Harlan Versh, Illuminated One

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Harlan Versh)
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Cygnar Logo.jpg Harlan Versh, Illuminated One

Mercenary, & Cygnar Partisan, Morrowan Character Solo

Trained to hunt witches and worse, the wizards of the Order of Illumination, known simply as the Illuminated, serve to protect western Immoren from the threat of witchcraft. As one might expect of any group with such an aggressive mission, the Order of Illumination counts numerous powers among its enemies - chiefly the insidious Infernals. Their consummate foe, Illuminated One Harlan Phineas Versh prepares to banish their darkness with a blast of his blessed quad-iron.

Basic Info

Harlan Versh, Illuminated One
Missing Info
41081 HarlanVershIlluminatedOne WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 13
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Mercenary - This model will work for Khador, or as a Cygnar

  • PartisanCygnar ] - When included in a Cygnar army, this model/unit is a Cygnar model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.

Abilities

  • Stealth symbol.jpg Stealth
  • Sacred Ward - This model cannot be targeted by enemy spells.
  • Witch Hunter - When an enemy model declares it is casting a spell while within 10" of this model, this model can immediately make a basic attack targeting the enemy spellcaster. If the spellcaster is destroyed as a result of this damage, the spell does not take effect.

Weapons

  • Malleus - 10" range, ROF d3+1, POW 10 ranged attack
  • Sword - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee attack
    • Damage Type: Magical
    • Blessed
    • Purgation

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • Mercenary models can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.
    • Aside from that, there are a few themes that will change what Faction this model counts as (and thus what "friendly Faction only" buffs it can receive). They are:

Recent Changes

No changes since 2019.08

Thoughts on Harlan Versh

Harlan Versh in a nutshell

Harlan is a self supporting combat solo, who punishes units and low ARM models with upkeeps on them thanks to his Purgation gun. His Stealth ability keeps him alive to get close enough to unload. In case of Cygnar most people take him with Constance Blaize to spend Focus on his melee attack, achieving up to 4D6 damage even without a charge against targets with upkeeps on them, or as a cheap solution to give Focus to Gallant due to Accumulator. In Khador he's not that popular, since other ranged solos like Kell Bailoch can take care of Incorporeal stuff just fine, and due to Deadly Shot can cause damage even to the heaviest targets without needing to expose himself.

Combos & Synergies

  • Gallant loves a Morrowan model to Accumulate from - Versh is cheap and relatively hard to kill.
  • Constance Blaize, Knight of the Prophet gets to boost his melee damage rolls.
  • With Countermeasure from either Kraye or MacBain, he can be a pain to remove thanks to Stealth. Sacred Ward also removes another avenue that some armies might normally take to remove stealthed and/or Countermeasure solos.
  • Haley1 or Haley2 can make him shoot his excellent gun an extra time, increasing his already high rate of fire even more.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • His ideal target is low-to-mid ARM targets that have an upkeep spell on them. He's not that good if your opponent doesn't provide you with that target.
  • ROF d3+1 can let you down.
  • Range 10 exposes him to counterattacks after he shoots - Reposition in Heavy Metal somewhat eases that.

Tricks & Tips

  • Barring pot shots at warcaster/warlocks and magic solos, he should be spending most of his time shooting buffed front-line units and assisting in the occasional assassination run (should your opponent be foolish enough to put an upkeep on their 'caster and leave Versh alive).
  • Staying un-engaged and firing Malleus is typically a better choice than charging, unless you really, really want to roll four damage dice on the charge.
  • He works best when holding back and wreaking havoc on incoming infantry while remaining well-protected from counterattacks.
    • Most Trollblood buffs (notably the Krielstone's Protective Aura) are not spells, so Harlan gets no bonuses against them.
    • He doesn't ignore Stealth, even if the target received Stealth from a spell or ability granted by a spell (Occultation and Prowl, for example).
    • Blessed doesn't ignore effects of a spell that indirectly grant a DEF/ARM bonus. For instance, a spell that grants concealment - Harlan wouldn't ignore the +2DEF because they're getting it from the concealment, not the spell.
    • Gatorman Posse, Choir of Menoth, and Fell Caller Heros using their various prayers and songs are not casting spells, so they will not trigger Witch Hunter.

Other

Trivia

Harlequin Versh, Limited Edition Sculpt (Mini Crate)

Other Theme Forces

Khador (Edit)

Other Faction models

Cygnar Logo.jpg       Cygnar Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Constance - Darius - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Jakes2 - Kraye - Maddox - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Sloan - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Siege1 - Siege2 - Sturgis1
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers

Battlegroup Controllers: Caine0 - Nemo4 - Jakes1 - Journeyman - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
'Jack Marshals: Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA

Light Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Arcane Tempest Gun Mages - Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team - Field Mechaniks - Legion of Lost Souls - Long Gunner Infantry - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - Tr Cannon Crew - Tr Chain Gun Crew - Tr Commandos - Tr Express Team - Tr Long Gunners - Tr Infantry - Tr Mechaniks
Special CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch (Mercenary unit) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (any unit)

Solos

Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Archduke Runewood - Captain Arlan Strangewayes - Captain Maxwell Finn - Commander Anson Hitch - Dreyfus1 - Dreyfus2 & Flubbin2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gun Mage Captain Adept - Journeyman Lieutenant Allister Caine - Journeyman Warcaster - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Lieutenant Allison Jakes - Lieutenant Bastian Falk - Lieutenant Gwen Keller - Major Katherine Laddermore - Major Harrison Gibbs - Morrowan Archon - Savio Montero Acosta - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - Tr Buster - Tr Master Gunner - Tr Patrol Dog - Tr Warcaster Lieutenant - Viktor Pendrake

Battle Engines & Structures

Nemo4 - Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse

Theme Forces
Flame in the Darkness - Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cygnar Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2021.11
Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores spell buffs even if they're not directly on the target. (For example, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell is cast on Haley and gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5". Blessed ignores it on everyone, not just on Haley.) (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat (for example Arcane Shield gives +3 ARM).
Whereas a spell which grants an ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored by Blessed (for example Cloak of Ash gives a model concealment, and concealment gives +2 DEF).
(Infernal Ruling)
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else]. (For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.)
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Purgation      (Edit)

  • Purgation does not ignore any buffs the upkeep spell is giving your target (you'll want something like Blessed to do that).
  • Purgation applies if you're attacking friendly models with an enemy upkeep on them.
  • If the upkeep expires between the attack roll and the damage roll (for instance being hit by Eiryss2's Spell Breaker), then Purgation won't be applied to the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Partisan      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Which Faction am I?
  • Partisans are Mercenary (or Minion) models unless they're taken in their "Home" Faction. For example, a Mercenary model that is Partisan [Cygnar]:
    • When used in most armies it is "friendly Faction" only to other Mercenary models.
    • When used in a Cygnar army it is "friendly Faction" to Cygnar models ... and stops being "friendly Faction" to any other Mercenaries in that Cygnar army.
  • In a multi-caster game, Partisans count as the main army's Faction and not as a Mercenary models (if playing a Faction other than Mercaneries). (Infernal Ruling)

Attachments

  • If a Partisan unit can get a special attachment from their Partisan Faction (for instance a Soulless Escort or Trollkin Sorcerer) then they can only get that attachment when they're in the Partisan Faction. They can't take it when working as a regular Mercenary. (Locked thread)
  • When taken in their Partisan Faction, they can't have a Ranking Officer attached.

Partisan warcasters

  • If you have a Partisan caster, you must choose whether your army is a Mercenary force or a [Partisan Faction] force. What warjacks the caster can take are then limited by your choice.
  • Partisan casters can be taken in [Partisan Faction] theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
  • Partisan casters can be fielded in multiple-caster games. (Locked thread)
    See also the Category: Partisan for what happens if you mix and match Partisan casters and Merc casters in multi-caster games.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  • Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, so there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
    1. Freely: If the Partisan is on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want plus another Mercenary unit/solo. (Infernal Ruling)
      They can be explicitly allowed (for example Jaws of the Wolf allows "Kayazy models/units" so Partisan Kayayz can be used freely).
      They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models/units" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria, so they can be used freely). (Infernal Ruling)
    2. Limited: If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one Mercenary/Minion" slot, so you can only have the one.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
    • They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
    For example Lanyssa can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
    For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
    For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition [3] in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Witch Hunter      (Edit)

  • Magic Abilities and Animi count as spells too.
  • There is no limit to how many attacks a Witch Hunter can trigger. If your opponent keeps casting spells, you can keep attacking them.
  • Witch Hunter triggers on step 1 of the spellcasting sequence. After the cost has been paid, or combat action, or whatever else triggers the model to cast a spell such as battle wizard or etc. (Infernal Ruling)