Inverter

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Are you stuck at home wishing you could play Warmachine & Hordes?
Why not check out the new fan-made War Table simulator?


Convergence Logo.jpg Inverter

Convergence Heavy Warjack

The Inverter represents the first of the Convergence of Cyriss’ vector chassis. Designed specifically for brute force, its heavy spring-loaded macropummeler sends its unfortunate opponents crashing to the ground, making them easy targets for the finishing blows of its meteor hammer.

Basic Info

Inverter
Missing Info
Inverter WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 12
MAT (★)
RAT (★)
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 15
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

  • Meteor Hammer - 2" reach, P+S 17 melee attack.
  • Macropummeler - 2" reach, P+S 20 melee attack.
    • Knockdown - When a model is hit by an attack with this weapon, it becomes knocked down.
    • Single Shot - After an attack with this weapon is resolved, you can't use it again until one round later.

Theme Forces

Convergence

Other Factions

  • There are three Convergence Partisan models that, between them, can take this warjack in a plethora of Mercenary, Cryx, and Cygnar themes.
  • These models are Aurora2, Asphyxious4, and Nemo4.

Thoughts on Inverter

Inverter in a nutshell

Pure melee vector, Inverter serves as a whacking cudgel. It's main weapon, meteor hammer, puts on the hurt, yet its sub-weapon(or main-main weapon), macropummeler, means business with the highest unassisted P+S in the game not on a huge base. Guaranteeing a Knockdown, macropummeler makes your opponent stay out of Inverters way, or they will have a hard time bringing it down.

Combos & Synergies

Slow but faithful, Inverter is beloved by two melee casters, Axis and Lucant. Both of them can buff Inverter significantly, and the latter is in no need of Inverter's cousin Conservator. So they all love 1 or 2 Inverters in their list.

Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer :

  • His Field Marshal gives it Countercharge. While it is fun to see a boosted Macropummeler punching the unlucky victim and knocking them down during their own activation, it is sometimes better to just whack it with Meteor hammer and save the Single Shot weapon for your own turn.
  • Iron Aggression increases its efficiency to awesome levels. Start the game with IA in place, and your opponent will have a hard time dealing with boosted Macropummeler hits.
  • His feat can give Inverter a much needed speed boost.
  • Stack his feat with Unstoppable Force and Onslaught and you get a high SPD vector with pathfinder that can bulldoze off any intervening models, charges for free, and brings a colossal-level chain weapon with boosted attack roll. Who wouldn't want that? Your opponent, for starters.

Father Lucant, The Divinity Architect : Lucant makes great use of Inverter's solid armor. As his field marshal is useless for Conservator, it is common to see Lucant playing multiple Inverters.

  • Inverter makes an excellent watcher target. Let them come near your 'Caster, and see Inverter dash in with a fully-boosted Macropummeler hit.
  • His feat, Clockwork Reinforcement, takes Inverter's armor to ridiculous levels. They will need more than a charge to take out feated Inverter, otherwise they will be crushed.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Slow, which isn't good for a melee-only heavy.
  • Macropummeler is only once per round, so a countercharge or a free strike with it means you can't use it during your next activation.

Tricks & Tips

  • Always lead with the Macropummeler. Not only is it the stronger weapon, knocking down your target makes it easier for the rest of your attacks to hit.
    • For that reason, it's often worth boosting the attack roll even if it's a near-certain hit.

Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Single Shot - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's control range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Similar to a normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it does lose the focus currently on it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use their controller's current RAT/MAT.
    • The line that reads "use their warcaster's RAT/MAT" was supposed to change to "battlegroup controller" in the 2020 update. (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Deneghra1's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.

Vectors in non-Convergence factions

  • If Aurora2, Nemo4, or Asphyxious4 die while controlling a Vector:
    • The Vector remains whatever Faction it started the game as.
    • If the Vector is re-activated by a 'Jack Marshal, its new MAT/RAT score will be 0. If the 'Jack Marshal then dies, the MAT/RAT remains 0.
    • (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.

Back Story