Helldiver

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1341 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Cryx Logo.jpg Helldiver

Cryx Light Warjack

The Helldiver drags itself through the earth using its powerful front claws. Though incredibly strong, these appendages are used only for movement, not attacks. The machine's primary weapon is its mighty jaws, which it uses to seize and sunder its hapless victims. Few sights are more terrible than one of the metallic menaces erupting unexpectedly from the earth and shredding every living body within reach.

Basic Info

Helldiver
Missing Info
Helldiver.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 8
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 15
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Burrow [ 3" ] - You can choose not to deploy this model/unit at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, place the burrow marker at the same time as your models with Advance Deployment, up to 20˝ beyond your deployment zone and not within 6˝ of another burrow marker. At the beginning of any of your Maintenance Phases after your first turn, you can place this model/unit completely within 3˝ of the burrow marker and remove the marker from the table. This model can begin dug in when placed in this manner. Additionally, it must forfeit its Normal Movement or Combat Action during its activation the turn it is placed into play.
  • Dig In (★ Action) - This model gains cover, does not suffer blast damage, and does not block LOS. The model remains dug in until it moves, is placed, or is engaged. It can begin the game dug in.
  • Drag Below - During this model's activation, immediately after resolving an attack in which it boxed an enemy warrior model, this model can use Drag Below. The boxed model is RFP'd and this model can immediately make a full advance and then perform a Dig In special action, then its activation ends. This model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.

Weapons

Jaws
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 5 13

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

No changes since 2019.12

Thoughts on Helldiver

Helldiver in a nutshell

The Helldiver is a combat light. It's not great at killing things, but it is good at not being killed (for a Cryx 'jack at least). It has more ARM and HP than usual for a Cryx 'jack, and a good layout of boxes making it hard to cripple systems. Its DEF is lower than norm, but Dig In assures that you'll be safe from most unboosted ranged/spell attacks. Lastly the Burrow rules ensures it won't be exposed to danger until you're ready.

There are two schools of thought on using the Helldiver:

  • As a scenario holder/contestor. You burrow him off on the flank near a zone, and get ready to pop up and claim it when no one else is around. With Dig In and no one nearby you'll be hard to remove
  • As a one-turn surprise. You burrow it near the centre and wait until you can pop up straight into melee and headbutt an enemy, or some such trick.

Historically the Helldiver was overpowered in mk2, then it got over-nerfed at the start of mk3 and shelved by most players. 3 years later it got a new lease on life with a revised Burrow rule, but this merely brings it up to "okay" for its points cost.

Combos & Synergies

Direct support is usually wasted on such a cheap model, but spells that affect your entire CTRL area (such as Skarre1), battlegroup buffs (such as Mortenebra, either version), or debuffs applied to the enemy target (such as Deneghra1) work just fine with it.

  • Though it lacks arc node, it can still be used as carrier for Scything Touch/Dark Shroud into the midst of the enemy ranks. At worst, you can aim an AoE onto it, as it has an effective DEF of 11 on the back.
  • Skarre1's feat is great on a Helldiver as it can pop up at the right time and be a massive threat with its P+S 18 jaws attack - but you probably have better feat targets.
  • Asphyxious3 gives it Unyielding to make it even more durable, and can speed it up with Mobility.
  • If Asphyxious4 wants a cheap-as-possible battlegroup the Helldiver is a decent choice. It can pop up and spread Dark Shroud quite easily. Plus it doesn't really need any focus from Gaspy.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • 4 times out of 5 you'd be better off with a Deathripper for the same point cost. The Deathripper is slightly less durable, slightly less good at melee, but is faster and most importantly has an arc node.
  • It is very limited in what it can do on the turn it unburrows.
  • It is one of the slowest models in Cryx.
  • If you want a combat-oriented light, there are numerous in-faction substitutes that cost only a tad bit more.
  • Most enemies won't stand close enough to the burrow marker for you to attack them on the turn you unburrow.

Tricks & Tips

Burrow

  • Burrow can be used as a bluff to force your enemy second-guessing your intentions with it.
  • Special rules that deny Advance Deployment or Ambush, don't deny Burrow.
  • You cannot run after unburrowing because you can't forfeit your Combat Action twice.

Other

  • Once dug in, be wary of models with 1" or longer melee range. They can run past you, engage you briefly causing you to lose Dig In, but not come close enough to eat a free strike. Placement effects like Agatha's feat also blow your cover.
  • If you intend to make more than one attack, remember that Drag Below ends your activation. Plan accordingly.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
  • Sculptor: Jeff Wilhelm
  • It was nicknamed Dirt Dolphin in mk2 because it could unburrow, advance, and reburrow in a single turn.

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Ol' Grim - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Burrow      (Edit)

  • You cannot run on the turn you Unburrow, because you can't forfeit your Combat Action twice.
  • While you're not on the table, you cannot be targeted by anything. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Furthermore, even if the burrow marker is caught in a "models currently within ..." effect (such as Deneghra1's feat) the burrowed models are not within that area, so won't be affected.
  • Burrow marker
    • The burrow marker is not a model. It cannot be attacked, and it does not block movement. Models can even stand on it.
    • The burrow marker is the same diameter as a small-based model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dig In and/or Foxhole Buddy     (Edit)

  • Unlike nearly every ability in the game, Dig In doesn't have a "expires after one turn/round" clause.
  • Thus you could spend your action on turn 1 to Dig In and (assuming you don't move or get engaged) stay Dug In on turn 2 and use your action to make ranged attacks.
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • If a model with Dig In is added to play or returned to play, it does not count as "starting the game". It can't be put into play already Dug In. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can use Dig In while you're in someone's back arc. You are engaging, but not engaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Drag Below      (Edit)

  • You cannot use an "anytime" ability (such as an animus) during an attack that involves a Drag Below. This is because Drag Below is resolved during Step 12 of the Attack Sequence and causes your activation to end, and you can't use an "anytime" ability until after finishing step 14. (Infernal Ruling)