LPG - Power Attack: Sweep

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
SamePageIcon.jpg

These are the rules for doing a Power Attack: Sweep. For other uses, see:


LPG Articles    
(Edit)
Gameplay

Attacks

Power Attacks

Model Types

Unique Faction Rules

Other

101 Articles (Basic)
LOTS Articles (Advanced)
This article is part of Warmachine University's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which is "Intermediate Training" aimed at new players who are still learning the core rules.
(See also Basic Training and Advanced Training.)


Recap

In a Power Attack: Sweep a huge-based model scythes a melee weapon around in one of its field's of fire, smashing everything on that side.

Who can do it
Lessers
Lights
Heavies
Colossals & Gargantuans
Who can be attacked
Enemy models on any base size
Extra requirements
You only get to make the attack in one Field of Fire.
Warjacks need to have a non-crippled melee weapon
Do not add special abilities of the melee weapon, such as Electro-Leap.
Range
The range of the melee weapon
Use the base RNG, don't add Chain Strike, Lunge, etc
Effects
Make a Power Attack Damage Roll (2d6 + STR) vs each model that are in the weapon's field of fire

What's the Cost

You use your Combat Action to perform a Power Attack Power Strike. Unlike a Slam or a Trample, you don't need to have your Normal Movement

  • Colossals must spend a focus to do a Power Attack.
  • Mega-Horrors with a crippled outer ring must spend an essence to do a Power Attack. (to be confirmed)
  • Gargantuans must be forced to do Power Attack.

Make the attack

  1. Choose a non-crippled melee weapon that is located in your L or R system.
  2. Make a melee attack vs every model in that field of fire.
    • Ignore intervening models when determining LOS.
  3. If you hit, they take a damage roll with a POW = STR (don't add the weapon's POW).
  • The attacks are simultaneous.
  • Even though the core rules say you make the attacks "with the weapon" you don't get to add the special abilities of the weapon (because of the "When a model makes a power attack, do not apply the special rules on its weapons unless they specifically reference power attacks" rule.)
    • For instance a Kraken doesn't get a 4" Sweep
    • For instance a Stormwall doesn't get to trigger Electo-Leap.

Rules Clarifications

  • Sweep does not benefit from weapon abilities. For instance a Kraken won't gain 4" from Chain Strike, nor will a Stormwall gain Electro Leap
  • Although you choose a weapon to make the Sweep with, you don't add the weapon's POW to the damage rolls.

See Also

Power Attack (Edit)
Head-Butt
Power Strike Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only
Slam Category: Slam
Sweep Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only
Throw Category: Throw
Trample Category: Trample


Official rules

Power Attack Power Sweep

Page 44 of the 2020.02 edition of the rulebook

A colossal or gargantuan can use its arms to scythe through models within its reach. A colossal or gargantuan chooses a non-crippled melee weapon with a location of L or R to make the sweep power attack. It then makes one melee attack with the weapon against each model in the weapon’s field of fire that is within the weapon’s melee range, ignoring intervening models when determining line of sight. This power attack does not require a target, but each separate attack does. These attacks are simultaneous (see “Simultaneous Effects,” p. 41). Models hit suffer a power attack damage roll.

Power Attack Damage Rolls & Collateral Damage

Page 43 of the 2020.02 edition of the rulebook

Though power attacks are melee attacks, they do not resolve damage rolls the same way. Instead of rolling 2d6 and adding both the attacker’s STR and the POW of the weapon being used, roll 2d6 and add just the attacker’s STR. If the power attack results in collateral damage, collateral damage is also determined by rolling 2d6 and adding the STR of the attacking model. Collateral damage cannot be boosted and is not considered to be damage from an attack or model.

EXAMPLE: An effect triggered by being “damaged by an enemy attack” would not trigger due to collateral damage.

Power Attack Damage Roll = 2d6 + STR
Power Attack Collateral Damage Roll = 2d6 + STR

Who Can Make Power Attacks

Warjacks & Warbeasts
Page 42 of the 2020.02 edition of the rulebook

Power attacks are attack options available to some models, such as warjacks and warbeasts. The power attacks available to other models are described in their special rules. Warjacks and warbeasts can make power attacks as follows.

  • Lesser warbeasts cannot make power attacks.
  • A light warjack or warbeast can make head-butt and slam power attacks. A light warjack with at least one non-crippled weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks. A light warbeast with at least one weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks.
  • A heavy warjack or warbeast can make head-butt, slam, and trample power attacks. A heavy warjack with at least one non- crippled weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks. A heavy warbeast with at least one weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks.
  • A colossal or gargantuan can make head-butt, slam, and trample power attacks. A colossal with at least one non-crippled melee weapon that has a location of L or R can make sweep power attacks. A colossal with at least one non-crippled weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make power strike and throw power attacks. A gargantuan with at least one melee weapon that has a location of L or R can make sweep power attacks. A gargantuan with at least one weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make power strike and throw power attacks.

A warjack must spend 1 focus point to make a power attack. A warbeast must be forced to make a power attack.

Unless otherwise noted, a model can make a power attack only during its activation. A model cannot make a power attack during an activation in which it charges. A model cannot target a friendly model with a power attack.

When a model makes a power attack, do not apply the special rules on its weapons unless they specifically reference power attacks.

A model that is able to do so can make additional melee attacks after making a power attack. A model cannot make a power attack as an additional attack.

Monstrosties
Page 93 of the 2020.02 edition of the rulebook

Monstrosities can make power attacks. To make a power attack, a monstrosity must spend 1 focus point.

A monstrosity can make head-butt, slam, and trample power attacks. A monstrosity with at least one non-crippled weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks.

Horrors
Page 98 of the 2020.02 edition of the rulebook

Horrors can make power attacks. A horror can normally make a power attack without spending an essence point. A horror with a crippled outer damage ring (see below) must spend an essence point to make a power attack.

  • Lesser horrors cannot make power attacks.
  • A light horror can make head-butt and slam power attacks. A light horror with at least one weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks.
  • A heavy horror can make head-butt, slam, and trample power attacks. A heavy horror with at least one weapon with the Open Fist weapon quality can make throw power attacks.