The deployment of warjack-heavy forces to eliminate hard targets is a standard response to military threats. A common Khadoran tactic involves augmenting such forces with a contingent of scouts who venture ahead to ensure the slow and steady column of Khadoran steel reaches its target intact. Once engaged, the warjacks rely on overwhelming strength and raw firepower to batter the enemy into submission.
Thoughts on Jaws of the Wolf
Jaws of the Wolf in a nutshell
Jaws of the Wolf focuses on the mainstay of Khador armies in mk3: The Warjacks. Grabbing as many as you can will reward you with free solos, like the Widowmaker Marksman and the Greylord Forge Seer, which dedicated jack forces would be taking anyway.
The other side of the coin to this theme, are the infantry options, comprised of Khador's Stealth and Advance Deployment units. It is quite possible to run an army entirely made up of stealth models. Lastly, never underestimate the power of denying Ambush to your opponent.
- More than anything else, this theme list makes playing lots of warjacks more viable across the board, and largely does so regardless of who you choose as your caster.
- Reposition on the Mechanics allow for more mechanics to get into B2B with a damaged jack to repair it, then move out of the jack's way before it activates.
- Free Forge seers provide your warjacks with extra focus through their empower spell, and if you marshall a warjack to them, their drive also makes all the warjack's weapons magical and blessed. You're playing a list that is probably going to be warjack heavy, so you would be foolish not to take free models that make your warjacks significantly better.
- No Ambush is a cool bonus, but entirely dependent on what your opponent has brought with regards to it being great or irrelevant. You do have the satisfaction of being sure though that they will have to deploy everything at the start, though most units with Ambush also have Advanced Deploy.
Tim Banky, Professional Tournament Winner
To my way of thinking, there are about 4 archetypes of list types:
- Winter Guard Kommand (Gunline, combined arms capacity)
- Jaws of the Wolf (Heavy warjacks, supporting variable threat ranges)
- Legion of Steel (Melee-centric, high-damage infantry & board denial based pieces)
- Vlad2 (Multiple combined arms vectors, threat saturation)
JotW is something of a shark: it doesn't need to evolve much to meet the changing meta, because it has always been an incredible predator. Leveraging Khador's greatest MK3 strength - aggressively costed warjacks - and supporting them with disruptive and fast moving pieces like Widowmakers and Kayazy assassins, this list aims to win the long attrition game without giving up board presence or scenario pressure at all. Hands down the best jack marshals in the game grant key ranged pieces like Behemoth or Destroyers magical weapons. Despite the appearance of skew, this list packs robust combined arms tools, albeit almost universally on an ARM20 chassis.
The primary weaknesses of this list are speed and one-dimensionality (too much high-ARM).
- Buffing speed, we see Harkevich, Karchev, Butcher3, and even Vlad1.
- Dimensionality is almost always going to be a list weakness - enemy lists that are built singlemindedly to crack armor are going to beat a list whose major strength is armor. However one solution are Irusk2 builds focused around more Kayazy in the core list offer tools for this.
JotW is where I look to start a lot of Khador pairings, as it often wants a complimentary pair more than most lists. In some ways it can dictate what an opponent drops more than anything else, so it takes a fair bit of mental real estate in the pairing process. As the meta shifts toward more infantry this list grows in objective strength, but also starts suffering from it's natural predator - butt loads of weapon masters. Consider Kodiaks as a solution to this trend.
Theme weaknesses & Mitigating them
This theme, despite having a focus on Warjacks, doesn't grant them any direct benefits (like Advance Move granted by the Winter Guard Kommand). It "only" hands out free support solos and improves the maneuverability of Battle Mechanics. Players should decide for themselves whether that and the denied deployment is worth giving up on mercenary and out-of-theme support or not.
List Building Tips
To get most out of the theme benefits, the vast majority of your list will be composed of Jacks, taking the best solos available as free benefits. Battle Mechanics should be taken to fill out the army and provide repair for the large number of Jacks and few Man-O-War solos included. Remember to try and get as close to multiples of 25 for your jacks in order to be more efficient with getting free solos.
At a bare minimum, you should run 50 points of warjacks to gain the 2 free forge seers along with 3-5 warjacks.
There are many ways to build into a Jaws army but you're always going to benefit from owning a unit of Widowmakers and their supporting solo the Widowmaker Marksman (which all fit into Winter Guard Kommand theme too). To support all the warjacks you can't go wrong with investing in a Greylord Forge Seer (which is also excellent in Armored Corps and Wolves of Winter lists). The new Greylord Adjunct is also a solid option for giving you another way to put magic weapons in the hands of your warjacks, as well as eyeless sight.
Another approach to building lists in this theme, would be to take advantage of the stealth models with high DEF stats. Kayazy are excellent at gumming up the opponent's slowed down army while your battlegroup gets into position to either line up the assassination or prepare for the attrition.
Example of a Jack-heavy list [Show/Hide]
8 heavy Jacks plus Karchev himself totaling 100p exactly; that's 4 free solos (at 4p each) with exactly enough points to get a single unit of Mechanics. Khadoran Jack spam at its height.
Example of a Stealth-heavy list [Show/Hide]
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Casters of Note
The casters that will make the most of this theme are the ones who are already good at running warjacks, namely: Butcher1, Harkevich, Karchev, Kozlov, Malakov2, Sorscha2, and Vlad1.
In saying that though, given that the theme allows you to take Forge Seers and Junior Warcasters (Malakov1 and Sorscha0) that then let you support more warjacks essentially for free, nearly every caster can run this theme list reasonably well. As such it is easier to point out the casters that don't have any synergy with the theme:
- Zerkova2: Zerkova 2 works much better with far more Greylords and offers nothing to the models available in this theme.
- Old Witch1: While Scrapjack benefits from any Repair or other warjack synergy, Old Witch's relatively low Warjack Points hinders your ability to get free solos.
Originally released 2017.03
Other Khador models
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points [Show/Hide]
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
- If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models [Show/Hide]
- If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
- There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
- There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter [Show/Hide]
- The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Skorne - The Exalted [Show/Hide]
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus [Show/Hide]
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)
Infernals - Hearts of Darkness [Show/Hide]