LPG - Being Thrown
"Throw" & "Thrown" redirect here, which is the rules for Being Thrown. For other uses, see:
| LPG Articles |
Unique Faction Rules
|101 Articles (Basic)|
|LOTS Articles (Advanced)|
- This article is part of Warmachine University's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which is "Intermediate Training" aimed at new players who are still learning the core rules.
Being Thrown vs Being Slammed
The only real differences between Being Thrown and Being Slammed are:
- Thrown models don't get slowed down by rough terrain.
- Slammed models knock down smaller models they pass through. Thrown models go straight over smaller models, and don't affect smaller models unless they land on them.
So, if you've already read the Being Slammed article, then feel free to skip the rest of this one (except the Rules Clarifications, you should probably check that section).
Move the thrown model
The weapon or spell will specify the direction and distance that the model is thrown (it is typically d6" directly away). Power Attacks have a few hoops to jump through to determine the distance and direction (base size and attacker STR becomes a factor).
- The thrown model does not move at half speed through rough terrain (unlike with a slammed model).
- The thrown model suffers damaging effects of hazards it enters and/or passes through (such as acid clouds).
- You stop moving the thrown model if it contacts an obstacle, obstruction, or a model that has an equal- or larger-base size.
- The thrown model goes straight over models with a smaller base size.
- If it's final position is on top of another model, use the Rule of Least Disturbance to jiggle the models into legal positions. All jiggled models count as being contacted by the thrown model.
Damage/effects to the thrown model
- After being thrown, the thrown model is knocked down.
- If it can't be knocked down, but activates later on the same turn (ie it was thrown by a friendly model) then it must forfeit either movement or action.
- If it could be knocked down but, after the throw movement, it's landed somewhere that it gains immunity to knockdown ... then it won't be knocked down.
For instance it was thrown into a No Sleeping on the Job aura, or into B2B with a Lash model.
- The thrown model suffers a damage roll. The POW depends on what caused the slam:
- Power Attack - Throw POW is equal to the attacker's STR.
- Melee weapon - Throw POW is equal to the weapon's P+S
- Ranged or Spell - Throw POW is equal to the weapon/spell's POW
- You might get to add bonus dice to the damage roll:
- Add 1d6 if the thrown model was stopped by an obstacle, obstruction, or a model with an equal- or larger-base size. (Also known as "Contact damage").
- Throw damage is boostable.
- If your throw ability is on a weapon, you get to add any other applicable weapon qualities (such as Weapon Master) to the throw damage roll.
- If your throw ability is on a weapon you used on a charge attack, the throw damage roll is automatically boosted.
Damage/effects to the model(s) contacted by the thrown model
Contacted models suffer "Collateral" damage. This depends on their base size relative to the slammed model:
- Models with a Smaller base size:
- don't stop the thrown model,
- if the thrown model goes all the way past them, they are unaffected
- if the thrown model lands on them, they get knocked down, and suffer a Collateral damage roll as below.
- Models with an equal base size:
- stop the thrown model,
- get knocked down, and
- suffer a Collateral damage roll as below.
- Models with a larger base size:
- stop the thrown model,
- don't get knocked down, and
- don't suffer a Collateral damage roll.
Collateral damage :
- is not boostable.
- is simultaneous with the thrown model's damage.
- is not considered to be from an enemy attack so it will not trigger stuff like Vengeance.
Also, if your throw ability is on a melee weapon, the collatoral damage does not gain other effects from the weapon (such as Weapon Master).
- has a POW of:
- Power Attack - Collateral POW is equal to the attacker's STR.
- Melee weapon - Collateral POW is as per the special rule that caused the throw.
- Ranged or Spell - Collateral POW is as per the special rule that caused the throw.
- If you are thrown during a charge or slam (ie someone hit you with a free strike and that threw you) then your charge/slam movement stops.
- If, after this throw movement, your original charge/slam target is in your melee range, then you've made a successful charge (this is unlikely).
- If, after being knocked down from the throw you can still make attacks, then feel free to do so (this is even more unlikely).
- You cannot be thrown off the edge of the table. You stop at the edge of the table, and you don't take extra damage (the table edge is not an obstacle).
- You can throw models through Incorporeal models, regardless of the relative base size, as long as they can be thrown all the way through. The Incorporeal model is unaffected, and also the model doesn't take extra damage regardless of base size.
- You cannot throw Incorporeal models.
- Throw - General ( Edit )
- See the Throw article for a general recap of the core Throw rules.
- See the Open Fist Rules Clarifications for stuff specific to a Power Attack Throw.
- Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
|Power Attack (Edit)|
|Power Strike||Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only|
|Sweep||Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only|
Page 33 of the 2020.02 edition of the core rules.
Sometimes models are thrown as the result of a spell or attack. When a model is thrown, refer to the spell or attack that caused the throw to determine the model’s point of impact, generally directly away from the attacking model. When resolving a throw power attack, however, it may be necessary to roll for deviation to determine the thrown model’s point of impact (see “Throw Power Attack,” p. 45, and “Deviation,” p. 51). Move the thrown model from its current location in a straight line directly toward the point of impact. During this movement, a thrown model moves through models with smaller bases without contacting them. Unlike when a model is slammed, rough terrain does not affect this movement, but the thrown model still stops if it contacts an obstacle, an obstruction, or a model with an equal or larger base. After moving, the thrown model becomes knocked down (p. 61) and contacts all models with which it is base-to-base and all models whose bases it overlaps. The thrown model then suffers a damage roll determined by the spell or attack that caused the throw.
Add an additional die to the damage roll the thrown model suffers if it contacts an obstacle, an obstruction, or a model with an equal or larger base.
If a thrown model contacts a model with an equal or smaller base, the contacted model becomes knocked down (p. 61) and suffers a collateral damage roll determined by the spell or attack that caused the throw. A contacted model with a larger base than the thrown model does not suffer collateral damage and is not knocked down. Resolve any collateral damage simultaneously with the damage resulting from the spell or attack that caused the throw (see “Simultaneous Effects,” p. 41).
If a thrown model cannot be knocked down it must still forfeit its Normal Movement or Combat Action if it activates later in a turn in which it was thrown.
Page 29 of the 2020.02 edition of the core rules.
The charging model stops if it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction or if it is pushed, slammed, thrown, or placed during its charge movement.
Page 33 of the 2020.02 edition of the core rules.
If an effect would cause a model to move or be placed beyond the table edge (such as being thrown or slammed), the model stops at the table edge and remains in play. The table edge does not count as an obstacle; models do not take additional damage for stopping there.
Page 15 of the 2020.02 edition of the core rules.
Other models, including slammed, pushed, or thrown models, can move through an incorporeal model without effect if they have enough movement to move completely past it.
Incorporeal models cannot be moved by a push, slam, or throw.