LPG - Simultaneous Abilities

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
LPG Articles    
(Edit)
Models

Gameplay

Combat

Battlegroup

Model Types

Other

This article is part of Warmachine University's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which is "Basic Training" aimed at new players who are still learning the core rules.
(You may also be interested in our "Intermediate Training" series, LOTS.)
Info icon.png

As of 2018.10 the LPG articles are still a WIP. If you have a question that isn't answered, or a topic you'd like to see added, we'd like to hear about it. Post your thoughts on the Talk:Learning to Play the Game (LPG) page.


In this lesson we'll go over what it means when two or more abilities trigger/resolve "simultaneously".

Triggers[edit]

The core rules says the following, but what this means in practice can be a little counter-intuitive.

Quote marks.png

Triggers, pg 10
Whenever two or more special rules are triggered at the same time, such as “attack hit” or “end activation,” the active player chooses the order in which special rules on his models resolve and resolves them, then the inactive player chooses the order in which special rules on his models resolve and resolves them.

Consider the case where I've got an ability which says "When a friendly model is destroyed by an enemy attack, after the attack is resolved the attacker becomes stationary" and my opponent has an ability which says "When this model destroys an enemy model, after the attack is resolved this model can advance 2"."

Both abilities affect the same model, the attacker, so you'd be forgiven for thinking that both are "special rules on the active player's model." However this is not what the core rule means; what it means is literally which player's owns the model that the special rule appears on (and whether that player is Active or Inactive).

This can be further confused when a caster puts a buff/debuff into play, now you have a 3rd model that's not even involved in the attack who has "special rules on his model". But just remember, it's the player that owns the caster who counts as the one with the special rule.

Recheck Triggers and RFP[edit]

Normally rechecking triggers is quite simple. For example Tough and Death Blast both trigger on disabled. You choose one to resolve, you resolve it, then you check whether the model is still disabled or not. If it is, you resolve the second ability.

However, if one of the abilities you resolve causes the model to be Removed From Play then that is a hard stop on all other triggers. Once something is removed from play, you can no longer trigger/resolve anything else on it - it simply isn't on the table for you to do so!

RFP on "Destroyed", Corpses/Souls, and Golab[edit]

Strictly speaking, the way models produce corpse/soul tokens when they're destroyed isn't a trigger and you don't resolve it - it just happens. Thus something that RFPs at destroyed isn't a "hard stop" to corpse/soul token collection.

However most abilities that RFP on destroyed also specify that no token is generated. So that is that. (Abilities that RFP on either disabled or boxed definitely prevent cprpses/souls.)

And then there is Golab. Golab is a character warbeast for Legion who has an absolute headache of a rule "Carrion Feast", when it comes to triggering it simultaneously and/or with an Active/Inactive ability. To save my sanity I'll just repeat the rule and its Rules Clarifications here

Carrion Feast - When a living or undead model is destroyed within 5" of Golab, you can choose it to be RFP'd. If a model is RFP'd due to Carrion Feast, it does not generate a corpse token, and Golab can remove d3 damage.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Carrion Feast      (Edit)

  • Resolving this ability vs other Corpse Taker models is a little weird. (Infernal Ruling)
    1. Carrion Feast triggers at Step 10d, which is often simultaneous with other Corpse Takers. So first you need to work out Active vs Inactive player priority.
      (There's a bunch of examples in the linked thread).
    2. If Golab gets priority and chooses to use it, that will shut the corpse collection down (as per the text of Carrion Feast).
    3. If the non-Golab model gets priority and RFPs the model, it is no longer on the table so Golab can't trigger Carrion Feast. Also the other model might or might not be able to get a corpse (it depends on the wording of its own rule).