Megalith

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Circle Logo.jpg Megalith

Circle Character Heavy Warbeast

Megalith’s eyes glow with something greater than the will of its master, something akin to self-awareness. This stone goliath sometimes wanders where it believes itself most needed, allowing nearby woldwardens to advance together as a crushing wall while shrugging off enemy attacks.

Basic Info[edit]

Megalith
Missing Info
Megalith.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4
THRS N/A
HP 35
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 20
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Bond [Baldur] - If Megalith begins the game in Baldur's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. Megalith is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While Megalith is bonded to Baldur and in their control range, at the start of Baldur's activation, Baldur can heal d3 hitpoints.
  • Bountiful Restoration - During your Control Phase, remove d3 damage points from Megalith. If a friendly Woldwarden is B2B with Megalith during your Control Phase, it heals d3 hitpoints for Mend instead of 1.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast a single spell.
    • |-

|colspan=7 style="text-align:left; font-size:110%; border-right: 1px solid #fff; border-left: 1px solid #fff;"| |colspan=1 style="text-align:left; font-size:110%; border-right: 1px solid #fff; border-left: 1px solid #fff; border-bottom: 1px solid #fff;"| |- |style="text-align:left; font-size:110%; border-bottom: 1px solid #fff; border-left: 1px solid #fff;" rowspan=1| Geomancy ! style="border-top: 1px solid #A8A8A8;"| 1 !colspan=5|Stats vary every time |style="border-bottom: 1px solid #fff; border-right: 1px solid #fff; border-left: 1px solid #fff; border-top: 1px solid #fff;"| |- |colspan=8 style="text-align:left; border-bottom: 1px solid #fff; border-right: 1px solid #fff; border-left: 1px solid #fff; border-top: 1px solid #fff;"| Once per turn, if it is within its warlock's control range, this model may be forced (for 1 fury) to cast a spell from the warlock's card with a COST of 3 or less, excluding upkeep spells and spells with RNG of SELF or CTRL. Geomancy can be used at any time when forcing is possible.

Weapons[edit]

Animus & Spells[edit]

Geomancy is a magic ability spell, Undergrowth is an animus spell.

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Geomancy 1 Stats vary every time

Once per turn, if it is within its warlock's control range, this model may be forced (for 1 fury) to cast a spell from the warlock's card with a COST of 3 or less, excluding upkeep spells and spells with RNG of SELF or CTRL. Geomancy can be used at any time when forcing is possible.

Undergrowth

2 SELF (★) - Round -
While within 5" of the caster, enemy models treat open terrain as rough terrain and suffer –2 DEF. Undergrowth lasts for one round.

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken by Baldur When taken by anyone else


Thoughts on Megalith[edit]

Classic sculpt

Megalith in a nutshell[edit]

Megalith is an upgraded Woldwarden. More expensive but tougher, hits harder in melee, has a higher magic ability, and has a much better animus (one that flattens the defense of the enemy).

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Megalith is Baldur's personal warbeast, and Baldur2 really likes the healing bond. Both Baluder2 and Baldur1 have decent spells to geomance, and provide free charges.
  • Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress or the Blackclad Wayfarer - Hunter's Mark is an excellent threat range extender that provides free charges. And free charges make for some interesting angles in melee.

Warlocks with good spells for Megalith to geomance are:

Of those, Baldur2, Bradigus, and Krueger2 are the clear winners.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Easy to hit
  • Expensive

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Remember that 5" from Megalith means his aura covers a lot of ground.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.

Rules Clarification : Weight of Stone - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target, then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).

Rules Clarification : Bountiful Restoration - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Geomancy      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Important Note

This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Spell Slave and Necromancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Geomancy is different to the other two, the text has been coloured green.

Who does the casting

  • It is the Geomancer that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
    • It's not anything simple like the warcaster getting an extra spell during their own activation.
    • Nor is it anything like an arc node.
    • Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant.
  • For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Geomancer that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
    • If the Geomancer is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
    • If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no affect on what the Geomancer can do.

When/how does the Geomancer cast

  • A Geomancer uses its Magic Ability to cast spells, but because it is neither a (★ Attack) or (★ Action) it means it can cast spells as an "Any Time" ability.
  • A Geomancer must be forced to use its Magic Ability. They do this instead of paying the full COST of the spell.
    • If an enemy ability prevents you from forcing, it will prevent you casting spells.
    • Since they do not pay the full cost of a spell, they are unaffected by stuff which changes the COST of a spell; such as Lamentation (Infernal Ruling) or Scaverous's feat (Infernal Ruling)

What spells can the Geomancer choose to cast

  • The Geomancer cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL, or with a COST more than 3, or that are an UPKEEP.
    • It can cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because it's in the battlegroup.
    • In addition to this, the Geomancer is limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Often it will be able to cast a spell fine, but the benefits won't be fully applicable to the Geomancer.
      • Geomancer cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
        For instance, a Geomancer that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
      • Geomancer cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Fury. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Fury Manipulation' rule, which only warlockshave.
        For instance, a Geomancer that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.

How can they boost the spell

  • The Geomancer can be forced to boost, just like with a regular attack.

Other

  • The Geomancer doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
  • The Geomancer cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your control range, and he doesn't have a control range.
  • The Geomancer can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But he will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Geomancer for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.

Rules Clarification : Undergrowth - None yet. (Edit)