model with an attack, enemy upkeep spells on the model hit expire. A spellcaster can keep that upkeep spell in play by suffering d3 damage points.
- Mercenary, Khador, or Cygnar
- Flame in the Darkness.
- The Battle Priest and its unit gain Vengeance in this theme.
- Their Faction type will change to match the warcaster's Faction.
- If your caster is Mercenary or Khador, the Priest can only attach to a Morrowan unit.
- If your caster is Cygnar, the Priest can attach to any unit in the theme.
- It can be included in any Mercenary theme that allows a Morrowan Mercenary unit. Note that there are some Mercenary themes that allow Cygnar units but transform them into Mercenary units (such as Llaelese Resistance) - the Battle Priest can't attach to those ex-Cygnar units.
- Operating Theater. (But only if you attach the Priest and a Cephalyx Dominator to a Mercenary Morrowan unit)
- The Irregulars. This model can be added to Precursor Knights in this theme.
- Its status as both a unit attachment and as a Partisan is a bit of a unique case. The end result is: it can go in any Cygnar theme that allows any kind of Cygnar unit (ie all of them), you can take as many Priests as you like, and they never count against your "Up to one Mercenary unit/solo" allowance.
- Heavy Metal
- Sons of the Tempest
- Storm Division. The Battle Priest gains Immunity: Electricity in this theme.
- Other Factions
- As a mercenary attachment, it can also be taken in a bunch of other Faction's theme forces - as long as it is attached to a Mercenary Morrowan unit that works for that other Faction. Refer to #Other Theme Forces.
Thoughts on Morrowan Battle Priest
Morrowan Battle Priest in a nutshell
An absolute steal at 2 points a piece, they are essentially ablative Shield Guards that you can add to any small or medium based Morrowan or Cygnar unit. They grant the unit Rise, which combos well with anything Tough. Other than that their stats aren't all that amazing, neither is the weaker version of Dispel they have, but this and their low cost means you don't care if they die. Given that Flames grants Vengeance to all it units, they become extremely powerful, as they are able to forcefully trigger it for their respective unit.
Combos & Synergies
- Blaize - Naturally, as she works well with anything Morrowan.
- Gallant - Naturally, as he accumulates off of them.
- Precursor Knights - Probably the best Unit for them, as they are also affected by Practiced Maneuvers, the Mini feat and shield wall. Also being shield guards, they make sure the rest of the unit is delivered by triggering Vengeance granted by the Flames theme. If only they were Tough, they would be the complete package.
- Given that Rise will seldom be relevant otherwise, it's a really good idea to supply their attached unit with a source of Tough (if they aren't already); Rhupert's and Gabriel Throne's Heroic Calls, as well as Maddox's and Crosse's Dauntless Resolve deliver on this. In Flames you can then enjoy a Tough/Rise/Vengeance Combo.
- Legion of Lost Souls - Interestingly enough, WAs can be brought back by Blood-Bound. So yeah, recurrable 2 point Shield Guards are extremely strong and the Legion want to benefit from forcibly triggered Vengeance as much as any unit.
- As they will likely die once they Shield Guarded anything, they can provide tokens to Alexia1 and Alexia2 easily. If Blood Bound is a factor in your list, you can do it over and over again, too.
- Alexia, The Undying - Passive Necromancy turns any priest that dies into a Thrall, while her leadership turns thralls into Shield Guards themselves, so you can theoretically Shield Guard twice in the same turn with the "same" model. Just note that you can't blood-bound priests that you turned into Thralls back as Passive Necromancy RFPs.
- Field Mechaniks - Why ever the Gobbers, who worship Dhunia, care for the presence of a priest to a human god is unknown, but they are the cheapest way to bring priests into any Cygnar Army, so who cares?
- The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - This is a Flames in the Darkness (Cygnar) only combo, but it's extremely fun jank; as they become Cygnar units in this theme, you can attach Priests to them and bring them back with the aforementioned Blood-Bound.
- Stormguard and Silver Line Stormguard love Rise, but keep in mind that Priests can give Silverline members the benefit for Polarity Wall, but can still be charged themselves. For Stormguard they are a nice wall of Steel buddies, however. If they are positioned correctly with Silverline Stormguard, you can preserve their Polarity Wall much longer - this is especially helpful against ranged attacks with rules that inflict a point or more of damage which would circumvent their armour.
- The Stormblade Infantry leader's Tactics: Relentless Charge and Iron Zeal, as well as the Trencher Commandos CA minifeat can affect them.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- It can't be attached to ex-Cygnar units in the Llaelese Resistance or Kingmaker's.
- The model has a high $ cost. Retail price is US$16 per model. You only get 1 model per pack. This is because the rules prior to CID intended the priest to be primarily useful as a single model attachment like the Patrol Dog. The shield guard rule addition significantly changed how it fit in to an army.
Tricks & Tips
- Activate the Battle Priest first in melee versus units with upkeeps on them.
limited edition sculpt.
Morrowan Battle Priestess; Minicrate VIP Exclusive.
Other Theme Forces
The non-Mercenary, non-Cygnar theme forces it can be taken are governed by which Mercenary unit you want to attach it to. At the time of writing (2019.04), it can be taken in:
Crucible Guard (Edit)
Other Faction models
| Mercenary Index (Edit)
| Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
| Warcaster attachments
Doctor Stygius -
Madelyn Corbeau -
| Lesser Warlocks
|| Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
| Non-character Units
Cephalyx Mind Bender -
Cephalyx Mind Slaver -
Cephalyx Overlords -
High Shields -
Artillery Corps -
Forge Guard -
Idrian Skirmishers -
Kayazy Assassins -
Kayazy Eliminators -
Legion of Lost Souls -
Ogrun Assault Corps -
OoI Resolutes -
OoI Vigilants -
Precursor Knights -
Press Gangers -
Sea Dog Pirates -
Deck Gun -
SH Cannon -
SH Halberdiers -
SH Cavalry -
SH Mortar -
SH Riflemen -
SH Volley Gun -
Tactical Arcanist Corps -
Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) -
Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)
| Character Units
Croe's Cutthroats -
Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters -
Blythe & Bull -
Herne & Jonne -
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt -
Lynus & Edrea -
The Commodore Cannon -
The Devil's Shadow Mutineers
| Non-character Solos
Cephalyx Agitator -
Death Archon -
Gobber Tinker -
Menite Archon -
Morrowan Archon -
Ogrun Bokur -
Powder Monkey -
SH Arcanist -
SH Ironhead -
SH Gunner -
Swamp Gobber River Raider
Thamarite Advocate -
Thamarite Archon -
| Character Solos
Alten Ashley -
Anastasia Di Bray -
Balthazar Bamfist -
Black Bella1 -
Black Bella2 -
Bloody Bradigan -
Bosun Grogspar -
Brun Cragback & Lug -
Captain Crawtooth -
Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI -
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath -
Dirty Meg -
Doc Killingsworth -
Doctor Stygius -
First Mate Hawk -
Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 -
Flugwug the Filcher -
Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One -
Grand Master Gabriel Throne -
Harlan Versh, Illuminated One -
Harlowe Holdemhigh -
Hermit of Henge Hold -
Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter -
Kell Bailoch -
Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress -
Lord Rockbottom -
Major Harrison Gibbs -
Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile -
Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor -
Princess Delores Graciela -
Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger -
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord -
Rorsh & Brine -
Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer -
Savio Montero Acosta -
Saxon Orrik -
Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye -
Stannis Brocker -
Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage -
Thor Steinhammer -
Underboss Vizkoya -
Viktor Pendrake -
Weird Wendell -
Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
| Battle Engines
Hammerfall Siege Crawler -
| Independent Warjack
Malvin1 & Mayhem1
| Theme Forces (Edit)
| Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
|This index was last updated: 2021.11
Rules Clarification : Battle Priest
- If you attach the Priest to a unit with Advance Deployment or Ambush, then the Priest gets to Advance Deploy too. (Locked Thread)
- In the Flames in the Darkness theme force:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: : Partisan (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|Which Faction am I?
- Partisans are Mercenary (or Minion) models unless they're taken in their "Home" Faction. For example, a Mercenary model that is Partisan [Cygnar]:
- When used in most armies it is "friendly Faction" only to other Mercenary models.
- When used in a Cygnar army it is "friendly Faction" to Cygnar models ... and stops being "friendly Faction" to any other Mercenaries in that Cygnar army.
- In a multi-caster game, Partisans count as the main army's Faction and not as a Mercenary models (if playing a Faction other than Mercaneries). (Infernal Ruling)
- If a Partisan unit can get a special attachment from their Partisan Faction (for instance a Soulless Escort or Trollkin Sorcerer) then they can only get that attachment when they're in the Partisan Faction. They can't take it when working as a regular Mercenary. (Locked thread)
- When taken in their Partisan Faction, they can't have a Ranking Officer attached.
- If you have a Partisan caster, you must choose whether your army is a Mercenary force or a [Partisan Faction] force. What warjacks the caster can take are then limited by your choice.
- Partisan casters can be taken in [Partisan Faction] theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
- Partisan casters can be fielded in multiple-caster games. (Locked thread)
See also the Category: Partisan for what happens if you mix and match Partisan casters and Merc casters in multi-caster games.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, so there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- Freely: If the Partisan is on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want plus another Mercenary unit/solo. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example Jaws of the Wolf allows "Kayazy models/units" so Partisan Kayayz can be used freely).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models/units" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria, so they can be used freely). (Infernal Ruling)
- Limited: If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one Mercenary/Minion" slot, so you can only have the one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Lanyssa can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted (Edit)
- Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table. (think "G for Goes away")
- Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies. (think "Tac-Tick = K for Keeps")
- Granted [ Vengeance ]
- If the model granting Vengeance dies, the unit will not get any Vengeance attacks.
- It is "If you have Vengeance, and you were damaged last turn, you get a move+attack."
- It is not "If you get damaged, you get Vengeance next turn."
- If you lose Vengeance halfway through resolving Vengeance, then you stop resolving Vengeance immediately. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward (Edit)
- Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard and/or Shadow Guardian (Edit)
- You can't use this ability vs spells.
- You shift all effects onto the new model, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use this ability vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- This ability doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
- Shield Guard only
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Spell Breaker (Edit)
- Spell Breaker makes the upkeep disappear the instant the model is hit. If the enemy upkeep normally causes something to happen when the enemy is "hit", it won't trigger.
- Anti-Upkeep vs a unit (Edit)
- If an upkeep is on a unit, then all you need to do is make it expire off any member of the unit and the spell will expire from the entire unit.
- It doesn't matter if the target is in formation or not. (Locked thread)
- However, if an upkeep is on a single model within a unit (such as Scything Touch) then you need to dispel it off that particular model to make it dispel. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores spell buffs even if they're not directly on the target. (For example, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell is cast on Haley and gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5". Blessed ignores it on everyone, not just on Haley.) (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat (for example Arcane Shield gives +3 ARM).
- Whereas a spell which grants an ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored by Blessed (for example Cloak of Ash gives a model concealment, and concealment gives +2 DEF).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else]. (For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.)
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")