Modulator

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?


Convergence Logo.jpg Modulator

Convergence Heavy Warjack

The arcane displacer drive represented a major breakthrough in vector design. Freed from the hampering influence of gravity, heavy vectors equipped with this technology—such as the Conservator, Assimilator, and Modulator—gain unparalleled freedom of movement. Coruscating with electrostatic energy along its hull, the Modulator can channel this charge into a bolt of pure energy that electrocutes everything in its path.

Basic Info

Modulator
Missing Info
Modulator WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR
MAT (★)
RAT (★)
M.A. N/A
DEF 11
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 10
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

  • Emitter Surge (x2) - 11" range, POW 10 ranged attacks
    • Electricity dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Electricity
    • Direct Current - If this attack directly hits, you can choose to have all models whose bases are intersected by a line drawn between the center of the model directly hit and the center of this model suffer an unboostable POW 10 electrical damage roll. This damage is not considered to have been caused by an attack. Resolve Direct Current damage rolls simultaneously with the damage resulting from the attack that caused it.
  • Emitter Core (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapons

Theme Forces

Convergence

Other Factions

  • There are three Convergence Partisan models that, between them, can take this warjack in a plethora of Mercenary, Cryx, and Cygnar themes.
  • These models are Aurora2, Asphyxious4, and Nemo4.

Thoughts on Modulator

Modulator in a nutshell

The modulator is an anti-infantry jack, electrocuting lines of infantry but not hitting as hard as any of the other heavies in melee.

Combos & Synergies

  • Its guns, plasma nimbus and direct current all benefit from Ionization Servitors launched by a Prime Conflux.
  • Aperture Beams from Iron Mother Directrix's Exponent Servitors also boost the relatively weak attacks of the Modulator. The combined effect of Ionization and Exponent Servitors substantially strengthen the Modulator.
  • Fire Group from Iron Mother means he can get the direct current farther, getting more infantry under the line.
  • Eminent Configurator Orion can buff the Accuracy and Damage output of the Modulator with his feat. Additional die to hit infantry, and additional die to damage enemy heavies or warcasters can be a surprising amount of punch out of a 10-point vector. Mage Sight, Spellpiercer and Magic Bullet can also ensure that the Modulators can scalpel out just about anything at range.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It's too pillow fisted to really qualify as a heavy jack.
  • Gets shut down by lightning immunity
  • Plasma nimbus won't do anything to protect you from heavies

Tricks & Tips

Use "Direct Current" from your Emitter Surge to take out high DEF or Stealth models. You do need to score a direct hit on your actual target -- if there is not a good enemy model to target and hit, don't forget you can line things up to target one of your own models and damage enemy models between them.

Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Electricity      (Edit)

  • When electricity arcs/leaps, you ignore models with Immunity:Electricity. The arc "skips" them.
  • If you attack a model with Immunity:Electricity, the arc/leap won't go anywhere at all. The arc is "grounded".
  • Incorporeal models do not have Immunity: Electricity (they just ignore non-magical damage). As such electricity can arc/leap to and from incorporeal models.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Direct Current      (Edit)

  • The original target will not take two damage rolls. During Mark 2 the Dev's decided to use the dictionary definition for 'intersect': to pierce or divide by passing through or across.
  • It's an all-or-nothing choice. You either trigger it and damage everyone, or don't trigger it.
  • Not considered an attack / Pure damage roll (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Some attacks create a "secondary damage" roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap); while other abilities just tell you to make a "pure damage" roll without mentioning attacks at all (such as Vent Steam). In terms of interacting with 'attack triggers' (such as Vengeance) "secondary damage" and "pure damage" work the same.
    • When one attack triggers a secondary damage roll, the original attack and damage is definitely an attack and triggers stuff normally.
    • Secondary/pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • Secondary/pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • Secondary/pure damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so:


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's control range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Similar to a normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it does lose the focus currently on it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use their controller's current RAT/MAT.
    • The line that reads "use their warcaster's RAT/MAT" was supposed to change to "battlegroup controller" in the 2020 update. (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Deneghra1's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.

Vectors in non-Convergence factions

  • If Aurora2, Nemo4, or Asphyxious4 die while controlling a Vector:
    • The Vector remains whatever Faction it started the game as.
    • If the Vector is re-activated by a 'Jack Marshal, its new MAT/RAT score will be 0. If the 'Jack Marshal then dies, the MAT/RAT remains 0.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Plasma Nimbus      (Edit)

  • If you're hit by a CMA, only the primary attacker takes damage from Plasma Nimbus.
  • For a warbeast with Plasma Nimbus and a crippled body, you roll less one dice for the Plasma Nimbus damage.