Hooch haulers combine the two favorite pastimes of the Northkin: battle and dangerously strong alcohol. These armored wagons are loaded with sloshing kegs filled with the highest-proof booze a warband can distill. As the great bears hauling the wagon trample through the enemy’s ranks, the crew lights volatile kegs and flings them into concentrations of warriors or hoses down infantry with pressurized sprays of burning spirits. When the enemy army is defeated, the Northkin gather at their hooch haulers to drink deeply and share stories of their accomplishments during the battle.
|Hearthgut Hooch Hauler
- Battle Engine - All battle engines share the same special rules, most notably being immune to a bunch of stuff. Click here for the long version.
- Immunity: Cold
- Beer Wagon - This model can use Beer Wagon once per activation at any time. While within 5" of this model, friendly Northkin warbeasts and warriors models gain Stumbling Drunk. Beer Wagon lasts for one round. (Stumbling Drunk - A model with Stumbling Drunk cannot become knocked down. If it is hit by an enemy attack at any time except while advancing, after that attack is resolved this model is pushed d3" in a direction decided by the deviation template, then you choose its facing.)
- Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Veteran Leader [ Northkin ] - While in this model's command range, other friendly Northkin models gain +1 to attack rolls.
- Torch (x2) - 10" spray, POW 12 gun
- Cask Bomb - 8" range, 4" AOE, POW 16 gun
- Damage Type: Fire - As above
- Continuous Fire - As above
- High Proof - A model hit by the cask bomb suffers Oil for one round. (Oil - When a model affected by Oil suffers a fire damage roll, the roll is automatically boosted.)
- Rear Attack - When declaring attacks with this weapon, this model can target models in its back arc.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 14 mount attack
- Knockdown - When a model is hit by an attack with this weapon, it becomes knocked down.
- Trampling Hooves - This model can make charge attacks with this weapon in addition to making impact attacks.
Thoughts on Hearthgut Hooch Hauler
Hearthgut Hooch Hauler in a nutshell
The Hearthgut Hooch Hauler provides a strong suite of support abilities for any Northkin force. Veteran Leader will help all of your Northkin land their attacks, Stumbling Drunk will keep your warriors on their feet and in fighting order, and the Oil special rule granted by High Proof on the Cask Bomb will set up all of your fire-based attacks for a very powerful turn. With two SP 10 attacks and an AOE 4 fire bomb, this battle engine brings a lot of pain to the enemies of the North!
Combos & Synergies
- All Northkin models like Veteran leader and stumbling drunk.
- Remember Borka2 has Field Marshal [Northkin] so all his beasts love the hooch too.
- Northkin Raiders and Northkin Fire Eaters especially benefit from the HHH. Veteran leader to make them hit better, Beer Wagon to keep them alive and oil to boost their fire damage rolls!
- Pyg Lookouts benefit from the HHH's presence and can mark targets for the HHH to hit.
- Horgle2 likes models that can spread fire and provide his beasts with free charges and on feat turn he can boost attack rolls and damage rolls vs models on fire (does not stack with oil).
- Dozer & Smigg - Lucky Shot makes it RAT 7, aka it puts it at a level that a piece this expensive should be in the first place, if only on the Cask Bomb attack.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- This model is a BAHI model. It is not available in stores, it can only be purchased directly from PP's online store (or 2nd hand).
It is easy to get in the US, and somewhat easy to get in the EU after PP organised a UK warehouse in early 2019, but for players elsewhere in the world the shipping costs and/or local import taxes make BAHI models hard to get a hold of.
- Big and debuffable target.
- It's RAT 5. In SotN you will need to bring Pyg Lookouts, knock down tech, or even another HHH to make this thing hit anything at range. Which is quite a request coming from a 18 point model. In Kriel company keep it near a cheap solo like a Troll Whelp to get the much needed accuracy
- If it isn’t using its buffing abilites (Veteran Leader, Stumbling Drunk and Oil) a War Wagon has the same melee game, longer ranged guns, a built in accuracy buff and saves you 2 points
Tricks & Tips
- A Stumbling Drunk skirmish screen is very good at preventing the Hooch Hauler being charged.
Released in the Northkin expansion (2017.07)
Other Trollblood models
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- If you deploy in fire hazard terrain (Burning Earth), then you get set on fire before the game starts.
- Deploying a model in a hazard counts as being "put into play" in the hazard. Being put into play counts as "entering". When you enter a hazard, you trigger the hazard.
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
- In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Rear Attack - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Knockdown (Edit)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Trampling Hooves - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Battle Engine (Edit)
- The main differences between battle engines and the other huge bases are:
- They can be placed, and they can move outside their Normal Movement (such as Dodge).
- They can benefit from Advance Deployment, Incorporeal, and Stealth.
- They can't make ranged attacks while in melee.
At least not by default; but many battle engines have Gun Platform, Dual Attack, or similar.
- Unlike Colossals and Gargantuans, your opponent can take control of your battle engine. There are very few such abilities that work on this model type, though.
- Being a huge-based model, a Battle Engine can never gain the DEF bonus from concealment ... but it can still have concealment and thereby trigger Prowl.
- Huge Base (Edit)
- Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
- You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
- Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Cavalry model with no melee weapon
- If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
- You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
- Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't make a melee attack against it. Because you can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
- If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Beer Wagon (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Stumbling Drunk (Edit)
- When using the deviation template, the "4" should point towards the origin of the damage. (Infernal Ruling)
Push - General
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- If you fail a charge, then you do not get to make ranged attacks.
- If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
- Dual Attack doesn't let you mix initial attacks with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
- Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
- Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
- You could theoretically make a special melee attack and then buy additional ranged attacks (or vice versa) ... but the core rules say "The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any" so the special attack would have to explicitly allow a swap - and I'm unaware of any that do so.
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with.
- Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- End of Activation (Edit)
- Some end-of-activation abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
- Whether it is explicit it or not, it is the last thing you can do for the activation. You can not do a different "at any time" ability during or after triggering an end-of-activation ability. You cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
- For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
- If you start resolving an end-of-activation-movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's end-of-activation-movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have more than one end-of-activation ability, you have to choose which one to resolve, then your activation ends and you cannot use the other one.
- See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.
Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader (Edit)
- Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
- Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
- Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)