Knights Exemplar Seneschal

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?

Protectorate Logo.jpg Knights Exemplar Seneschal

Protectorate Solo

A living pillar of faith, this holy knight feels the demise of every Menite like a blade cutting his flesh, fuelling his otherworldly resolve and righteous fury. The Exemplar Seneschal is nothing less than a force of nature, wading diligently through the enemy, sowing death as he goes. Those unfortunate enough to become the object of the Seneschal's wrath are smote by the sheer power of his holy rage, cast aside as if struck by a great wave smashing the shore.

Basic Info

Knights Exemplar Seneschal
Missing Info
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 15
CMD 10
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Inhuman Resolve - 1) This model heals a damage point whenever a living friendly Faction model is killed by an enemy attack while in its CMD range. 2) When this model is disabled, it is knocked down instead of becoming boxed, and remains disabled. If active, its activation ends. If inactive, it cannot activate. 3) If it is still disabled at the start of your next Maintenance Phase, it is destroyed.
  • Righteous Fury - When one or more friendly Faction warrior models are destroyed by an enemy attack while in this model's command range, this model gains +2 STR & ARM for one round.


  • Relic Blade (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 11 melee weapons.
    • Weapon Master symbol.jpg Weapon Master
    • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
    • Chain Attack: Smite - If this model hits the same model with both its initial attacks with this weapon, after resolving the attacks it can immediately make one additional melee attack against the model hit. If the additional attack hits, the target is slammed d6" directly away from this model and suffers a damage roll with POW equal to the STR of this model plus the POW of this weapon. The POW of collateral damage is equal to the STR of this model.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions

Recent Changes

No changes since 2018.07

Thoughts on Knights Exemplar Seneschal

Knights Exemplar Seneschal in a nutshell

The Knights Exemplar Seneschal is a solo who wrecks things. A weapon master with high MAT and Chain Attack: Smite, he does a lot of damage for a solo. He's also excellent at contesting scenario, and can throw your opponent's order of activations in a loop if they want him dead.

Combos & Synergies

  • Infantry to sac to the Inhuman Resolve.
  • Harbinger can keep him alive even longer via Martyrdom, and she loves having a powerful combat solo.
  • Gravus can keep him from being knocked down.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model.
  • Slow and easy to jam
  • Easy to prevent his healing mechanisms with some lists.

Tricks & Tips

  • Put him at the front near other infantry. Let them decide whether to kill him or the rest.
  • Chain Attack Smite means that his smites are very aimable if you get it right - smite one tough model into or over others. You can also do this to your own models, although finding one that will survive his attacks might be difficult.



Released in Warmachine: Escalation (2004)

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)          
Battlegroup & Similar

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Feora4 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant


Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest


Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.01

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Smite      (Edit)

  • This rule changed in Mk3 to no longer say it "adds the weapon's POW". It still does add the POW, however, because the whole section on calculating Slam damage was reworded in the main rulebook.
  • Smite is not a Power Attack Slam, it is just an attack which causes a model to be slammed. As such, you can smite friendly models.
  • You can trigger Critical Smite on a free strike.
  • If you Smite on a charge, then the slam damage will be boosted.
  • Chain Attack Smite only - Unlile the other versions of Smite, a Chain Attack one doesn't have the distance halved when a smaller base model smites a larger. The Knights Exemplar Seneschal is just that awesome.
  • See also the clarifications on being slammed
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Inhuman Resolve      (Edit)

  • This model can be healed by normal medics, too.
  • Inhuman Resolve can be triggered multiple times per game.
  • Some abilities/effects can cause a model to be immediately destroyed or removed from play, which will circumvent Inhuman Resolve depending on whether the other effect happens before or after disabled.
  • While this model is disabled, it can still be attacked. (Locked thread)
    • It can be targeted.
    • It can be hit, and trigger 'On hit' stuff like Grievous Wounds and Electro-Leaps.
    • It cannot be damaged (because none of its damage boxes are unmarked) and thus your opponent can't trigger 'On damage' stuff like Drag.
  • While disabled, this model still contests scenarios. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Righteous Fury - None yet. (Edit)