Lamenter

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Infernal Logo.jpg Lamenter

Infernal Light Horror

Though considered a minor horror compared to its more hulking and massive counterparts, the lamenter makes up for its size with a streak of unmistakable cruelty. The very appearance of these creatures is an assault on the mind—it can shatter sanity and fray nerves. A lamenter often toys with its victims needlessly, impaling them with its wickedly sharp impaling limbs. Each is surrounded by a swarm of invisible floating parasites that gnaw on the souls of its enemies, inflicting mental torment.

Basic Info

Lamenter
Missing Info
Quevlvitar.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 7
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE 3
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 18
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 7
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Horror - This model is the Infernal equivalent of a warjack or warbeast. They have a number of unique rules (which you can read here), but fulfil the same role; namely, being big and stompy.
  • Eyeless Sight symbol.jpg Eyeless Sight
  • Flight symbol.jpg Flight
  • Soulless symbol.jpg Soulless
  • Dodge - This model can advance up to 2" immediately after an enemy attack that missed it is resolved unless it was missed while advancing. It cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
  • Soul Parasites - Living non-soulless enemy models and enemy models with Soul Vessel suffer -2 to their attack rolls while within 4" of this Lamenter.

Weapons

Piercer (x2)
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 6 13

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Lamenter

Lamenter in a Nutshell

The Lamenter is a support melee light Horror. It brings a pair of decently powerful melee attacks with Crit Paralysis. Notably, the Lamenter can fly, has dodge, and a unique rule, Soul Parasites, that let's it impair attack rolls of nearby living, non-soulless enemy models. If placed well, can really be a headache for your foe to deal with, and can help make your nearby models more survivable.

When to Summon

Placeholder

Combos & Synergies

  • Zaateroth Ghost walk and fly allows for a horror that can get anywhere safely. Her feat also build on the strengths of the Lamentor.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • quite easy to shoot off the board with boostable guns and CRAs
  • depending on opposing faction this is either a cost effective model or an amazing model

Tricks & Tips

Placeholder

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction launch (2019.06)
  • In the IKRPG this Horror was called a "Quelvitar"

Other Infernal models

Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment Lord Roget d'Vyaros Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Light Lamenter - Shrieker Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros - Lynda the Forgotten - Nicia2 - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - Runewood2 - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Horror      (Edit)

  • Horrors cannot spend essence outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both the master and the horror are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the horror before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the horror. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Tithe is optional (despite the use of the word "must" in the Tithe rules; it's used in much the same way as "a warjack must spend 1 focus to run"). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If you put Eyeless Sight on a Blind model, it will still be Blind but it will not suffer the effects as long as it has Eyeless Sight. (Infernal Ruling)
    This means stuff like Hidden Blade will still trigger.
    Also, if the model subsquently loses Eyeless Sight, it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Rules Clarification : Soulless - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge      (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If an enemy can attack you when you advance and then stop moving (such as Countercharge or Defensive Strike) and they miss you, then you can trigger Dodge (because you're no longer advancing).
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, you can choose whether to dodge or riposte first. Appendix A Step 13 applies here, because the controller of the model being attacked is not the active player.

Rules Clarification : Soul Parasites - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Paralysis - None yet. (Edit)