Hurricane

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1217 articles and 91% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Baldwin (one year review) Vanguard (one year review)


Cygnar Logo.jpg Hurricane

Cygnar Colossal Warjack

Stormwalls and Hurricanes tower over Cygnar’s enemies with the majesty and menace of a looming cloudburst. From the thunder of its guns to the blinding arcs of electricity from its lightning pods, the Stormwall is the mechanikal embodiment of the tempest. The Hurricane is a state-of-the-art weapons platform designed to put down the heaviest enemy targets while offering arcane support for its warcaster through its arc node. These technological marvels pound the battlefield with a hailstorm of cannon shells before smashing survivors with their giant fists.

Basic Info

Hurricane
Missing Info
31112 Hurricane WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Huge
SPD 5
STR 17
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 56
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 39
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Colossal - Colossals are giant warjacks, even bigger and stompier. They all share a stack of standard special rules (click the link for full details).
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Immunity: Electricity - This model does not suffer electrical damage. Lightning cannot arc to or from this model.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Turbulence - Models activating near this model lose Flight. This ability affects a large area.

Weapons

  • Storm Emitter (x2) - 12" range, POW 16 guns
  • Cannon (x2) - 14" range, POW 13, AOE 4 guns
  • Shock Fist (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 20 melee weapons

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Hurricane

Hurricane in a nutshell

The Hurricane is Cygnar's second Colossal - an arc node centrepiece for your army (so it can extend the range of your spells.) with two very powerful main guns and a couple of decent secondary guns. As a rule the Stormwall is better at hurting infantry and gets lightning pods, the Hurricane is better at hurting armoured targets and gets an arc node.

Combos & Synergies

  • ARM 19 is fair, but not exactly exceptional. With such a large points investment, you want to be casting Arcane Shield on the Hurricane to keep it in the game as long as possible.
    • So if that's not available to your Warcaster, it really is a good idea to include a Journeyman Warcaster.
  • Its main guns are electrical meaning it takes all the electrical buffs and suffers electrical immunities - models like the Firefly and Nemo3 buff it
  • Assassination 'casters love the potential of the enemy Warcaster getting knocked down. the Slam from the Storm Emitters offers this from a significant distance.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The more jacks you have, the more Power Up focus you have access to. With two Defenders, you can have two fully boosted (i.e. hit and damage rolls) Heavy Barrel shots. With the same two focus applied to a Hurricane, you can only fully boost one Storm Emitter shot and either boost the attack roll or damage roll for the 2nd.
    • This is what makes a Hurricane a worthwhile option with Caine2 or Caine0 - Fire for Effect means you fully boost one Storm Emitter, allocate one focus to boost the attack roll of the second and use the Power Up focus to boost the damage roll.
  • It's not a Stormwall. The Lightning Pod offers all sorts of tactical play via Conductor as well as being able to contest flags and zones - something that is desperately needed in themes like Heavy Metal.
  • Despite being able to shoot when engaged, it still can't arc spells when engaged.
  • Its excellent main guns are useless vs lightning immune targets.
  • Joint the most expensive colossal in the game, along with the Galleon and Stormwall.

Tricks & Tips

  • Flatten everything. Worry about engaging if you really want the arc node to come into play.
  • Turbulence is great to mess with the enemy's fliers who happen to hug terrain pieces. As only a handful of them have Pathfinder beside Flight, catching them in the Turbulence aura can severely decrease their mobility.
    • Enemies have to activate within 12" of the Hurricane to lose Flight. Watch out for armies (most notably the Flying-Circus builds of the Legion), who can place their models just outside the aura to activate normally.

Other

Trivia

  • The rules were published in the Warmachine : Reckoning expansion book (2015), but the model was released in April 2017.
  • Part of the "second wave" of colossal models.

Other Cygnar models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Caine0 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Sir Dreyfus the Storm Knight - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thunder Charge      (Edit)

  • Refer the rules recap on slamming.
  • Colossals only get +2" on Power Attack Slams, so you don't get that bonus slam movement with Thunder Charge.
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Cortex Damage      (Edit)

  • The damage to the cortex is applied before making your normal damage roll.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Colossal      (Edit)

  • Refer to the Colossal article for a recap of their rules.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Turbulence      (Edit)

  • They can activate outside your Turbulent zone and fly inwards with no problems.
  • This ability affects friendly as well as enemy models. Although it's moot, since Cygnar doesn't have access to any flying models ... meh, could still come up in a team game.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A