LPG - 'Jack Marshal
|99% of this website is about Mark 3 (mk3), which is the previous edition of the game (2016 to 2022). The reasons for this are explained here.|
1% of the website is about Mark 4 (mk4), but only in regards to which mk3 models are useable in mk4 Prime and which are mk4 Unlimited. See Legacy Armies for more detail.
| LPG Articles |
Unique Faction Rules
|101 Articles (Basic)|
|LOTS Articles (Advanced)|
- This article is part of Warmachine University's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which is "Intermediate Training" aimed at new players who are still learning the core rules.
- (See also Basic Training and Advanced Training.)
'Jack Marshal for newbies
A 'Jack Marshal can control a warjack, albeit in a much more limited manner than a warcaster. The key points are:
- A 'Jack Marshal is limited to only one light warjack or one heavy warjack. A 'Jack Marshal cannot control a colossal warjack.
- A 'Jack Marshal doesn't have to be in charge of a warjack - you can put a 'Jack Marshal in your list with zero warjacks, if you wanted.
- The 'Jack Marshaled warjack is not in your warcaster's battlegroup, it doesn't gain the benefit of Power Up, and it cannot be allocated focus.
- The warjack can still gain focus via other means such as Empower or Accumulator.
- During the warjack's activation you choose the 'Jack Marshal buff to give it this turn.
- The warjack has to be in the 'Jack Marshal's command range to gain the JM buff, but after that it can move out of command and it'll keep the buff.
- You don't choose it during the 'Jack Marshal's activation.
- The 'Jack Marshal buffs are:
- Strike True - +2 to attack rolls
- Crush - +2 to melee damage rolls, and one extra melee attack
- Take Aim - +2 to ranged damage rolls, and must use its movement to aim
- Hurry - Run, charge, or power attack for free. Also it gets +2 to hit for a charge attack or slam attack
- Shake - Shake knock down, stationary, and any other shakeable effects (such as Blind and Shadow Bind)
- Many 'Jack Marshals also have a Drive which gives the warjack a second benefit. However a Drive (normally) only works if the warjack stays in the 'Jack Marshal's command.
Page 84 of the 2021.08 edition of the core rules.
’Jack marshals are models with the ’Jack Marshal advantage. They are specialists who command their warjacks through a combination of gestures and commands shouted across the battlefield. Though not as efficient or as powerful as a warcaster’s, a ’jack marshal’s skills can guide a warjack to perform maneuvers it normally would not be able to manage on its own.
’Jack marshals can begin the game controlling warjacks. These warjacks are not part of any warcaster’s battlegroup. A ’jack marshal can control up to one Faction warjack at a time. Mercenary ’jack marshals can control and reactivate only Mercenary warjacks.
Once during each of its activations while in its controller’s command range, a warjack controlled by a ’jack marshal can gain one of the following benefits:
A warjack cannot gain one of these benefits while its cortex is crippled or its controlling ’ jack marshal is knocked down or stationary.
If a ’jack marshal is destroyed or removed from the table, its warjack becomes autonomous (p. 67) but does not become inert.
A ’jack marshal can reactivate inert friendly Faction warjacks (see p. 59 for details). The reactivated warjack comes under the ’jack marshal’s control unless the ’jack marshal already controls a warjack; in that case, the reactivated warjack becomes autonomous. A ’jack marshal can also take control of an autonomous friendly Faction warjack (see p. 67 for details) if it is not already controlling another warjack.
If an effect causes your ’jack marshal to fall under your opponent’s control, while your ’jack marshal is controlled by your opponent, the warjack under its control remain under your control and becomes autonomous. If you regain control of your ’jack marshal, the ’jack marshal resumes control of the warjack unless another model has already taken control of it. If an effect causes your ’jack marshaled warjack to fall under your opponent’s control, when you regain control of your ’jack, the ’jack marshal resumes control of it unless the ’jack marshal has already taken control of another warjack. In that case the warjack becomes autonomous.
'Jack Marshal Death (Autonomous warjack)
Page 67 of the 2021.08 edition of the core rules.
An autonomous warjack is a warjack that does not have a controller and is not part of a battlegroup. A warjack becomes autonomous when its controlling ’jack marshal (p. 84) is destroyed or removed from play or while its controller is under an opponent’s control.
An autonomous warjack acts normally but does not gain the benefits of being marshaled or being part of a battlegroup. A warjack must have a controller at the start of the game; it cannot begin the game autonomous.
A friendly Faction model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule, such as a warcaster, or a friendly Faction model with ’Jack Marshal can take control of an autonomous warjack. A ’jack marshal that is already controlling a warjack cannot take control of an autonomous warjack.
To take control of an autonomous warjack, a friendly Faction model with the Battlegroup Commander special rule must spend 1 focus point during its activation while base-to-base with the warjack. A ’jack marshal can take control of an autonomous friendly Faction warjack during its activation by forfeiting its Combat Action while base-to-base with the warjack. If the model taking control of the warjack has the Battlegroup Commander special rule, the warjack becomes a part of its battlegroup.
Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal (Edit)
- 101 - Warjacks: A newbie-friendly recap of the warjack rules.
- LPG - Death of a Controller for the rules on what happens to the warjack when the Marshal dies.
- Category: 'Jack Marshal
- Category: Drive
- Editors only: Template: 'Jack Marshal