Malice

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
SamePageIcon.jpg

You may be looking for one of these:

We have 1225 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (1 year review) Fire of Salvation (1 year review) Severius0 (1 year review)


Cryx Logo.jpg Malice

Cryx Character Heavy Warjack

The product of fell experimentation lasting many centuries; the helljack Malice hosts a legion of vengeful spirits; the specters of those who fell under its claws. These trapped and tormented souls swarm across its hull, swimming in and out of its plates and mechanisms, shrieking constantly in a dissonant, deathly cacophony of madness. A dark and terrible chorus howls within the helljack. Blasphemous whispers permeate its cortex, driving the machine to ever-greater heights of slaughter. Malice exists only to glut itself on the souls of the living; it feasts jealously on the fallen in the heat of battle.

Basic Info

Malice
Missing Info
Malice 2017.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 17
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 15
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Soul Taker: Spirit Harvester - This model can gain soul tokens. When a living enemy model is destroyed within 5" of this model, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. This model can have up to five soul tokens at any time. At the start of this model's activation, you can remove soul tokens from this model to give it 1 focus point for each token removed.
  • Ghost Shield - This model gains +1 ARM for each soul token currently on it.
  • Possession - When this model hits an enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock model with a basic melee attack during this model's activation, this model can spend a soul token to take control of the enemy model. Immediately after the attack has been resolved, you can make a full advance with the enemy model and can then make one basic attack, then Possession expires. The enemy model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Possession only once per turn.

Weapons

  • Death Claw - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee attack
  • Barbed Harpoon - 8" range, POW 14 ranged attack
    • Drag - When this weapon damages an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the damaged model can be pushed directly toward this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction. After the damaged model is moved, this model can make one basic melee attack against the damaged model. After resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its combat action.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Malice

The 2011-2017 "Upgrade Kit" version of the sculpt

Malice in a nutshell

She's an upgraded Reaper, able to move the target even further with the Possession rule. Unfortunately she lost the awesome Helldriver for the much worse Slayer claw.

If Drag is your intended game then the +1 RAT and +2 POW on the harpoon is almost always worth the extra points required to upgrade a Reaper.

Ghost Shield should not be underrated. Even a few souls can boost armour to a point where Malice can be hard to remove, especially in the late game when fewer heavy-hitters are on the table.

Combos & Synergies

  • Team her up with Deneghra,The Soul Weaver or with a Soul Trapper so she can quickly gain some much-needed soul tokens.
  • Darragh Wrathe can provide an effective +2 armour vs living which can be extremely effective if Malice has a full soul load.
  • Any caster that can provide an armour buff synergises well. Both in getting Malice into the fray without dying and turning her into a late game tank.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • If your harpoon straight-out kills your target, Drag doesn't trigger and you'll only get the soul token if it was within 5".
  • In a game without souls readily available, Malice's performance is notably underwhelming and she's slightly over-costed.

Tricks & Tips

  • After Possessing an enemy warjack, always finish its movement with it facing away (so it can't declare charges next turn), with its back to you (so the rest of your army gets +2 to hit) and outside its controller's control range (so it can't get focus next turn).


Other

Trivia

  • Malice is a she.
  • Malice was originally sold as an "upgrade kit", which meant you needed to purchase the regular plastic Slayer model and then you attach the Malice bitz to it.
    • As of 2017, she was repackaged in a new multi-jack kit that also includes the bits for a Reaper or Corruptor.
  • Originally released in Warmachine: Wrath (2011).
  • Weirdly enough, she is the only character jack (other than "The Big 4" from Warmachine: Apotheosis) that does not belong specifically to one caster.

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living

BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)
  • If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
    • Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
    • You won't get the free melee attack from Drag, even if there's something different already in your melee range. No drag = no melee.
  • Enemy effects that occur after the attack (such as "Enliven" and "Whelp") are triggered before Drag but after Pull. Refer Apdx A:
    • Pull occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence . (Infernal Ruling)
    • Enemy effects occur at Step 13. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Drag occurs at Step 14.
    • As such, Enliven & Whelp etc can be used to 'block' the Drag movement, for instance, using Enliven to move behind an obstruction or another model.


The Movement

  • You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
  • The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
    • It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
    • They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
    • They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
  • You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
  • You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
  • You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
  • If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)


The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)

  • If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
  • If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
  • You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
    • To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
  • After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
  • After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.


More corner-case Rules Clarifications

  • Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
    • This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
    • When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
    • If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
      • Shoot the Drag weapon.
      • Drag the enemy closer.
      • Resolve the free melee attack.
      • Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
    • However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
  • Black Spot + Drag or Catch
    • If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Spirit Harvester      (Edit)

  • A warjack cannot go over its normal focus limit (which is 3 for most jacks) as a result of Spirit Harvester. Refer to the Cortex rules.

Rules Clarification : Ghost Shield - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Possession      (Edit)

  • Possession only triggers off basic attacks during your activation, so not Power Attacks or free strikes.
  • It can only be used once per target.
  • See also the generic clarifications on taking control of a model.