Kovnik Andrei Malakov

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Khador Logo.jpg Kovnik Andrei Malakov

Khador Character Solo

A rising star in the Khadoran Military, Kovnik Andrei Malakov pushes the warjacks under his control to crush those who dare oppose him. His desire to succeed regardless of the consequences sometimes demands a high cost from his men and machines, but to Malakov, such is the price of victory.

Basic Info[edit]

Kovnik Andrei Malakov
Missing Info
Kovnikandreimalakov.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Malakov1
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR N/A
MAT 6
RAT 4
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 13
CMD N/A
FOCUS 4
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Hand Cannon - RNG 12, POW 12 gun.
  • Mechanikal Blade - RNG 0.5, P+S 11 sword.

Abilities[edit]

  • Battlegroup Controller - This model is not a warcaster (it's a solo) but has the following warcaster special rules: Battlegroup Commander, Focus Manipulation, Power Field, and Spellcaster. This model must have at least one warjack in its battlegroup at the start of the game.
  • Sucker! - If this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, choose a friendly non-incorporeal warrior model within 3" of it to be directly hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.

Spells[edit]

This spell has zero special effects.
Target warjack in the spellcaster's battlegroup gains +2 STR and SPD and can run, charge, or make slam or trample power attacks without spending focus. At the end of each of its activations, the affected warjack suffers d3 damage points.

Thoughts on Malakov1[edit]

Malakov1 in a nutshell[edit]

Malakov is all about Redline. Think of Malakov as a 4 points upgrade to a warjack: by adding 4 points you significantly upgrade your jack's delivery and damage potential with no focus overhead to the warcaster.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Warcasters - Malakov shines with casters who are not very battlegroup centered. Butcher 3, Zerkova1, Sorscha1 and Irusk1 are all example of casters with little or no battlegroup spells/feats who would appreciate help with managing their jacks.
  • Warjacks - go for cheap jacks and make them awesome. Even with Sucker! Malakov is vulnerable to assassination and the last thing you want is your expensive Spriggan shutting down because Malakov was killed. On the other hand, think of the humble Marauder with SPD 6 and two P+S 18 attacks or a Juggernaut with P+S 21/17 and you can see the potential.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

He is a high priority target - your opponent will kill him to take out the Jack, two birds with one stone.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • If you're running aggressively to the middle of the board, you might want to cast Redline on the first turn as you'll want to feed your jack all the focus you can on the second turn.
  • On the other hand, if the game is a bit slower (for example, an assassination scenario), you might want to wait with Redline till the second turn.

Don't dwell too much on the damage inflicted by Redline as the damage is almost insignificant compared to the damage dealt by your jack. While taking Mechaniks might seems like a tempting way of reducing the damage inflicted by Redline, bear in mind that by adding Malakov and Mechaniks you're paying 7 points extra, almost the price of a new jack. On the other hands, Mechaniks do make great sacrificial pawns for Sucker!.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Malakov is one of the journeyman warcasters released as part of the WARMACHINE: Tactics videogame Kickstarter (2014)
  • His rules were later published in Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Khador models[edit]

Khador Logo.jpg       Khador Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Sorscha3 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2

Warcaster attachments

Khador: War Dog - Greylord Adjunct
Mercenary: Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Malakov1 - Sorscha0
'Jack Marshals: Man-o-War Kovnik - Greylord Forge Seer

Heavy Warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood - MOW Atanas & Standard
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos

Greylord Adjunct - Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - MOW Strike Tanker - MOW Suppresion Tanker - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Sorscha0 - Yuri

Battle Engines Gun Carriage - Man-o-War Siege Chariot - Man-o-War Assault Chariot
Theme Forces
Armored Corps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Khador Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.01

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Battlegroup Controller      (Edit)

  • This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warcaster.
    • Your main warcaster cannot allocate focus to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
    • Any spells/effects that apply to your main warcaster's battlegroup (such as Energizer) do not apply to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
  • This model is not a warcaster
  • Warjacks this solo controls can still benefit from Power Up exactly as if it were a warcaster. (Closed thread)
  • When this solo dies, any warjacks they are controlling go inert exactly as if it was a warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Differences
  • Sacrificial Pawn is optional.
    Grim Salvation and Sucker are not optional.
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
    • Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
    • CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells).
    All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
  • The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
    Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
      • Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
      • Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
      • A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Razor Wind      (Edit)

  • The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Redline      (Edit)

  • If you plan on casting this often, you'll probably want to check the rules clarifications on slams and tramples