Kriel Warriors

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1341 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg

Kriel Warriors
Trollblood Trollkin Unit
Standard & Piper
Command Attachment
Caber Thrower
Weapon Attachment

Kriel warriors are the heart of the armies of the trollkin. These bands of warrior brothers march to war in defense of their people wielding shields, hand weapons, and an indomitable spirit. They are often accompanied by mighty caber throwers, who put their prowess in the traditional sport of their people to lethal use against all enemies.'

Hurling cabers, stone columns that seem too big to lift, has proven a surprisingly effective and devastating attack in battles throughout the centuries. These weapons have more than justified the backbreaking effort as they tumble forward with bone-pulping power in a nearly unavoidable and crushing attack. Anything caught in the caber's path is usually reduced to paste.

Basic Info

Kriel Warriors
Missing Info
KrielWarriorsNCaberThrowers.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 15
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +2CA +0-3WA
COST 7 / 11 +3CA +2 per WA
1.1 each (no attachments)
1.5 each (all attachments)
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Everyone (excluding the Sorcerer)
  • Standard (CA)
    • Granted: Rise - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Rise. (Rise - If a model with Rise is knocked down at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it stands up.)
    • Standard Bearer - While this model is within 5" of its unit commander, the unit commander gains +2 CMD.
    • Take Up - If this model is destroyed, you can choose a Grunt in this unit within 1" of it to be destroyed instead. Effects on this model expire, and it gains the effects on the chosen Grunt. Remove the Grunt from the table instead of this model. This model has the same number of unmarked damage boxes as the chosen Grunt.
  • Piper (CA)
    • Granted: Reposition [3"] - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Reposition [3"]. (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, a model with Reposition [3"] can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)
    • Take Up
  • Caber Tosser (WA #1)
    • Take Up

Weapons

  • Leader, Grunts, & Piper (CA)
    • Hand Weapon - 1" reach, 10 P+S melee weapon
  • Standard (CA)
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
  • Caber Tosser (WA #1)
    • Caber - 2" reach, 13 P+S melee attack
      • Momentum - A small- or medium-based model directly hit by this attack is slammed d3" directly away from this model. The POW of collateral damage is equal to the POW of this weapon. In addition to suffering a normal damage roll, large-based models hit by this attack become knocked down.
      • Single Shot - After an attack with this weapon is resolved, this model cannot make another attack with it for one round.

Sorcerer (WA #2)

As with all Trollkin units, the Kriel Warriors can attach Trollkin Sorcerer(s), whose information has been omitted for brevity. Note, though, you can only have 3 WA total. You can have 1 Caber & 2 Sorcerers, or 2 Cabers & 1 Sorcerer, etc.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Kriel Warriors

Command Attachment

Kriel Warriors in a nutshell

Kriel Warriors are cheap and tough troops that don't kill much. Able to shrug off an unboosted POW 10, their best use is jamming them enemy and making them work to kill you. They are poor troops at doing anything except catching bullets but sometimes quantity has a quality all of its own.

Thoughts on the Attachments

Weapon Attachment

The purpose of the Kriel Warriors is 10 models for 11 points - and at that price you get what you pay for. The Caber Throwers took a huge sideways nerf from Mk2 as the Kriel Warriors changed from a unit with Prayers (including +2 MAT and Damage) to one with unyielding. And the Command Attachment is more expensive than basic kriel warrior without adding that much to a unit that should always be running or charging.

Combos & Synergies

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Interesting, fun, effective. It's arguable that the Kriel Warriors fit none of these categories.
  • Other units are only slightly more expensive but actually get some work done
  • Without the prayer to buff it, the Caber Thrower is terrible - little harder hitting than an ordinary Fennblade.
  • all those medium bases in a full 15 man unit are a pain to navigate around without tactician if you spread them out for jamming be sure not to jam yourself

Tricks & Tips

  • Jam away.


Other

Trivia

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as intervening terrain) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, or two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Unyielding - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table. (think "G for Goes away")
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies. (think "Tac-Tick = K for Keeps")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rise      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer      (Edit)

  • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Take Up      (Edit)

  • The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
    • Some end-of-activation abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability, and some don't. Either way, you can never do anything extra during or after triggering an end-of-activation ability. You cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
    • If you start resolving an end-of-activation-movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's end-of-activation-movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one end-of-activation ability, you have to choose which one to resolve, then your activation ends and you cannot use the other one.
    • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Momentum      (Edit)

  • Huge-based models with Momentum don't get the +2" slam distance that normally applies when huge-based models slam smaller ones. Because that bonus movement only applies to a Slam Power Attack and Momentum is an effect of the weapon, not a Power Attack.
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Slam      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • If you slam someone via a Power Attack the distance they move depends on relative base sizes.
If you slam someone via a weapon or spell, the distance they move will be as per that weapon's/spell's rules text. Sometimes it doesn't depend on base size.
  • The range of a slam Power Attack is irrespective of your weapon range:
    • A slam power attack made by a colossal or gargantuan has a 2˝ melee range.
    • A slam power attack made by any other model has a 0.5˝ melee range.
  • Obstacles stop slams, but they don't stop throws.
Obstructions stop both.
  • If three models are B2B and in a triangle formation, and you slam one toward the other two, it will contact both those two models simultaneously. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can use an "any time" ability after resolving the slam movement but before the slam attack. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Single Shot - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here

To edit the WA's tagged abilities, Click here