Infernal Gate

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Infernal Logo.jpg Infernal Gate

Infernal Structure

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in one Prime Army, Infernals. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

For centuries, infernals have schemed ways to facilitate their arrival on Caen. Infernal gates serve as longer-lasting conduits to the outer realms, connecting as well to the repositories of souls held by infernal masters. Dormant gates can be disguised as ordinary structures, revealing their true nature only when activated, becoming towering portals of darkness adorned with unholy runes. Reality slips and shivers around the gate, and it can unleash bursts of spectral flame to consume those who would seek to prevent the arrival of infernal masters and their horrors.

Basic Info

Infernal Gate
Missing Info
Infernal Gate.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Huge
SPD 0
STR 0
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 5
ARM 19
CMD 12
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 25
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 12
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Structure - All structures share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big fat buildings. Click here for the full rules..

Abilities

  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Eyeless Sight symbol.jpg Eyeless Sight
  • Forward Deployment - This model can be deployed up to 8" beyond your deployment zone.
  • Infernal Portal - When a model summons a horror while within 8" of this Infernal Gate, reduce the number of essence points the summoning model must spend by 1.
  • Soul Taker: Crypt of Souls - (1) This model can gain soul tokens. When a living model is destroyed in this model's command range, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. (2) At the start of each of your Control Phases, this model receives d3 soul tokens if it does not have any. (3) This model can have up to five soul tokens at any time. This modle can spend soul tokens for the following:
    • Dark Abyss - During your Maintenance Phase, you can remove up to three soul tokens from this model to return one destroyed small- or medium-based friendly Faction soulless Grunt to play for each soul token removed. Models return with 1 unmarked damage box. Place the returned Grunts completely within this models command range, in formation, and completely within 3" of another model in their unit. Returned Grunts must forfeit their Combat Actions the turn they are returned to play.
    • Gate of Worlds - Once per turn at any time during its activation, this Infernal Gate can spend one soul token to place a friendly Infernal model within 5" of this Infernal Gate anywhere completely wihtin 2" of its current location. A model can be placed as a result of Gate of Worlds only once per turn.
    • Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.

Weapons

Spectral Flames
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
12 1 4 14
  • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
  • Ghost Shot - This model ignores LOS, concealment, and cover when making attacks with this weapon.
  • Rear Attack - When declaring attacks with this weapon, this model can target models in its back arc.
  • Reload [1] - This model can spend 1 soul token to make one additional ranged attack with this weapon during its Combat Action.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Infernal Gate

Infernal Gate in a Nutshell

The Infernal Gate is the Infernal structure, and offers a suite of useful functions for an Infernal army. First, it reduces the summoning cost for your Horrors, which will lighten the strain on your Master. Second, it can bring back Souless models into the fray helping with the attrition swing. It has a friendly Slipstream effect to help with threat extension, and lastly it has a reasonable gun, which does not care about stealth, obstructions, LOS, cover or concealment. Oh, and it generates its own souls as well as feeding off anything nearby. It should work itself into most Dark Legacy lists, potentially even into Hearts of Darkness lists as well.

Combos & Synergies

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It can't move. This has two effects, both related to who gets the first turn. When going second, it is unlikely the Gate's gun will be in range of anything which isn't also in very close proximity to your master. When going first, it is often close enough that the enemy can comfortably shoot it off the table on turn 2.
    • Note that this weakness is so extreme as to be reflected in the model's point cost. The Gate is a 11 point structure, an 18 or 19 points battle engine.
  • At DEF 5 it's an easy target for debuffs and infantry killing auto hits such as blasts, electro-leaps or Ashes to Ashes. Be careful when positioning attendant Cultists, or void forbid Marked Souls.

Tricks & Tips

  • Crypt of Souls takes place after Dark Abyss. If you can spend all your souls on bringing back models in the maintenance phase, you get to roll in the Control Phase to get souls back.
  • On forward deployment if it can be placed behind an obstruction or difficult terrain, it is worth it as a defensive measure. Ghost Shot and Eyeless sight mean that it does not care what is in front of it in any way. Reducing charge lanes can be very helpful in making sure this model survives longer into the battle.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction launch (2019.06)

Other Infernal models

Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Battlegroup
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment (1) Lord Roget d'Vyaros
Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Light Lamenter - Shrieker Colossal Guardian of Souls - Harvester of Souls
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros (Attachment) - Lynda the Forgotten - Nicia2 - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - Runewood2 - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s

This index was last updated: 2021.07

(1) - Note that an Infernal Master Attachment is not part of the battlegroup, they are merely listed there for convenience.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Structure      (Edit)

  • The main differences between structures and the other huge bases are:
    • Structures can't aim.
    • Structures can't forfeit their Normal Movement (because they have none). If they're hit by an effect that makes the target "forfeit either Normal Movement or Combat Action as it's controller chooses" (such as Stranglehold) then the structure must forfeit its Combat Action.
    • Unlike Colossals and Gargantuans, your opponent can take control of your structure. There are very few such abilities that work on this model type, though.

Huge Base (Edit)

But this bonus doesn't apply to slams triggered by normal attacks (such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability).
Also, simply being on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook, click to read them.   [Show/Hide]

From the 2020.02 edition of the core rules (Edit)

Fields of Fire
Page 37 A huge-based model’s front arc is marked on its base. Its front arc is further divided into two 90° fields of fire. These fields of fire determine which models a huge-based model can target with its weapons, depending on the location of those weapons. Weapons located on a huge-based model’s left side (L) can be used to target only models in its left field of fire, and weapons located on its right side (R) can be used to target only models in its right field of fire. Weapons with locations “S,” “H,” or “—” can be used to target models in either field of fire. If any part of a model’s base is on the line separating the left and right fields of fire, the model is considered to be in both fields of fire.
Concealment, Cover, LOS
Page 49 Concealment & Cover - Huge-based models never gain the DEF bonuses from concealment or cover.
Page 60 Clouds - Cloud effects do not block line of sight to huge-based models.
Page 87 Forests - Forests do not block line of sight to huge-based models.
Huge-Based models in melee
Page 54 - Huge-based models never gain the Target in Melee DEF bonus.
Page 65 - Combined Ranged Attacks cannot target a model in melee unless it has a huge base.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If a model is Blinded, and then given Eyeless Sight, then that model ignores Blind ... but it is technically still Blinded. So if you somehow later lose Eyeless Sight (for instance walking out of the range of Menoth's Sight), it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Also this means stuff that only works vs Blind models (ie Hidden Blade) will still trigger vs a "Was Blinded but then got Eyeless" model.
  • Anti-Cloud abilities vs Burning Earth (Edit)
If you make a piece of terrain "Burning Earth" it counts as a cloud effect in addition to it's original type. This has 2 odd rulings:
  1. If any part of the terrain piece is "hit" by an ability that makes clouds expire (such as Gale Winds) then the entire terrain piece is taken off the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If a model can ignore clouds but not the original terrain type, they don't ignore the terrain. For instance if you have a burning forest, then Eyeless Sight can't see through the forest. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Forward Deployment      (Edit)

  • This model is placed at the same time as your normal deployment, not with your advance deployment models.
  • A model that is deployed touching a scenario zone does not count as within that zone, so won't contest/control it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Infernal Portal - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Crypt of Souls - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vault of the Faithful and/or Dark Abyss     (Edit)
Return/Add to Play - Typical (Edit)

  • If you're returning/adding multiple models simultaneously, they are placed sequentially. Often this will let you leapfrog the "within 3" of [x]" requirement.
  • If you're adding models to a unit, then typically there is no limit and you can go over the unit's starting size. However, some abilities do have a limit (such as Stir the Dead)
    If you're returning models to a unit, then you're limited by how many there are in the "dead but not removed from play" pile.
        (See Add, Return, and Remove From Play for further detail.)
  • If you're adding more models than you started with, then in a Tournament you must physically own the correct models - proxies are not allowed in tournaments. (Locked thread)

Return/Add to Play - Other Units (Edit)

  • "Return to Play" and "Add to Play" are quite simple if you only return models to your own unit (like Blood-Bound) or only return independent models (like Thagrosh1's feat). But if you're returning/adding models to other units, then click to read more.   [Show/Hide]
    • If you can return multiple troopers at once, they don't all have to be the same unit. Spread the love around.
    • Troopers must return to their original unit. Even if you have two units of the same type (such as two units of Convergence Eradicators) then you can't have 4 die from unit [A] and return them all to unit [B].
    • If your rule is something like "return d3 models to units within CMD range" (Old Witch3) then it is d3 models total, not d3 models to each and every unit.
    • If your rule is something like "spend 1 soul to return 1 Grunt" (Enigma Foundry) then it doesn't matter where the souls came from originally. Think of them like currency, in this case.
    • You can Return models even after a unit is reduced to just Attachments (Weapon or Command)
      • If your Return ability lets you return a Leader or Officer model, then they will immediately become the unit commander and redefine the "in formation" bubble.
      • If your Return ability only allows Grunts, then the Grunt will not be field promoted when he arrives.
        This means that, in the unusual scenario where the Leader model has different wargear to the Grunts (such as Cygnar Stormguard), then that wargear is effectively 'lost'.

Rules Clarification : Gate of Worlds - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ghost Shot      (Edit)

  • Ignore LOS (Edit)
    • Since you ignore LOS, you can target models in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Although you ignore concealment/cover, you don't ignore any other bonuses models get "from" them (such as Prowl).
  • You don't ignore Stealth's "auto-miss" rule.

Rules Clarification : Rear Attack - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reload      (Edit)

  • You cannot mix melee attacks and ranged attacks in the same activation unless you have a special rule (such as Dual Attack). Reload does not get around this restriction.
    • A Trample Power Attack is a melee attack, even if you don't actually trample over anyone and make zero dice rolls. So you can't trample then Reload (unless you have something like Dual Attack).
  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)