Manticore

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


Retribution Logo.jpg Manticore

Retribution Shyeel Heavy Warjack

House Shyeel has brought the power of its formidable myrmidons to the Retribution, fighting machines enhanced by sophisticated arcanika systems. The Manticore is equally as formidable in melee or at range, thanks to kinetically augmented attacks and its Cyclone Cannon.

Basic Info

Manticore
Missing Info
Retribution Manticore.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 22
F. Field 10
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
  • Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Force Generator and can't attack with the Cyclone Cannon or use Covering Fire.
  • Force Generator - The Manticore can spend a focus to gain +3 STR for one turn.

Weapons

  • Cyclone Cannon - 12" range, d3 ROF, POW 12 ranged attack
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Covering Fire (★ Action) - Place a wall template anywhere completely within this weapon's RNG and this model's LOS, ignoring intervening models. A model entering or ending its activation in a template suffers a Magical Damage roll with POW equal to the POW of this weapon. The template remains in play for one round. If this model is destroyed or removed from play, immediately remove the template from play.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on the Manticore

Manticore in a nutshell

The Manticore is a solid warjack, a good mix of ranged and melee abilities. It can shoot down incoming troops (if you're feeling lucky on your ROF roll), or more often it will lay down Covering Fire to close down areas of the board to single-wound infantry. Then, in melee, its Force Generator ability gives it the damage bonus it needs to take down enemy heavies.

Combos & Synergies

  • In melee he prefers buffs to his focus efficiency (such as free charges or free attacks) rather than buffs to his damage (like Elara2's Scything Touch). The reason being, he has a low amount of attacks and already has great P+S (after paying for Force Generator)
  • If you're playing with the Steamroller 2017 terrain setup rules, then two Manticores using Covering Fire can really shut down the enemy infantry's movement options.
  • Lanyssa Ryssyl - She let's it charge for free, with is a focus freed up for his damage buff or extra attacks.
  • Arcanist Mechanik - Extra focus or a damage buff is exactly what the doctor ordered for this jack.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • While it sports impressive melee P+S, the focus cost means he doesn't do a lot of attacks, and consequently he tends to do rather less total damage than what one could expect. Don't be lured into thinking he can one-round other heavies easily.
  • Losing either the cortex or the Force Generator system will heavily cripple his melee ability.

Tricks & Tips

  • Space your Covering Fire(s) out to cover more board. For example, if you place it next to an obstruction and leave a gap just slightly smaller than a small-base, this will effectively add 1" to the area you've blocked off.
  • That said, one Manticore is usually only worth it to deny charges from single-wound models, so always bring two or more if you can help it.
  • Remember, unique to the Manticore, Covering Fire is a *Action, not a *Attack, so it can do so from combat. If a model has run up to jam it, but you know it won't hurt the Manticore, use Covering Fire as you would normally to stymie the enemy main line so you can deal with the jammers at your leisure.

Other

Trivia

Released in Forces of Warmachine: Retribution of Scyrah (November 2009)

Other Retribution models

Retribution Logo.jpg       Retribution Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Elara2 - Garryth1 - Garryth2 - Goreshade4 - Helynna1 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Rahn1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir ('Jack Marshal) - Artificer ('Jack Marshal)
Light Warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon - Harpy - Siren
Moros
Heavy Warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos

Aelyth Vyr - Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (1) - Eiryss, Angel of Retribution (2) - Eiryss, Fortune Hunter of Ios (4) - Elara, Tyro of the Third Chamber (1) - Fane Knight Guardian - Fane Knight Skeryth Issyen - Ghost Sniper - Hermit of Henge Hold - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress Lys Healer - Assassin - Narn, Mage Hunter of Ios - Nayl - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator - Dawnguard Trident
Theme Forces
Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution
Mercenaries
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr
Solos

Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan - Void Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Covering Fire      (Edit)

  • Covering Fire templates do not inherit the Damage Type(s) of the weapon that put it into play.
    • For instance, if you put Explosivo on the warjack, the Covering Fire remains non-magical.
    • However, some versions of Covering Fire already do a specific Damage Type (notably, the Manticore). In this case, the Covering Fire does that Damage Type and no other Type.
  • Hazard templates, and similar "non-hazard damage" templates (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • What's a "non-hazard"? Well, most templates that deal damage to models that walk into them are defined as 'Hazards' but some, like Creeping Barrage and Wall of Fire, are not.
      They behave similarly, but a Hazard is classified as a type of terrain and also will only have a Damage Type if it says it does (it doesn't inherit a Damage Type from the gun/spell that put them into play).
    • Many templates deal damage to models that enter or end their activation in them. However, if you put them into play on top of models, then it doesn't do damage to those models (unless it is an AOE from a weapon, or if its rules explicitly say it does damage when you first place it).
    • Damage templates from spells:
      • Spells which leave a template and are not described as a hazard will do magical damage to models that walk around in them. (Example: Razor Wall)
      • Spells which leave a template and are hazards will not do magical damage to models that walk around in them. Instead, they do whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
      • (Infernal Ruling)
      • Some spells do both. They aren't labelled as a hazard, so it does magical damage, and also they specify another damage type. For example, Wall of Fire.
    • A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the hazard will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
    • If two hazard templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
    • Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance).
    • Damage from a hazard is not considered to be from the weapon/spell that originally put it into play (so it doesn't gain the Damage Type or any other special rules of the weapon/spell).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Force Fields      (Edit)

  • You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)

Rules Clarification : Force Generator - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)