LPG - Colossals & Gargantuans

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
SamePageIcon.jpg

This article is a recap of the Colossal & Gargantuan rules, plus the official rules at the bottom of this article. See also:


LPG Articles    
(Edit)
Gameplay

Attacks

Power Attacks

Model Types

Unique Faction Rules

Other

101 Articles (Basic)
LOTS Articles (Advanced)
This article is part of Warmachine University's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which is "Intermediate Training" aimed at new players who are still learning the core rules.
(See also Basic Training and Advanced Training.)


Colossals are mega-warjacks and Gargantuans are mega-warbeasts. They use nearly all the same rules as normal warjacks and warbeasts but with a few exceptions and additions. This article will focus solely on those differences.

Recap

PlaceholderDeceptively Mobile explicitly allows a Colossal to move outside Normal Movement. This is (currently) the only way for a Colossal to get bonus movement.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Colossal      (Edit)

  • Refer to the Colossal article for a recap of their rules.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Gargantuan      (Edit)

  • Warroom
    • 2017 bug: Gargantuan's have their animus labelled as "spells". Despite this, it's an animus and as such the warlock can cast it. This is a known bug. (Staff Comment)
    • 2020 bug: The animus doesn't show up at all. You'll have to go to the official card database instead.
  • Refer to the Gargantuan article for a recap of their rules.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.

Official Rules

Colossal

From page 67 of the 2020.02 edition of the core rules.

The colossals are the largest and most powerful warjacks ever to stride the battlefield. As a result of their great size and raw power, there are a number of special rules that apply to colossals but not to smaller warjacks.

A colossal is a huge-based (120 mm) warjack. (See below for the Huge-Based rules)

    Controlling a Colossal    

Colossals must be assigned to a battlegroup and cannot begin the game under the control of a 'Jack Marshal (p. 74). A colossal can never be controlled by a ’jack marshal. If a ’jack marshal reactivates an inert (p. 59) colossal, the colossal becomes autonomous (see “Autonomous Warjacks,”) instead of coming under the ’jack marshal’s control.

Your opponent can never take control of your colossal .

    Colossal Movement    

A colossal can advance only during its Normal Movement. A colossal can never be placed.

    Great Machine    

A colossal never suffers Disruption. A colossal can never gain Advance Deployment, Incorporeal, or Stealth.

    Massive    

This model cannot be pushed, knocked down, or made stationary. It cannot be moved by a slam or a throw. It cannot be affected by Grievous Wounds.

    Ranged Attacks While in Melee    

A colossal can make ranged attacks while in melee.

    Damaging a Colossal    

The huge-based warjacks known as colossals have two damage grids—right and left—but otherwise suffer damage like a smaller warjack.

When a colossal is damaged, the damage grid to be marked is determined by the origin of the damage suffered (see “Point of Impact & Origin of Damage,” p. 40). If the origin of damage is in the colossal’s right field of fire, the attack will damage the colossal’s right damage grid. If the origin of damage is within the colossal’s left field of fire, the attack will damage the colossal’s left damage grid.

If the colossal suffers damage from an attack and the attacker is completely within the colossal’s back arc or any part of the attacker’s base is directly in front of the colossal, the attacker chooses which damage grid takes the damage. If the origin of damage is in the colossal’s back arc or directly in front of the colossal and the source of the damage was not an attack, randomize which damage grid takes the damage.

When a colossal suffers damage without a point of origin, such as from a continuous effect, roll a d6 to determine which damage grid takes the damage. On a 1, 2, or 3 the damage is marked on the colossal’s left damage grid. On a 4, 5, or 6 the damage is marked on the colossal’s right damage grid.

Once the damage grid taking the damage has been determined, randomize which column takes the damage.

If all the damage boxes in column 6 of a colossal’s damage grid are filled, continue recording damage in column 1 (or, if column 1 is filled, the next column of that grid that contains an unmarked damage box). If all the damage boxes in a colossal’s grid are filled, continue recording damage on the other grid. Roll a d6 to determine where to apply this damage.

Note that on a colossal, the L and R system locations refer not to just the arm on that side but to the entire suite of weapons on that side. For example, if the R system is crippled, all weapons in location R suffer the effects under Crippled Weapon. Some colossals also have an S system, or superstructure. In addition to any effects of a crippled superstructure listed in a colossal’s rules, all weapons in location S suffer the effects under Crippled Weapon when the S system is crippled.

Gargantuan

From page 73 of the 2020.02 edition of the core rules.

The gargantuans are the largest and most powerful warbeasts ever to stride the battlefield. As a result of their great size and raw power, there are a number of special rules that apply to gargantuans but not to smaller warbeasts.

A gargantuan is a huge-based (120 mm) warbeast. (See below for the Huge-Based rules)

    Controlling a Gargantuan    

Gargantuans must be assigned to a battlegroup. Your opponent can never take control of your gargantuan.

    Gargantuan Movement    

A gargantuan can advance only during its Normal Movement. A gargantuan can never be placed.

    Great Beast    

A gargantuan can never gain Advance Deployment, Incorporeal, or Stealth.

    Massive    

This model cannot be pushed, knocked down, or made stationary. It cannot be moved by a slam or a throw. It cannot be affected by Grievous Wounds.

    Ranged Attacks While in Melee    

A gargantuan can make ranged attacks while in melee.

    Damaging a Gargantuan    

You apply damage exactly the same way as you do to a normal warbeast (unlike a Colossal, there are no seperate rules for damaging a Gargantuan).

Huge-Based models

From the 2020.02 edition of the core rules

Fields of Fire

Page 37 A huge-based model’s front arc is marked on its base. Its front arc is further divided into two 90° fields of fire. These fields of fire determine which models a huge-based model can target with its weapons, depending on the location of those weapons. Weapons located on a huge-based model’s left side (L) can be used to target only models in its left field of fire, and weapons located on its right side (R) can be used to target only models in its right field of fire. Weapons with locations “S,” “H,” or “—” can be used to target models in either field of fire. If any part of a model’s base is on the line separating the left and right fields of fire, the model is considered to be in both fields of fire.

Concealment, Cover, LOS

  • Page 49 Concealment & Cover - Huge-based models never gain the DEF bonuses from concealment or cover.
  • Page 60 Clouds - Cloud effects do not block line of sight to huge-based models.
  • Page 87 Forests - Forests do not block line of sight to huge-based models.

Huge-Based models in melee

  • Page 54 - Huge-based models never gain the Target in Melee DEF bonus.
  • Page 65 - Combined Ranged Attacks cannot target a model in melee unless it has a huge base.

See Also

War-Nouns   (Edit)
Warmachine (Focus)
Recap for Newbies Official rules Category
Warcaster 101 - Warcasters & Warjacks Warcaster Category: Warcaster
"Junior Warcaster" Battlegroup Controller Category: Battlegroup Controller
'Jack Marshal LPG - 'Jack Marshal 'Jack Marshal Category: 'Jack Marshal
Warjack 101 - Warcasters & Warjacks Warjack Category: Warjack
Colossal LPG - Colossals & Gargantuans Colossals Category: Colossal
Vector LPG - Convergence Vector Category: Vector
Monstrosity LPG - Cephalyx Monstrosity Category: Monstrosity
Hordes (Fury)
Recap for Newbies Official rules Category
Warlock 101 - Warlocks & Warbeasts Warlock Category: Warlock
Lesser Warlock Lesser Warlock Category: Lesser Warlock
Warbeast 101 - Warlocks & Warbeasts Warbeast Category: Warbeast
Gargantuan LPG - Colossals & Gargantuans Gargantuans Category: Gargantuan
Infernals (Essence)
Recap for Newbies Official rules Category
Infernal Master LPG - Infernals Category: Infernal Master
Master Infernalist Master Infernalist Category: Master Infernalist
Horror LPG - Infernals Category: Horror