Protectorate Solo (Attached)
From among senior warpriests who once led choirs to bless warjacks some elders are selected to become hierophants. Such respected priests learn through exposure and practice to harmonize their prayers with a warcaster. A hierophant chants the hymn or passage of the Canon of the True Law most applicable to the situation, revitalizing a warcaster's flagging energies.
- Staff - 2" reach, P+S 8 melee weapon.
- Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model/unit to a friendly Faction warcaster/warlock for the rest of the game. Each warcaster/warlock can only have one model/unit attached to it.
- Magic Ability [ - ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast a single spell.
- Harmonious Exaltation (★ Action) - Target this model's warcaster/warlock. If the warcaster/warlock is in this model's command range, the first spell they cast this turn costs 1 less focus/fury.
- Heal [d3+1] (★ Action) - Remove d3+1 damage from a living Faction model in B2B.
- Spiritual Conduit - While its warcaster is in this model's command range, the warcaster gains +2" RNG on their non-channeled spells.
Thoughts on Hierophant
Hierophant in a nutshell
You take for the Hierophant for Harmonious Exhaltation - it's basically +1 focus for any caster (except those that use all their focus for upkeeps, warjacks, and camps). Oh, and he has a Heal ability you'll probably never use.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Can't necessarily keep up with a fast caster.
Tricks & Tips
- This guy doesn't really have any tricks up his sleeve. He's simply just a little boost for your caster.
Originally released in Warmachine: Legends (2008)
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Attached (Edit)
- Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
- (You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
- Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Harmonious Exaltation (Edit)
- If the warcaster/warlock is affected by multiple COST-altering abilities (such as Lamentation which doubles cost) then follow the math rules: double/halve before adding/subtracting. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, a warcaster with Harmonious Exaltation and Lamentation casting a COST 3 spell would pay [3x2] - 1 = 5 focus.
- Harmonious Exaltation can, in fact, lower the COST to zero. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Heal and/or First Aid (Edit)
- This ability doesn't target, so you can use it on models behind you.
- When Heal is used as a magic ability, it bypasses anti-spell stuff that hinge on the word "target" (such as Spell Ward or Arcane Vortex).
Rules Clarification : Spiritual Conduit - None yet. (Edit)