Machine Wraith

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1225 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (1 year review) Fire of Salvation (1 year review) Severius0 (1 year review)


Cryx Logo.jpg Machine Wraith

Cryx Wraith Solo

Little is known about the nightmarish apparitions called machine wraiths, though they are certainly some warped deviant of mechanikal artifice. Some speculate they are the bitter ghosts of arcane mechaniks or fallen priests of Cyriss; others maintain they are fallen warcasters. Whatever their origin, their howling, metallic call strikes a chill into the marrow of even the staunchest warrior.

Basic Info

Machine Wraith
Missing Info
Machine Wraith.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 7
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 2
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
  • Incorporeal - This model can walk through walls, terrain, models, and just about anything else. It can't be damaged except by things which have Damage Type: Magical. When it makes a melee or ranged attack it loses Incorporeal until its next activation.

Weapons

  • Mechano-Claws - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
    • Dark Dominion - You can take control of an enemy warjack that you hit in melee, if it has a working cortex. You get to make the warjack do a free move then a single attack.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Machine Wraith

Machine Wraith in a Nutshell

An excellent warjack harassment piece for its points cost, great as a filler for your last few army points.

Even if your opponent doesn't bring warjacks, it can also use its Incorporeal advantage to sit on the objective and be a difficult-to-remove model, or similarly stand in front of your caster and physically occupy spots where charging enemy models can end their charge movement.

Combos & Synergies

Use it in conjunction with a Reaper - first drag the model in so the Wraith can charge it, then Dark Dominion it even deeper into your lines.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Dark Dominion doesn't work vs Colossals, Cephalyx, Convergence, Hordes, or the Avatar.

Tricks & Tips

  • It is a good target for Scything Touch since it's hard to kill, has great mobility and decent melee range. All that adds up to you being able to apply a -2 ARM debuff pretty much wherever you want, especially if you just run (instead of charging).
  • Keep an eye out for warjacks that are near the edge of their controller's control range. You can use Dark Dominion to move them completely out of their control range so then that jack will get no focus next turn (Power Up happens only in control range).
  • General tips for when you take over a warjack:
    • The MW will be corporeal when the jack moves, so don't position your MW such that it blocks the jack from moving where you want it to go.
    • Move it into the opponent's other model's back arc before attacking them, to get the +2 bonus on the free attack
    • End its movement such that its rear arc is now facing the rest of your army, so you get +2 bonus on any further attacks vs it.
    • End its movement such that it can't see any of your army, so it can't declare charges next turn.

Other

Trivia

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living

BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dark Dominion      (Edit)

  • Once the warjack is hit by the Machine Wraith, it immediately changes control until Dark Domination is resolved. This includes resolving the damage from the Wraith's attack.
  • Therefore, if the warjack has abilities that trigger on being "damaged by an enemy attack" (such as Enliven) then it can't trigger; because at the time the damage occurs the two models are friendly to each other. (Infernal Ruling)
  • See also the generic clarifications on taking control of a model.

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.