This model is available in one Prime Army, Legions of Dawn. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.
Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.
As regal as its name suggests, the Imperatus was engineered to be without peer. The myrmidon wields a pair of blazing thermal blades to deadly effect, annihilating foes in a flurry of fiery impacts. At a distance it musters energy from its field to empower the Halation cannon, a weapon that can direct a concentrated burst of superheated energy with pinpoint accuracy. Its most astonishing feature is the Phoenix Protocol, a failsafe system that can rapidly restore the Imperatus to full fighting force.
Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.
- Bond [ Vyros ] - If this model begins the game in Vyros's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Vyros and in their control range, Imperatus can run or charge without spending focus.
- Field Dependent - While its Field Generator system is crippled, this model loses Phoenix Field and can't attack with the Halation Cannon.
- Force Fields - This warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first. Once per turn during its activation, this model can spend 1 focus point to remove 5 damage points from its force field damage track unless its Field Generator system is crippled.
- Phoenix Field - Remove d6 damage points from this model's force field after resolving continuous effects during your Maintenance Phase.
- Phoenix Protocol - This model can use Phoenix Protocol once per game during your Maintenance Phase or when disabled. Remove up to 1 damage point from each of its systems and remove all damage from its force field.
- Side Step - When this model hits an enemy model with an initial melee attack or a melee special attack, it can advance up to 2" after the attack is resolved.
- When taken by anyone else
- Legions of Dawn. In this theme Imperatus can ignore friendly Dawnguard models when determining LOS, and it can advance through friendly Dawnguard models if it has enough movement to move completely past them. Also, if someone 'Jack Marshals Imperatus, it gains Flank [Dawnguard].
Thoughts on Imperatus
Imperatus in a nutshell
Imperatus brings one of the most durable warjacks in the game with some melee power to boot. Side step gives Imperatus ways to get deep into enemy lines and strike at the heart of the enemy force. Phoenix Protocol keeps Imperatus alive well beyond what most heavies can take, giving him a total of 51 boxes which takes serious investment to get rid of (for reference, Hyperion/Helios have 64 boxes each).
Combos & Synergies
- Vyros, obviously...
- Vyros1 offers a great threat extender from Righteous Vengeance and his feat can turn the damage up to 11.
- Vyros2 has Deceleration and Easy Rider which are both helpful to the army, Imperatus included. His feat is a nice threat extender.
- Arcanist to make Imperatus hit harder.
Legions of Dawn
In this theme any caster or 'jack marshal can take Imperatus. Given he is a a mymirdon of good value and quality with both superb offensive and defensive stats, he is likely to find a way into most Legions of Dawn lists, regardless of caster. However a few combos of note are:
- Garryth2's Road to War spell combined with Side Step provides him with an incredible non-linear threat range.
- Elara2 - Scything Tough and Boundless Charge are excellent spells on Imperatus.
- Thyron1 - He is a big fan of quality melee mymirdons.
- Ossyan1 - Imperatus goes really far under Quicken, or becomes difficult to pin down with Admonition.
- Dawnguard Sentinel Scyir - A pricey package, but Imperatus will gain Righteous Vengeance, which extends his threat range even farther
- House Shyeel Artificer - Pricey again, but double the healing for your force field.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Grievous Wounds will prevent him using Phoenix Field and Phoenix Protocol. He's not coming back!
- Your most expensive myrmidon, high on the target list and quite the investment.
- Sidestep does not ignore free strikes, so he can't charge 2" reach targets hoping to wade past without killing them first.
- His typical assassination run will only really work against newer players, leaving him for trading more often than not, or being kept back as a threat more than anything.
Tricks & Tips
- His two initial side steps can frequently lead to him delivering a scary assassination threat, especially at the tail end of a Synergy sequence.
- Don't be afraid to trigger Phoenix Protocol during your Maintenance Phase if an opportunity arises to get ahead on attrition/assassinate comes up as this may be worth more than waiting for him to be disabled first just to eke the most out of his potential 51 boxes.
- Released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)
- Unlike all of Retribution's other jacks, non-character and character, which are named for mythological beings (largely Greek, especially the characters), Imperatus is not, being an inflected variant of the Latin word 'imperio' (I command), from which 'imperator' and thus 'emperor/imperial' come from, which is quite fitting.
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Flame Burst (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- If you deploy in fire hazard terrain (Burning Earth), then you get set on fire before the game starts.
- Deploying a model in a hazard counts as being "put into play" in the hazard. Being put into play counts as "entering". When you enter a hazard, you trigger the hazard.
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
- In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
- Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Force Fields (Edit)
- You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
- Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)
Rules Clarification : Phoenix Field - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Side Step (Edit)
- You can't trigger Side Step by hitting friendly models.
- You can't trigger Side Step from additional attacks that you buy, or out-of-activation attacks (such as free strikes).
- If you have multiple initial attacks, you have to step after each one. You can't "save up" all your side steps then get a single big 4" or 6" move.