Mitigator

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1297 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Convergence Logo.jpg Mitigator

Convergence Light Warjack

An enemy soldier who finds himself the target of a Mitigator stares death in the face. He knows that once it launches its razor bola, fitted with spikes that actuate with enough force to easily puncture armor and bone, his chances of escape are practically nil. Those who survive the impact of the razor bola find themselves entangled, helpless against the constructs and clockwork vessels of the Convergence that close in to methodically eliminate ensnared targets.


Basic Info

Mitigator
Missing Info
Mitigator WEB 1.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 7
MAT (★)
RAT (★)
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 7
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack used by the Convergence. It swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node, and this changes how it gets access to focus. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's. Click here for a full rundown
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Circular Vision - Models never gain a back strike bonus against this model.

Weapons

  • Razor Bola - 7" range, 3" AOE, gun which doesn't have a damage roll
    • Puncture - A model hit by this attack automatically suffers 1 point of damage.
    • Quake - On a direct hit against an enemy model, all models hit are knocked down.
  • Bash - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee attack. This guy is all about the gun

Theme Forces

Convergence

Other Factions

  • There are three Convergence Partisan models that, between them, can take this warjack in a plethora of Mercenary, Cryx, and Cygnar themes.
  • These models are Aurora2, Asphyxious4, and Nemo4.

Thoughts on Mitigator

Mitigator in a nutshell

A light jack that can knockdown any model (or other models within the aoe) on a direct hit. A deviating puncture is also great for infantry or high-def solos.

Combos & Synergies

  • Units with flare : Cipher, Attunement Servitors. Often, flared enemies are good targets to hit with boosted attack rolls.
  • Casters with decent RAT : Well, for convergence it would be Directrix or Syntherion.
  • Servitors : Put them really close, and shoot them in the back. You sacrifice one servitor, but it's worth it to get a knockdown on a key model.
  • Prime Axiom : Our beloved colossal always yearns for dragging and scrapping. Knocked down targets are easy to drag! Also a good way to spawn some friendly Attunement Servitors.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It's a special order model.
  • It's a light vector, so poor defensive stats, and lackluster melee.
  • Short range on the gun. If your target is in range, you're in charge range, a miss will be deadly.

Tricks & Tips

  • Under Syntherion's feat, you can charge him at a target and then shoot something else, to give your short range aoe a little bit more threat.
  • Puncture is outstanding against high-ARM, single-wound infantry formations, like Iron Fang Pikemen, Praetorian Karax or Dawnguard Sentinels.


Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Puncture and/or Incise     (Edit)

  • The 1 point of damage ignores ARM buffs. On the other hand, it doesn't get "damage roll" buffs because it doesn't make a roll.
  • This weapon automatically triggers "when this weapon/attack damages a model" effects (such as Drag, Backlash, etc).
  • Puncture only:
    • If Puncture is on an AOE weapon, then models caught in the AOE take 1 point of damage instead of blast damage. This means the AOE can hurt models with Dig In, Force Barrier, etc.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quake      (Edit)

  • If the weapon misses, then it will deviate and do blast damage as per a normal AOE (assuming it has a POW to begin with).
  • Other effects of the attack will still occur (such as the Mitigator's auto-point of damage to all models hit).
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's control range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Similar to a normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it does lose the focus currently on it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use their controller's current RAT/MAT.
    • The line that reads "use their warcaster's RAT/MAT" was supposed to change to "battlegroup controller" in the 2020 update. (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Deneghra1's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Circular Vision      (Edit)

  • This only prevents the normal bonus afforded from back strikes. It does not prevent things such as Backstab, which simply requires being in the rear arc.