LPG - Concealment & Cover
| LPG Articles |
- This article is part of Warmachine University's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which is "Basic Training" aimed at new players who are still learning the core rules.
- (You may also be interested in our "Intermediate Training" series, LOTS.)
As of 2018.10 the LPG articles are still a WIP. If you have a question that isn't answered, or a topic you'd like to see added, we'd like to hear about it. Post your thoughts on the Talk:Learning to Play the Game (LPG) page.
Concealment gives you +2 DEF, and Cover gives you +4 DEF. Couldn't be simpler, right? Wrong.
Shooting across terrain at an angle
Often it is obvious whether or not your target benefits from terrain, but sometimes it depends on the exact position of the attacker relative to the defender. The rule that covers this is ...
Concealment & Cover, pg 50
So it's not enough just to be within 1" of a terrain feature, you need to be 1" away when measuring to/from your attacker.
How do we determine this 1" line? It's easiest to explain with diagrams.
If your model ignores cover and/or concealment, it will not ignore the secondary benefits that these models get.
- Because even though you ignore it, that doesn't change the fact they have it. And all they need to do is have it in order to trigger Prowl (and similar abilities).
If your model makes your target lose cover and/or concealment, that's a different issue.
Ignoring Line of Sight (LOS)
Being able to draw a "clear" LOS to your target has zero bearing on whether the target will benefit from terrain. Consider the case where your target is partially obscured by the corner of a LOS-blocking building. The only way to get LOS to make your attack is to draw a "clear" line. The only way for the target to claim the cover bonus is to draw a "blocked" line through the building and show that it is within 1". Therefore the two lines are completely separate from each other.
Anyway the point is, if the attacker ignores terrain for LOS, that doesn't mean the attacker will also automatically ignore the concealment/cover from terrain - because they're two separate things.
Also, the same logic holds true for models that grant cover/concealment "as if they were" a piece of terrain. (For instance, Roadblock - This model provides cover to friendly models as if it were an obstacle. This model loses Roadblock while it is incorporeal or knocked down.)
"Intervening" or "Completely Within"
Terrain generally falls within two categories:
- "Area" terrain such as forests, hills, swamps, patches of rubble, etc
- "Object" terrain such as buildings, crates, hedges, walls, obstacles, etc
Area terrain only provides defensive bonuses for models that are completely within the terrain. It doesn't provide bonuses for models partially within them, or behind them but within 1".
Object terrain only provides bonuses for models behind it and within 1". Models can't stop within object terrain.
(Although you can always agree to play different terrain rules with your opponent.)
There are some Infernal Rulings to back up the above:
- You do not get a bonus for being within 1" of a terrain feature that states you gain a defensive bonus while completely within it (such as a Forest). (Infernal Ruling)
- You do not get a bonus for standing behind and being within 1" of a (short) hill. (Infernal Ruling)
Several spells place "wall templates" into play (such as Wall of Fire). Unless the spell says otherwise, these templates are not terrain pieces and do not provide defensive bonuses to models within 1" the same way a normal wall would. (Infernal Ruling)
Wall Templates are 4" long by 0.75" wide (Infernal Ruling)
See also Category:Wall
You don't get cover or concealment vs melee attacks. Instead you get +2 DEF if there is any type of intervening terrain anywhere between you and the attacker.
- However, not all types of terrain count as "intervening terrain". If the terrain defines itself as giving bonuses to models "completely within" it (such as forests), then it never counts as intervening terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
Ranged & Magic Attackers
Sometimes a model will be able to make a ranged or magic attack even when they're in melee with you. A classic example is Gunfighter.
In this case, the attacker does not ignore cover or concealment. So, for example, if a Gunfighter and his target are in a forest, and he makes a ranged attack, the defender will get +2 DEF for being in a forest even if the two models are B2B.