Infernal Rulings

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

What is an Infernal Ruling?

Privateer Press have an official subforum on their website dedicated entirely to players asking questions about how rules work that you can access here. (Note: The purpose of the forum is to help players understand how rules function and interact with each other in-game, it's not the place to discuss general issues with the game, balance, or tactics). You can recognise an Infernal's post by their purple name

As part of that subforum they have an official team of "Infernals" that officially answer questions. Although these Infernals are volunteers they have a direct communication line to the actual designers of the game and thus any answer an Infernal gives is 100% official. These answers are referred to as "Infernal Rulings".

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
You can find a list of Infernals on the Credits page of the main rulebook. Like I said, they're completely official

What is this page then?

This is a saved list of all Infernal Rulings as relevant to the core rules. For Rulings on a specific special rule, they are saved under that rule (For instance stuff relevant to Assault is saved on the Assault page).

Only responses by Infernals (for rules questions), Judges (for organized play questions), or threads that are locked are saved here. Any other responses may be informative, correct, or both, but are not offiically accepted answers to forum questions.

Ambox warning orange.png

Important
The following summaries are interpretations only. We are human and misinterpretations can happen. Follow the links and read the responses for yourself to get the raw source. Do not link to this page in the rules forum to answer a rule question, as that will likely just make the Infernals irate.


Rules Basics[edit]

Game Overview[edit]

Summary of Play - What you need

Dice & Rounding[edit]

Placeholder

General Guidelines[edit]

Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References
Special rules may reference a model/unit by its name or special rules. (Infernal Ruling)

  1. A special rule could look for "Exemplar" and it could find that keyword in either the name or a rule on a model.
    • For example, Doomshaper3 has "Trollkin" listed under his rules, rather than under the name of his unit, because there is a non-Trollkin Pygmy in his unit.
  2. When identifying a unit by its special rules, such as Undead or Construct, all models of the unit must possess that rule for it to be that type of unit. For example,
    • Alexia Ciannor & the Risen are not an Undead unit while Alexia is still in play.
    • A Mechanithrall unit with a Skarlock Commander and Brute Thralls attached to it is an Undead unit, due to every model possessing the Undead advantage.
  3. The name of a unit never changes after army list creation.
    • A Mechanithrall unit with a Skarlock Commander attached to it is still a Mechanithrall unit, even when every Mechanithrall model in the unit is destroyed.
    • A Houseguard Halberdiers unit will still remain a Houseguard Halberdiers unit when a Soulless Escort is attached to it.
  4. Units with '&' dividing two parts of the unit do not pass specific names between them. For example,
    • A Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges unit is made up a Cephalyx Mind Slaver and Drudge Grunts. The Cephalyx Mind Slaver does not inherit the Drudge keyword and the Drudges do not inherit the Cephalyx keyword.
  5. Command Attachments with '&' between them specify both parts of the attachment have the preceding type keyword. For example,
    • Both models in the Winter Guard Infantry Officer & Standard are Winter Guard Infantry models, for example.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rule Priority[edit]

Placeholder

Sportsmanship[edit]

Placeholder

Measuring Distances[edit]

  • You may use proxy bases to facilitate measurements however you wish (on your own clock when measuring). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Laser lines can be used to measure line-of-sight for anything at any time. (Infernal Ruling)

Models[edit]

Model Profiles[edit]

Base Stats, Current Stats & Modifiers

Model Special Rules[edit]

  • Generally, effects that cause you to lose [Ability 1] don't prevent you from regaining [Ability 1] by using [Ability 2] or [Spell 2] or [Whatever].
    It has to explicitly state that you lose [Ability 1] and cannot regain it. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Example: Spyglass makes a model lose Stealth for one round. But the affected model could have Occultation cast on them and regain Stealth.
    • Example: Marked for Death makes models lose Incorporeal and Stealth for one round and prevents affected models from regaining them.
Advantages      
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata.
  3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects. (after this, you can make the ranged attack).
    • Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: If you miss

  1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
  2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, do not reroll the attack against another model. It misses completely.

Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee, except for huge-based models.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Missing the Attack Roll

  • If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
    • Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
    • but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs Windstorm (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put Windstorm on it. Then what happens is:
    If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal      (Edit)

  • Marshals can take character jacks (unlike in Mk2). (Closed thread)
  • Although they never get the Power Up bonus, a marshaled warjack can gain focus via other means (such as Accumulator, Empower, Spirit Harvester, etc).
    • They can do this even after the Marshal dies and they become autonomous (unlike in Mk2).
  • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
    • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Soulless - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

Immunities      
Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Corrosion      (Edit)

  • A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.

Weapon Qualities[edit]

  • If you have a weapon with a random ROF, you roll that when you declare you're attacking with the gun.
    If you have multiple guns with random ROF, you roll all their ROF as soon as you declare an attack with any of them. Once you know how many attacks you get, you can make those attacks in any order (You don't need to do all the attacks with gun 1 before you start gun 2, you can switch back and forth).
    (Locked thread)

Weapon Special Rules[edit]

Weapon Qualities      
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Disruption      (Edit)

  • If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

Damage Capacity & Grids[edit]

Placeholder

Base Size & Facing[edit]

  • A model's facing is its shoulders only if it doesn't have markings on its base to designate where its 180° arc should be. Ref: FearLord, 2016-06-12.

Preparing for War[edit]

Encounter Levels[edit]

Placeholder

Building Your Army[edit]

Field Allowance

  • All Command Attachments should have the same FA as their units. Some Command Attachment FA values are incorrect and will be fixed. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-06-15.

Mercenaries

  • In a multi-caster game, Partisans count as the main army's faction and not as Mercenaries (if playing a faction other than Mercaneries). Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-06-22.
  • Mercenary models with Battlegroup Controller can take Mercenary warjacks. Minion models with Lesser Warlock can take Minion warbeasts. Whatever restrictions on the Lesser Warlock, Battlegroup Controller, Mercenary warjacks, or Minion warbeasts will still apply. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-07-07.
  • Models with Selective and Mercenary can be used inside the Factions that Mercenary specifies without issue. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-07-26.

Setup & Deployment[edit]

Placeholder

Gameplay[edit]

The Player Turn[edit]

Placeholder

Activating Models[edit]

Forfeiting Normal Movement or Combat Actions

  • A model can voluntarily forfeit movement or action, without it forfeiting it "for" something. (Infernal Ruling)
    • See also "Forgetting to move before Combat Action", below

Movement[edit]

Movement types

  • [Movement] does not equate to [Normal Movement]. When a trigger is based off [Normal Movement], it will specify [Normal Movement]. If it is meant to be triggered on [any Movement], it will say [movement] or [advance]. (Infernal Ruling)
    Normal Movement is always a type of Movement, but not all Movement is Normal Movement.

Forgetting to move before Combat Action

  • If you don't move your model, but change its facing = It advanced.
  • If you don't move your model, and declare you're "forfeiting your Movement for [X]" or "using your Movement to Aim" = It did not advance.
  • If you don't move your model, but forget to declare anything = It did not advance. (Infernal Ruling)

Charge

  • SPD penalties do not prevent a model from charging. (Locked thread)

Obstacles

  • Although you can't stop on an obstacle, you can "pause", change facing, and continue advancing. (Locked thread)
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)

Combat Actions[edit]

  • (Infernal Ruling for below):
    • You do not need to make all your initial attacks.
    • You can buy additional attacks before finishing your initial attacks, but if you do so then you will forfeit any incomplete initials.
    • You can choose to make zero initial attacks, then buy additional attacks.
    • If you charge, you must make a melee attack. You can't choose to make zero initial attacks and then follow it up with zero additional attacks.

Additional Attacks

  • After making a Special Attack with a Ranged Weapon, you can purchase additional ranged attacks up to your Reload value. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-06-28.
  • You cannot make melee attacks at a model that is not inside your melee range. You cannot spend focus or be forced to make attacks if you don't have a model in melee range. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-08-16.

Line of Sight[edit]

Even though the spray template is blocked by the terrain, LOS is still achieved and so the attacker can spray the target.
  • If three equal-sized bases are on an exactly straight line, the middle one does not block LOS. Instead, LOS can be drawn along the tangent. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The Large-base volume image in older versions of the rulebook is incorrect. It should show it to the outside edge of the base, not the inside edge. (Infernal Ruling)
  • LOS can measured independent of the weapon's range/template. So, even if the spray template is blocked by terrain, if LOS can be gotten another way the attack can be made. Refer image. (Locked thread)

Measuring Range[edit]

  • There are two different uses for the word "within". (Infernal Ruling)
    1. You can be within a distance, in which case being exactly X" away is being within X".
    2. And you can be within an area, in which case you need to be overlapping the area so as to be within the area - even in cases where the area is defined as being exactly X" in diameter.

Combat[edit]

Making Attacks[edit]

Placeholder

Attack Roll[edit]

Criticals

  • For an AOE to be a critical hit, it must directly hit its target and roll any two of the same number. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words if it misses with two of the same number, then deviates onto a model, that is not a critical.

Back Strikes

  • Back strikes give +2 to the attack roll. (Cleared up due to PP staff comment earlier with a different bonus amount.) Ref: Maudlin, 2016-06-12.
  • You must be in a model's back arc only when the attack is made to get the back strike bonus - no requirement to be in a model's back arc for your entire activation. Ref: Closed thread, 2016-06-17.

Melee Attacks[edit]

Power Attacks

Ranged Attacks[edit]

Even though the spray template is blocked by the terrain, LOS is still achieved and so the attacker can spray the target.

Targeting

  • If you ignore LOS, you can make a ranged attack against any target. (Infernal Ruling)

Targeting a Model in Melee

  • You cannot engage a friendly model, so if a missed shot is randomized to an engaged friendly model, it will get the +4 DEF bonus for being engaged even if right next to the model that is making the ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)

Area-of-Effect (AOE) Attacks[edit]

  • Models with Stealth or otherwise have "Automatically Miss" rules are still hit when covered by an AoE template, as the template just hits and doesn't specify "Automatically Hits" and thus the rules for Automatically Missing taking priority over Automatically Hitting don't apply. (Infernal Ruling)
  • On a normal AOE attack, any model not directly hit suffers blast damage which is half the POW of the attack. When the AOE specifically states a damage roll, it is that damage. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mentioning that the damage is "blast damage" does not mean that the ability is automatically halved, if a specific damage roll is mentioned. It just tells you that models immune to blast damage will not be damaged by it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For an AOE to be a critical hit, it must directly hit its target and roll any two of the same number. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words if it misses with two of the same number, then deviates onto a model, that is not a critical.

Spray Attacks[edit]

  • Dense Fog terrain type is still a cloud and thus will not stop spray attacks, as they are not considered having Line-of-Sight blocked by terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
  • LOS can measured independent of the weapon's range/template. So, even if the spray template is blocked by terrain, if LOS can be gotten another way the attack can be made. Refer image. (Locked thread)
  • Hazardous Clouds (Edit)
    • A hazard, by definition, is a terrain effect. If a template is both a cloud and a hazard it will not block sprays as per the errata (2017.09) to spray attacks. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling. (Infernal Ruling)

Magic Attacks[edit]

Placholder

Damage[edit]

Corpse & Soul Tokens

  • Models removed from play before destroyed prevent token creation, but not models removed from play when destroyed. Ref: Closed thread, 2016-06-12.
  • Models provide corpse & soul tokens when destroyed, including when Removed from Play after being destroyed. (Note, this is "destroyed" in the disabled-boxed-destroyed sequence.) Ref: Maudlin, 2016-06-13.
  • Models that have an ability to collect souls from friendly models can collect souls of models slain by their own units, unless their rules say otherwise. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-06-23.
  • There are some models with Soul Taker: Reclaim that cannot get souls from models killed by friendly models, or non-attack-damage effects such as electroleap. Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-06-24.

Special Combat Situations[edit]

Clouds

  • Overlapping clouds do not merge. This means a model completely within two different clouds but not completely within either, will not benefit. (Infernal Ruling)

Continuous Effects

  • The Corrosion effect does Corrosion damage, and the Fire effect does Fire damage (as stated in Prime). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Knockdown and Critical Knockdown effects are not optional. (Infernal Ruling)
Taking Control of an Enemy Model       (Edit)     
General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.

Melee Attacks

  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!


Anatomy of a Unit[edit]

Field Promotion[edit]

  • If a Leader model is removed from play then a Grunt model cannot be Field Promoted. Choose a remaining Grunt model or Weapon Attachment model to be the new unit commander. Formation and orders (including Press Forward) will come from that new unit commander. (Locked thread)
  • What happens when a Leader model is killed by a guy in his own unit (such as via Berserk), and you Field Promote the guy doing the attacking ... is being checked. (Infernal Checking)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unique Leader Model      (Edit)

  • This unit includes a Leader model with weaponary and/or abilities that the Grunts do not share.
    The rules for Field Promotion (turning a Grunt model into a Leader model) are worded such that it only happens when a Leader model reaches Destroyed while under your control, so...
    • If the Leader model is RFP'd before it reaches destroyed, no Field Promotion occurs.
    • If the Leader model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control, no Field Promotion occurs.
  • When that happens, you choose a Grunt model to become the unit commander but it does not become a Leader model.
    Thus you will lose the unique weapons/abilities for the remainder of the game.

Models out of formation (oof)[edit]

  • Unlike spells and buffs, applying an effect from a weapon doesn't follow Page 64's restriction on "targeting oof models with a spell or special rule". (Infernal Ruling)

Warjacks & Warbeasts[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target, then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)

Warcasters & Warlocks[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • General
    • Damage from a feat is neither an attack nor Damage Type: Magical (unless the feat says it is).
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
    • Work out all damage modifiers (such as Decapitation doubling the damage that exceeds ARM) before reducing it with the Power Field. (Infernal Ruling)


  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcaster and Warlock pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argus can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • The Grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warlock      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • General
    • Damage from a feat is neither an attack nor Damage Type: Magical (unless the feat says it is).
    • FURY (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warlock's card. Fury (lowercase) refers to fury points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FURY stat, not double your fury points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warlocks are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warlock rules.
  • Reaving & Leeching
    • If you choose to Reave, it's all or nothing. You must Reave all the Fury (up to your limit) and you can't choose to "let some disappear". (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is Removed From Play, you can still reave fury off it. (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control then:
      1. You cannot reave fury off it. Because it is still enemy at the time it was destroyed/RFP'd, and you can't reave from enemy warbeasts.
      2. After it is taken off the table, it returns to your control and is eligible for Spirit Bond and (possibly) Return to Play stuff (like Thagrosh1's feat).
  • Transferring Damage
    • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcaster and Warlock pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argus can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • The Grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Spells & Spellcasting[edit]

Spell Statistics


Terrain[edit]

Terrain Features[edit]

  • Open Terrain
    • Dense Fog, Burning Earth, and Trenches are Open Terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Difficult Terrain
    • Not to be confused with Rough Terrain.
    • Meant to be something discussed ahead of time regarding what models can enter it - only really applies to custom terrain. (Locked thread)
  • Hazardous Clouds (Edit)
    • A hazard, by definition, is a terrain effect. If a template is both a cloud and a hazard it will not block sprays as per the errata (2017.09) to spray attacks. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Hazard templates and "non-hazard" damage templates (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • What's a "non-hazard"? Well, most templates that deal damage to models that walk into them are defined as 'Hazards' but some, like Creeping Barrage and Wall of Fire, are not.
      They behave similarly, but a Hazard is classified as a type of terrain and also will only have a Damage Type if it says it does (it doesn't inherit a Damage Type from the gun/spell that put them into play).
    • Damage templates from spells:
      • Spells which leave a template and are not described as a hazard will do magical damage to models that walk around in them. (Example: Razor Wall)
      • Spells which leave a template and are hazards will not do magical damage to models that walk around in them. Instead, they do whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
      • (Infernal Ruling)
      • Some spells do both. They aren't labelled as a hazard, so it does magical damage, and also they specify another damage type. For example, Wall of Fire.
    • A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the hazard will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
    • If two hazard templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
    • Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance).
    • Damage from a hazard is not considered to be from the weapon/spell that originally put it into play (so it doesn't gain the Damage Type or any other special rules of the weapon/spell).


Standard Terrain[edit]

Forests

  • Overlapping forests do not merge. This means a model completely within two different forests but not completely within either, will not benefit. (Infernal Ruling)

Hills

  • Hills, by default, do not provide cover for models behind them. (Infernal Ruling)

Obstacles

  • Although you can't stop on an obstacle, you can "pause", change facing, and continue advancing. (Locked thread)

Appendix A: Timing[edit]

Attack Sequence[edit]

  • You cannot use "anytime" abilities between an attack and a second attack that triggers directly from the first attack, such as ones from Berserk. (Mk2 difference.) Ref: DarkLegacy, 2016-06-23.
  • Overtake resolves before Berserk when both trigger, as Overtake resolves at step 12 of the Attack Sequence, and Berserk resolves at 14. Ref: Closed thread, 2016-06-12.

Appendix B: Faction-Specific Rules[edit]

Placeholder

Appendix C: Warcaster/Warlock Rules[edit]

Refer above. We have combined them together for this page.