Unlimited Only This model can only be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can see the other models with / without mk4 rules on this page.
Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.
|
Koldun Kapitan Valachev brings the iron strength of the Motherland to mercenary units fortunate enough to serve under his command. Skilled in the dark sorcery of the Greylords, he can chill enemies with icy blasts, propel his unit upfield on freezing winds, or remove debilitating magic afflicting his men. Those serving under him are truly part of Khadoran military machine.
Basic Info
Koldun Kapitan Valachev |
Missing Info |
|
COST |
{{{cacost}}} |
UNIT SIZE |
{{{casize}}} |
FA |
{{{cafa}}} |
Warcaster 0 |
BASE |
Small |
SPD |
6 |
STR |
5 |
MAT |
6 |
RAT |
N/A |
M.A. |
7 |
DEF |
13 |
ARM |
13 |
CMD |
9 |
ESSENCE |
{{{essence}}} |
FOCUS |
N/A |
FURY |
N/A |
THRS |
N/A |
HP |
5 |
F. Field |
N/A |
|
|
|
|
WJP |
{{{wjp}}} |
WBP |
{{{wbp}}} |
IHP |
{{{ihp}}} |
FA |
C |
UNIT SIZE |
N/A |
COST |
4 |
N/A |
N/A |
|
|
|
|
N/A |
Warcaster 1 |
COST |
N/A |
N/A |
Understanding the Statblock |
|
Attachment [ Small- or Medium-based Mercenary ] - This model can be added to a small- or medium-based mercenary unit.
Ranking Officer - This model is a Ranking Officer. While this model is in play, models in its unit are Khador models instead of Mercenary models.
Abilities
-
Officer
-
Immunity: Cold
- Battle Wizard - Once per turn, when this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its activation, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one Magic Ability special attack or special action.
- Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
Weapons
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Saber
|
|
|
RNG
|
POW
|
P+S
|
|
|
0.5
|
4
|
9
|
|
|
Spells
|
COST
|
RNG
|
AOE
|
POW
|
DUR
|
OFF
|
|
|
|
Disbinding
|
(★ Action)
|
-
|
Unit
|
-
|
-
|
No
|
|
Enemy upkeep spells and animi on this model and its unit immediately expire.
|
|
|
Frostbite
|
(★ Attack)
|
8" Spray
|
-
|
12 (Cold)
|
-
|
Yes
|
|
Models hit suffer a POW 12 cold damage roll.
|
|
|
Zephyr
|
(★ Action)
|
-
|
Unit
|
-
|
-
|
No
|
|
Models in this unit can immediately advance up to 3".
|
Theme Forces
Thoughts on Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Koldun Kapitan Valachev in a nutshell
Koldun Kapitan Valachev is a ranking officer - a model who takes control of a unit of Mercenaries and makes them Khador while he's alive. He also gives that unit a little more maneuverability with Zephyr.
There are three different reasons you'll include a Ranking Officer:
- You want to get a "friendly Faction" spell/buff from your Khador caster onto a Mercenary unit.
- You want to get a "friendly Faction" spell/buff from a Mercenary unit onto your own forces.
- You want to include a Mercenary unit anyway, and they will get better with the Zephyr.
Khador has, perhaps, the most faction-specific spells and abilities in the game. The ability to cast these spells/abilities on to mercenary units is a huge benefit.
Valachev requires a bit of finesse to use well, though. On paper Valachev shines with shooting mercs like Steelhead Riflemen or Nyss Hunters - Move in, shoot enemy and back away with Zephyr. In practice those Mercs are usually too expensive and Khador doesn't have the right buffs for them, so people use Valachev on the smaller Merc units like Aiyana and Holt.
Combos & Synergies
- Lady Aiyana and Master Holt don't really benefit the most from becoming friendly faction in Khador (exept for the occational Zephyr), but the Motherland benefits hugely from being able to count them as komrads as Kiss of Lyliss provides its damage bonus to the red patriots.
- Dannon Blythe and Bull are one of the cheapest ways to include Valachev and from the wording of Granted:Prey Valachev also benefits. If you would like a pow 14 MA 9 spray it’s worth considering, he may even kill something in melee if he is effected by Prey.
- Zerkova2's feat and Occult Whispers are both immensely useful with a unit attached to Valachev. A Mercenary unit with Magic Ability can use an extra spell, and two castings of Zephyr can make a melee unit charge significantly further or allow a ranged unit to avoid retaliation easily. Consider the possibility of 2 Kisses from Aiyana!
- Irusk2 What infantry does Irusk not improve? Wolves of winter also lacks heavy hitters who can be targeted by Battle Lust. A unit of charging, tough no-knock down Steelhead Halberdiers changes this. Add in Sergeant Nicolas Verendyre and they even come back!
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Valachev has no built-in defenses and quite low defensive stats. Use him cautiously or he will be picked off early.
- You can't use his Magic Abilities on the same turn you issue a Press Forward order.
- The Mercenary unit can't take their normal CA, and some Merc units only get decent when they get that CA.
- The only order a Ranking Officer can issue is Press Forward (plus any on their own card, which is zero for the Valachev). This means Merc units can't use speciliased orders such as Shield Wall, at least not until Valachev dies.
Tricks & Tips
- Remember that Zephyr can only be triggered during Valachev's action, that he can't use his action until everyone has moved, and you can't use an action on the same turn you charge/run.
- Despite this, you still have quite a few options about when you trigger it - before any other models have attacked, after some have, or after all have.
Other
Trivia
Released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)
Other Khador models
Rules Clarifications
|
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit) (Click Expand to read)
|
* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
|
Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)
|
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
|
|
Rules Clarification: : Ranking Officer (Edit) (Click Expand to read)
|
- General
- If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype.
For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that will not make that merc unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
- A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
- Models added to the merc unit after the game starts are also friendly Faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
- You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
- You can't add a Ranking Officer to a unit that already acts as a Partisan for your Faction.
- Gaining abilities
- The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Cylena1 giving her unit Hunter).
- Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order).
This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
- If you add a RO to a unit with Ambush, the RO can Ambush too. (Locked thread)
- Ranking Officer death
- The merc unit will immediately lose any friendly-Faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
- The merc unit will keep any friendly-Faction spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. You can pay to maintain a faction-only upkeep on the mercs, for example.
- If the merc unit is supplying a buff to 'friendly-Faction' models, that buff will immediately 'swap Factions' too.
For instance, if Lady Aiyana casts Kiss of Lyliss it will affect models that are currently the same Faction as her, not whatever was friendly-Faction at the time she cast it. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Merc unit got a Faction-specific theme benefit (such as Cygnar models getting Immmunity Electricity in Storm Division) then they keep that benefit even after the Ranking Officer dies. (Infernal Ruling)
- 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
- If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
|
|
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make initial ranged or initial melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot buy additional melee/ranged attacks after using a MA special attack. Refer to the core rulebook, "Special attacks listed as a rule of the model itself are neither melee attacks nor ranged attacks. The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any."
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability without using their Combat Action. These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
- Models with Geomancy or Necromancy can use a Magic Ability at "any time" just like a warcaster/warlock.
- Models with Battle Wizard or Necrophage can make melee attacks then get a bonus "free" spell.
- Models with Combat Caster can cast a spell before charging, then do a normal charge + melee attack.
- Note that Battle Wizards, Combat Casters, etc have the option to use their Combat Action to cast a spell. Their special rule is in addition to the normal spell casting, not instead of.
|
Rules Clarification : Disbinding - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Frostbite - None yet. (Edit)
|
Rules Clarification : Zephyr (Edit)
- You cannot use Zephyr until everyone in the unit has moved (as no model in a unit can perform an Action until all models have completed their Move). (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use an Action on the same turn you Run or Charge.(Infernal Ruling)
|