Monitor

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1297 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Convergence Logo.jpg Monitor

Convergence Heavy Warjack

The Monitor, with a wicked ellipsaw flinger that sends powerful blades spinning toward enemies, represents a deadly ranged threat to any who oppose the Maiden of Gears.

Basic Info

Monitor
Missing Info
Monitor WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 12
MAT (★)
RAT (★)
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack used by the Convergence. It swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node, and this changes how it gets access to focus. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's. Click here for a full rundown
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Steady - This model cannot become knocked down.
  • True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.

Weapons

  • Ellipsaw Flinger - 13" range, POW 13 ranged weapon
    • Ricochet - When this model directly hits an enemy model with an initial attack with this weapon, immediately after the attack is resolved this model can make another ranged attack with this weapon targeting another model within 4" of the model originally hit, ignoring LOS and this weapon's RNG. Attacks gained from Ricochet cannot generate additional attacks from Ricochet.
  • Spring-Spike Fist - 1" reach, P+S 17 melee weapon
    • Open Fist symbol.jpg Open Fist
    • Sustained Attack - During this model's activation, when it makes an attack with this weapon against the last model hit by the weapon this activation, the attack automatically hits.

Theme Forces

Convergence

Other Factions

  • There are three Convergence Partisan models that, between them, can take this warjack in a plethora of Mercenary, Cryx, and Cygnar themes.
  • These models are Aurora2, Asphyxious4, and Nemo4.

Recent Changes

2020.02 Strange Bedfellows


Thoughts on Monitor

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Monitor in a nutshell

Monitor serves as sniping vector and cheap all rounder. Its ranged attack has the range to pick off solos, true sight allows it to see through their stealth, and it's strong enough to bang up enemy lights. It's no slouch in melee, assuming it hit the enemy.

Combos & Synergies

  • Iron Mother Directrix is arguably the best 'caster to run monitor. She has the focus to run him, fire group increases his range to crazy levels, Imperil means he can put the hurt on heavies, and her feat means he rarely misses

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It's slow
  • It's slightly pillow-fisted with only P+S 17 in melee, P+S 13 at range.

Tricks & Tips

  • If you are trying for a full three focus induction chain always boost the first to hit roll from the Monitor - you need the ricochet to spend three.
  • Snipe those solos. Even the ones you can't see if they are near something you can.

Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ricochet      (Edit)

  • The attacker is the point of origin for the Ricochet attack, for the purposes of determining cover, Shield bonus, etc. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sustained Attack      (Edit)

  • Translation for newbies : Once you hit your target, your next attack(s) with the same weapon will auto-hit.
  • If your target becomes out of range in between attacks (somehow), then Sustained Attack will not let you auto-hit. Refer Step 3 vs Step 4 of the Attack Sequence (Apdx A).
  • If you have sustained attack on a weapon that makes simultaneous attacks (e.g. Prime Axiom making a Sweep attack), then all the models you hit are "the last model hit" and whichever one you choose to attack next is the one you get the auto-hit bonus vs. (Infernal Ruling)
  • This only applies to the first attack after a simultaneous one - once you make that next attack, it's all reset back to being "just one" last model hit.
    • Example : you Sweep and hit models A, B, C. Then you buy an attack vs model C. It is auto-hit because it was (one of) the last model(s) hit. Then you buy another attack, now you can only auto-hit C because it is the last model hit.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's control range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Similar to a normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it does lose the focus currently on it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use their controller's current RAT/MAT.
    • The line that reads "use their warcaster's RAT/MAT" was supposed to change to "battlegroup controller" in the 2020 update. (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Deneghra1's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : True Sight      (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.