Lord Longfellow

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1237 articles and 89% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
CG Storm Troopers (1 year review) Rocketman Ace (1 year review) Exemplar Interdiction (1 year review) Supreme Guardian (1 year review)


Grymkin Logo.jpg

Lord Longfellow
Grymkin Character Solo

"The noble is a fool, who would accept this spider’s duel."

To all the wastrel nobles in the Iron Kingdoms, Lord Longfellow is a terrifying specter. With stunning accuracy, this arachnoid gentleman guns down those audacious enough to hold themselves in higher regard than their fellows, serving as a not-so-gentle reminder of one’s place in the world.

Basic Info

Lord Longfellow
Missing Info
Longfellow.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 16
ARM 12
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapon(s) even while in melee, but with limitations. Click here to learn more.
  • Circular Vision - Models never gain a back strike bonus against this model.
  • Finisher - This model gains an additional die on damage rolls against damaged models.
  • Fortune Hunter - This model gains an additional die on its ranged attack and damage rolls vs character models.
  • Reciprocate - When this model is missed by an enemy ranged attack, immediately afterwards it can make one basic ranged attack against the attacking model.
  • Swift Hunter - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic ranged attack, immediately after the attack is resolved it can advance up to 2".
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.

Weapons

  • Duelling Pistol (x2) - 10" range, POW 10 guns.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage. Incorporeal models can be damaged by attacks from sources with this damage type.
    • Black Penny - this weapon/attack ignores the "target in melee" DEF bonus.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Lord Longfellow

Lord Longfellow in a nutshell

Lord Longfellow is a powerful and very fun ranged combat solo available in the Bump in the Night theme force in Grymkin. With an eye for gunning down characters, Longfellow is one of the most potent ranged tools in the entirety of the Grymkin arsenal. Lord Longfellow is taken as the first free model in the vast majority of Grymkin Bump in the Night lists due to him outcompeting most models for the slot with his sheer skill with his pistols.

Combos & Synergies

Lord Longfellow can operate quite well on his own, however, some models can get extra mileage out of him

  • The Wraithbane animus from the Cage Rager can allow him to shoot through defensive buffs
  • Any caster that offers him protection such as Old Witch 3 with Windstorm, or The Dreamer with Artifice of Deviation helps him get value over multiple turns.
  • The Heretic's Trump and Fortune's Path arcana both buff Longfellow's shooting
  • The Dreamer has Mark Target on her small based phantasm to boost his accuracy
  • Eilish Garrity, the Occultist is very often taken as a free solo in Bump, and his Puppet Master can make Longfellow an even more reliable assassin
  • Crabbit's can catch bullets for him

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He'll die the first time he gets hit directly by almost any attack
  • CRAs and other accuracy boosters can sidestep his defense.
  • Any RAT 5 jack has a straight 50% to hit him on a boosted hit roll, and it gets a lot better for RAT 6 models.
  • Swift Hunter is based on destroying the enemy, meaning Longfellow can be in danger if he fails to make kills
  • His pistols are relatively short ranged. 10" isn't a staggering amount of distance to be away from danger
  • With no melee weapon, and no ability to ignore free strikes, he is nigh-useless if he gets engaged by something that cannot be targeted with ranged attacks (for instance a Protectorate warjac with Passage).

Tricks & Tips

  • He'll easily blow columns out of damaged character jacks and beasts
  • "Characters" include not only casters and named solos, but also character jacks and named models in character units - basically anything with FA:C on their card.
    • Note: Many character units contain models that aren't characters. For instance the Grunts in Boomhowlers, and everyone in Croe's.
  • Finisher and Fortune Hunter extends to all of your attacks, including free strikes.
  • Don't be afraid to hold Longfellow back at times to preserve him. Sometimes shooting two single wound troopers and staying alive is better than dying for the first character that presents themselves.
  • Pick out key enemy targets - Major Harrison Gibbs in Llaelese Resistance is a great example. He offers the most important buffs in that theme, and as he is a character Longfellow can reliably shoot and kill him even when he is in cover.
  • Longfellow can just casually fire into melee, hes very accurate and has black penny
  • Reciprocate is not once per turn, if we assumed (very generously) that an opponent took an entire unit of troops within 10" of longfellow and all fired at him and missed, he could shoot every single one of them to death.


Other

Trivia

Released with the Faction release (2017.06)

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Black Penny      (Edit)

  • You ignore the "Target in Melee" DEF bonus, but if you miss you still need to randomly reassign the shot as per normal.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee.
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • If they engage you then you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs RNG modifiers (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put something like Windstorm (-5 RNG) on it. Then what happens is:
    1. If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    2. If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    3. If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Circular Vision      (Edit)

  • This only prevents the normal bonus afforded from back strikes. It does not prevent things such as Backstab, which simply requires being in the rear arc.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Finisher      (Edit)

  • Finisher is not tied to a specific weapon so it applies to all damage rolls, including power attacks.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fortune Hunter      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Reciprocate - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter and/or Overtake     (Edit)

  • The free move must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work or Berserk). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in Appendix A.
  • This ability does not trigger off special attacks, only basic ones.
  • An important difference:
    • Swift Hunter can be triggered by any attack, including out-of-activation attacks.
    • Overtake only works on attacks during your Combat Action. Even stuff like Impact Attacks won't trigger it.
  • Blood Boon & Overtake (Edit)
    As of 2019.03, this interaction is only available to Iona the Unseen   [Show/Hide]
    • Overtake is resolved at Step 12. Blood Boon is resolved at either Step 12 or 14 depending on whether you cast an offensive spell or not.
    • You can choose whether to trigger Overtake or Blood Boon first.
    • If you decide to cast a spell before resolving Overtake, that's fine. But if you choose an offensive spell, then you've skipped ahead to Step 14 and you've lost your chance to use Overtake.
    • (Infernal Ruling for all of the above)