Lord of the Feast

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1213 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Syvestro (one year review) Retaliator (one year review) Cyrenia (one year review) Shrine of the Lawgiver (one year review)


Circle Logo.jpg Lord of the Feast

Circle Character Solo

Fluff

Basic Info

Lord of the Feast
Missing Info
Lord of the Feast.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 8
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Heart Eater - When this model destroys a living or undead enemy model with a melee attack, it gains the destroyed model's corpse token. It can carry up to three tokens, and can spend them to buy or boost melee attacks.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Death Feast - During its activation, this model can spend corpse tokens to remove d3 damage for each token spent.
  • Death-Powered - This model gains +1 STR and ARM for each corpse token it has.

Weapons

  • Wurmblade - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Blood Reaper - When the Lord makes an initial attack with this weapon, he makes one melee attack with this weapon against each model in his LOS that is in this weapon’s melee range. Blood Reaper attacks are simultaneous.
    • Grievous Wounds - A model hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.
  • Raven - 10" range, ranged attack which does no damage
    • Shifter - When this attack hits an enemy model, immediately after the attack is resolved place the Lord in B2B with the enemy hit.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update

  • +1 SPD, -1 ARM
  • Gained Death-Powered and Grievous Wounds
  • Swapped Thresher for Blood Reaper


Thoughts on Lord of the Feast

Lord of the Feast in a Nutshell

The Lord of the Feast is another infantry killer. Advance deploying, and if it can hit with the raven it can get backstrikes. It's also fairly expensive - but that doesn't matter in the slightest when you can get the Lord of the Feast for free in both themes it's available in. And almost everyone does in high level competitive play in either theme because with an absurd threat range and ability to hit stuff thanks to a raven then blood reaper attack the Lord almost always makes back more than its nominal cost.

Combos & Synergies

  • Baldur1 can protect him on the way in with Rapid Growth and his feat. Stone Skin is an excellent offensive/defensive buff on him as well.
  • Grayle the Farstrider can cast Storm Rager on him, making him base MAT 10 POW 15 ARM 18 without corpses. His feat can also serve to increase his threat range.
  • The Tharn Blood Shaman can put Divine Inspiration on him, making him an even better melee blender than he already is.
  • The Devourer's Host theme can start him off with corpse tokens. This is actually very helpful for him.
  • The Boil Master and Spirit Cauldron can provide him with corpses, bring in targets closer with Spectral Lash, and provide re-rolls for him via Puppetmaster.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Destroying infantry is a job done by a lot of alternatives in the Circle.
  • Heart Eater fails against constructs.
  • You can't use the corpse token to boost ranged attack

Tricks & Tips

  • Blood Reaper is functionally the same as Thresher except its not a (★ Attack) so he can make his initial ranged attack before or after it.
    • You can Raven into something big, then place your Lord on the far side of it for a very interestingly placed Blood Reaper.
    • You can charge, Blood Reaper, power up on hearts, then Raven off something else and use the hearts to pound a different model into a paste.
  • The interaction of Blood Reaper, Heart Eater, and Death-Powered is a bit odd. But if you check Appendix A 'Timing Sequence' you'll discover:
    • Although the attacks are simultaneous, you do all the damage rolls sequentially. So if you boost mid-Reap, that damage roll and the next ones go down in power. But it doesn't change the damage roll(s) you've already made before the boost.
    • Damage rolls occur at Step 9 but damage isn't applied until Step 10. So you can't waterfall like "spend a corpse, gain a corpse, move onto the next damage roll"
    • This has been confirmed with an Infernal Ruling (link in the Rules Clarifications section below).


Other

Trivia

Lady of the Feast, Limited Edition Sculpt (Mini Crate)
  • This model has a limited edition sculpt, released in 2018.09.
  • Released way back in Primal Mk1 (2006)

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blood Reaper      (Edit)

  • Blood Reaper is just the same as Thresher (see its Rules Clarifications velow), except it triggers on the Lord's initial attack instead of being a (★ Attack). This allows the Lord to make his "thresher" and still shoot his gun (via Dual Attack).
  • Although the attacks are simultaneous, you do all the damage rolls sequentially (and then apply damage simultaneously). See Appendix A, timing. Thus if the Lord boosts then his P+S goes down mid-Reap.
    For example: he attacks two models & boosts the damage roll vs the 1st model, his P+S will go down for the damage roll vs the 2nd.
    (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Thresher and/or Flashing Blade and/or Cyclone     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Resolving the attack

Under this heading, the word "Thresher" is used interchangeably for "Flashing Blade" and "Cyclone" too

  • Thresher makes an attack against every model, and as such it targets every model. Thus if a model "may not be targeted by melee attacks", you have to 'skip' it when you resolve the attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • All attacks made by a Thresher attack are simultaneous.
    • If a model is out of LOS when you start the Thresh, then you may not attack it as part of the Thresh (even if the Thresh kills what is blocking your LOS)
    • This means you need to target everything, then resolve all effects that trigger on "target" before starting any attack rolls. Then complete all attack rolls and do everything that triggers on "hit" before starting any damage rolls, and etc.
    • In practice and to save time though, if neither player has effects that trigger on "being targetted, hit, damaged, etc" then they'll normally do the hit and damage rolls on a model-by-model basis.
    • If a model collects tokens (for instance the Cryx Harrower that collects souls), it cannot collect them until all Thresh attacks are resolved.

Thresher only

  • All attacks made by a Thresher are special melee attacks, and as such won't trigger stuff like Grim Salvation or Rhyas's feat. (Infernal Ruling)
  • No matter how many enemy you kill, Thresher only counts as a single attack for the purposes of triggering Berserk, Quick Work, Black Spot, etc
  • You can do a Thresher on a charge (it's a special melee attack).
    • If you charge & Thresher, only the damage roll against your charge target is automatically boosted - other models caught in the thresh suffer an unboosted damage roll (although you can spend focus/fury to boost it)
  • You can't buy additional Thresher attacks, because they're (★ Attack). You can buy additional normal melee attacks, though.
  • Thresher will hit friendly models.

Flashing Blade only

  • You can cast it after your charge movement but before your charge attack.
    • This will essentially interrupt your charge attack, so no damage roll is boosted while resolving the spell's attacks (unless you pay to boost it).
    • If your charge target survives the spell , then you'll get your boosted charge attack against it.
  • Flashing Blade doesn't hit friendly models

Cyclone only

  • You can cast it after your charge movement but before your charge attack.
    • This will essentially interrupt your charge attack, so no damage roll is boosted while resolving the spell's attacks (unless you pay to boost it).
    • If your charge target survives the spell and is still in range, then you'll get your boosted charge attack against it.
    • If you used the advance to move out of range of your charge target, it was still as successful charge so it won't cause your activation to end. However, you are still limited to making melee attacks only.
  • Cyclone will hit friendly models.
  • The attack(s) from Cyclone occur simultaneously with "Ends its movement" triggers (such as Admonition). As such, the active player can use the Cyclone attacks before the inactive player uses his Admonition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shifter      (Edit)

  • Placing the Lord is non-optional.
  • If there is insufficient space to place the Lord (the target is B2B with a swarm of other models), then he stays in his current position. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Heart Eater      (Edit)

  • The attacker needs to be the closest eligible model. For instance if you destroy a Mechanithrall from 2" away but a Necrosurgeon is in B2B with it, the Necrosurgeon will get the corpse.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • You can't use Dual Attack with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
    • If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Death Feast      (Edit)

  • You roll a new d3 each time you spend a token.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Units: Before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    3. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    4. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    6. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    7. You're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an Any-Time ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    8. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Death-Powered - None yet. (Edit)