Initiate Tristan Durant
Protectorate Character Solo
Initiate Tristan Durant is quite young and far from mastery, his face still bare of the mask of authority worn by full priests and his warcaster armor an unfamiliar burden. Yet Tristan stands ready to lead his battlegroup in defense against any who threaten the faithful of Menoth. He is gifted with the ability to see beyond the physical and intends to relentlessly pursue those deemed heretics or blasphemers. Once this warrior of the creator locates his quarry, he will not hesitate to cleanse the battlefield of them with the might of his blessed warjacks and holy fire.
- Battle Staff - 2" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
- Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
- Battlegroup Controller - This model is not a warcaster (it's a solo) but has the following warcaster special rules: Battlegroup Commander, Focus Manipulation, Power Field, and Spellcaster. This model must have at least one warjack in its battlegroup at the start of the game.
- True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.
- Target warjack in the caster's battlegroup gains +2 ARM and cannot be knocked down, pushed or moved by a slam. This immunity is also passed to friendly models B2B with the jack.
- Does fire damage. Also, on a critical hit, it inflicts continuous fire
Thoughts on Initiate Tristan Durant
Initiate Tristan Durant in a nutshell
Initiate Tristan Durant is the Protectorate's mini-warcaster, able to control warjacks and give them focus. And one upkeep spell for extra armour.
Combos & Synergies
Durant runs one to two jacks, always supported by the Choir of Menoth.
- Vigilant because no one likes facing this guy with an ARM-buff.
- Crusader - cheap heavy to load with Focus.
- Redeemer - Durant can afford to give it the focus it wants.
- Templar - Durant and a Templar under Fortify can happily sit on a Zone at ARM 23 and Immovable forcing your opponent to deal with them directly.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Big target with little defensive tech. And if you lose him, his warjacks go inert.
- With the changes in mk3 making it much easier for warcasters to run large battlegroups, models that take warjacks outside of the caster's battlegroup need to bring something really nifty (to offset the points cost, the loss of battlegroup buff spells from the main warcaster, and the risk of the controller dying and leaving jacks autonomonous/inert). Tristan does not have anything particularly nifty.
Tricks & Tips
- It can be tempting to B2B your fortified warjack for the ARM bonus, but be careful that doesn't lead you to being splattered by AOEs and or Electro-Leaps that target the warjack.
- Original released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion book (2014)
- A limited edition scuplt was released as part of the Warmchine: Tactics Kickstarter
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification : Battlegroup Controller (Edit)
- This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warcaster.
- Your main warcaster cannot allocate focus to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
- Any spells/effects that apply to your main warcaster's battlegroup (such as Energizer) do not apply to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
- This model is not a warcaster
- Warjacks this solo controls can still benefit from Power Up exactly as if it were a warcaster. (Closed thread)
- When this solo dies, any warjacks they are controlling go inert exactly as if it was a warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : True Sight (Edit)
- You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
- This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
Rules Clarification : Fortify (Edit)
- If an attack causes a push/throw/etc, it may still target a Fortified model. All damage and effects will still trigger as normal except the movement.
- Place effects (such as Telekinesis) can still move Fortified models.
Rules Clarification : Immolation (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.