Lady Aiyana & Master Holt

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1327 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Mercenary Logo.jpg Lady Aiyana & Master Holt

Mercenary Privateer Character Unit

Consummate professionals, the Iosan spell-caster Lady Aiyana and her gunslinging bodyguard Master Holt add an air of mystery to the Talion. All that is known about them is that she deftly manipulates powerful magic unknown beyond her native land and that he wields his pistols with skill and cool dispassion that unnerves even hardened soldiers.

Basic Info

Lady Aiyana & Master Holt
Missing Info
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Aiyana / Holt
BASE Small
MAT - / 5
RAT - / 8
M.A. 7 / -
DEF 14
ARM 11
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Aiyana
    • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
    • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
  • Holt
    • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
    • Quick Draw - Once per round during your opponent's turn, when an enemy model within 12" of this model that is in its LOS targets Aiyana or Holt with a ranged attack, this model can make a ranged attack against the enemy model before it makes its attack roll. If this model's ranged attack hits, the enemy model suffers no damage but its attack automatically misses.

Weapons (Holt)

  • Aiyana
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
  • Holt
    • Hand Cannon (x2) - 12" range, POW 12 ranged attacks
    • Gun Blades (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 8 melee attacks

Spells (Aiyana)

Ayisla's Veil

(★ Action) - B2B - Round No
Aiyana gains Stealth. While Holt is B2B with her, he also gains Stealth. Ayisla's Veil lasts for one round.
Kiss of Lyliss

(★ Attack) 10 - - Turn Yes
When a friendly Faction models makes a damage roll against a model/unit hit by Kiss of Lyliss, add +2 to the roll. Kiss of Lyliss lasts for one turn.
Sigil of Power

(★ Action) CMD - - Turn No
Target friendly model/unit. If it is in range, its weapons gain Damage Type: Magical. Sigil of Power lasts for one turn.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • Mercenary/Minion models can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.
    • Aside from that, there are a few themes that will change what Faction this model counts as (and thus what "friendly Faction only" buffs it can receive). They are:

Thoughts on Lady Aiyana & Master Holt

Lady Aiyana & Master Holt in a nutshell

Aiyana and Holt are brought for magic weapon on a stick and an ARM debuff (faction models only). Aiyana tends to die the turn after she uses Kiss of Lyliss so it's often a one-off ability, however Sigil of Power is often invaluable when faced with incorporeal models or Protectorate warjacks. Holt is essentially a solo with two accurate hand cannons and weak melee ability. He is hampered somewhat by Aiyana's low CMD, but he generally pulls his weight. They are a staple of almost any Mercenary Irregulars or Talion Charter list.

Combos & Synergies

  • Anything Mercenary. Nobody will refuse a slight damage buff. She's one of the mercenary damage buffs alongside Hermit, Gabriel Throne, Ragman's Death Field and Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist and Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter's Rust Bomb.
    • The Cephalyx have access to some solid damage buffs already and adding another +2 damage from Kiss can really start to push things to crazy levels. With Cognifex Cyphon, it's possible to get a Wrecker swinging with 5 attacks at P+S 26 on Feat turn with a Cephalyx Agitator, a Void Archon, and Kiss on the target. Overkill? Probably. Worth the effort for the look on your opponent's face when you one-round their colossal with a 14 point model? Most definitely.
  • Put Aiyana BTB with a Swabber and she just might survive the turn she uses Kiss of Lyliss.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • 8 points is not cheap for 2 squishy models. Essentially Aiyana is a 4-6pt support solo with a 2-4pt combat solo sidekick - being combined as a unit is a bonus for certain steamroller scenarios.
  • Gabriel Thronw is one point cheaper and brings much better combat ability and buffs to your list, though he cannot score zones.
  • Although they can be hired by various factions, Kiss does not affect non-faction models, unless you put a Ranking Officer on them.
    • They are an expensive unit, and putting a Ranking Officer makes them more so. However, if you were going to add them to a non-Merc army then you may as well double-down on the points cost and add the Ranking Officer. You get access to Kiss, A+H get a better CMD bubble to play in, and A+H get access to whatever the RO brings (Go to Ground from Murdoch, Tough from Morley, Zephyr from Valachev, or Warding and Aegis from the Attendant Priest). All of which is honestly not that bad compared to what you get when you don't use a ranking officer
      • Of special note is the Cephalyx Dominator that they must be attached to if they are taking in the Operating Theater Theme, which gives them a nice 10" CMD range bubble and Tough, at the cost of being forced to run for a turn if the Dominator is killed. As the Dominator isn't any harder to kill then they are, only having Stealth and mediocre DEF to protect them, the enemy can kill it to negate both Aiyana and Holt for a crucial round while making them easier to kill next round since they can't run and apply stealth. Luckily you can simply kill the Dominator on turn 1 when they would likely be running forwards anyways and get to play them normally later, viewing the 1pt Dominator as the tax to take them in the Theme. You can't rely on tough to save them, but you can rely on your opponent killing the Dominator at the worst possible moment.
  • Due to a hilarious set of circumstances, Retribution currently have no way of using Kiss despite her being from Ios. They have no ranking officers and, because the other Mercenary units that Retribution can take are mostly Partisans, there are near-zero other Mercenaries for Aiyana to buff. Apparently this is due to lore reasons. As a Seeker, Aiyana hates the retribution enough not be a partisan, but not enough to refuse their money, which is why she works for them as a merc.

Tricks & Tips

  • Don't bother putting them base to base for stealth if the enemy has blasts that can reach them.
  • Holt's Quick Draw works versus spray attacks but only if they are the target model. It also has some interesting interactions with Sac Pawn/Sucker/Shield guard stuffs - read the rules clarifications for the full run-down.



Other Theme Forces

Cygnar (Edit)

Khador (Edit)

Protectorate of Menoth (Edit)

Retribution of Scyrah (Edit)

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae


Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia, Mistress of the Witchfire (2) - Alexia, The Undying (3) - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler, Solo Artist - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (1) - Eiryss, Angel of Retribution (2) - Eiryss, Fortune Hunter of Ios (4) - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin - Flugwug the Filcher - Gastone Crosse - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin - Gudrun the Wanderer - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget, Tinker Extraordinaire - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin & Mayhem

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2020.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you fail a charge, then you do not get to make ranged attacks.
  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • Dual Attack doesn't let you mix initial attacks with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
    • You could theoretically make a special melee attack and then buy additional ranged attacks (or vice versa) ... but the core rules say "The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any" so the special attack would have to explicitly allow a swap - and I'm unaware of any that do so.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Draw      (Edit)

  • Since the Quick Draw is a ranged attack, you must obey all the normal rules for making a ranged attack: having LOS, not being stuck in melee with someone else, etc.
    • You must choose a weapon to make the Quick Draw attack. You can't just roll 2d6 and add your RAT and claim you have made a weaponless ranged attack with infinite range. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If the attacker is attacking multiple models (eg they're firing a spray) then the Quick Draw will only cause a miss against the Quick Drawer. It doesn't make the entire spray disappear.
  • Quick Draw occurs at step 2, before stuff like Sacrificial Pawn and Sucker!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn (Edit)
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ayisla's Veil and/or Cloak of Darkness     (Edit)

  • This spell doesn't have a target, so it can't be stopped by anti-spell stuff that triggers on "target" (such as Arcane Vortex).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Kiss of Lyliss      (Edit)

  • When Aiyana is taken with a Ranking Officer, Kiss of Lyliss affects models that are currently the same Faction as Lady Aiyana & Master Holt, not what Faction they were (or weren't) at the time of casting. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Kiss of Lyliss affects any damage roll that is caused by a model, not just normal attacks. For instance, it can affect the damage roll when a Berserker explodes via Unstable. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sigil of Power      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")