The soldiers of the Flameguard Temple once found their purpose in defending the sacred sites of the Protectorate, but the turmoil of recent years has seen these former guardians forged into one of the most formidable fighting forces of the nation. Hearing and heeding Menoth's call to service, thousands have swelled the ranks to take up arms and carry out the will of the Lawgiver. With the blessings of Menoth upon them, these faithful eagerly go to war against the non-believers, unified in their unwavering support of the Great Crusade.
An army made use the Guardians of the Temple theme force can include only the following Protectorate models:
- This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Protectorate.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Protectorate] rule.
- Minion units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments
Full model list
The models allowed in Guardians of the Temple
This list was last updated: 2019.07 (Edit)
- All Protectorate warcasters
- Up to one solo
- Up to one unit
You can spend each Requisition Point on either:
- While B2B with another model in their unit, Temple Flameguard trooper models gain Tough and cannot become knocked down.
- Up to one Daughters of the Flame unit in this army gains Ambush.
- Ambush - You can choose not to deploy this unit at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place all models in the unit in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
2019.07 Theme Remix
- Game-wide Remix changes
- 3 character warjacks added to the list of allowed models.
- Attendant Priest removed from the list of allowed models
- Freebie models greatly expanded (used to just be a Flameguard CA or a small based solo)
- The benefits did not change
Thoughts on Guardians of the Temple
Guardians of the Temple in a nutshell
- Guardians of the Temple is decent at holding scenario locations with hard to hit units like the Daughters and tough to kill units like the Temple Flameguard.
- Ambushing Daughters of the Flame is also a very good way of jamming enemy troops or throwing a wrench in your opponents plans.
- All the infantry being so cheap leaves an obvious hole in the list; smashing tougher stuff. Of course that's what the Choir of Menoth and the heavy jacks are for.
- Alas losing the Covenant of Menoth and the Hierophant isn't good.
List Building Tips
- Take the Ambushing Daughters. Single wound infantry are terrified of these women.
- The list lacks magic weapons and attacks outside of what your warcaster might bring and the Shrine of the Lawgiver, so a Sanctifier is highly recommended to deal with pesky Incorporeal models.
Casters of Note
- Feora, Priestess of the Flame gives all Flameguard an MAT buff. Ignite also helps them hit harder.
- Feora, The Conquering Flame potentially ups the offensive power of her entire army via Incite. She loves the fact that the Temple Flameguard are relatively self-sufficient on defense, as she does very little to get her army up the field otherwise.
- Grand Scrutator Severius is an excellent force multiplier for his army via his many support spells (Death Sentence, Defender's Ward, Vision) and Eye of Menoth.
- Although High Exemplar Cyrenia's Battle Plans don't work on Flameguard, her spell list and feat work just as well as buffing them as they do Exemplars.
- The High Reclaimer does more for Guardians than the theme does for him; Hand of Fate is an excellent buff, and bringing back Flamebringers or Cleansers can allow for surprising angles of attack. He'd usually rather play in Exemplar Interdiction, though, due to their greater hitting power.
- Servath Reznik, Wrath of Ages buffs the accuracy of his army via Death March, while Spellpiercer and Lamentation are incredibly punishing for opponents relying on buffs. Like Feora3, he appreciates the TFG being defensively self-sufficient as he does nothing to help them up the board.
- The Testament of Menoth turns the already annoying-to-deal-with Temple Flameguard into absolute pests via Ashen Veil and cheap recursion. His feat can also be great when used with Flameguard Cleansers and Flamebringers, allowing them to dig deep into the enemy.
- Thyra, Flame of Sorrow gives Daughters of the Flame Vengence and additional hitting power/accuracy. Occultation and her feat also help get them up the field.
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
- Released 2017.01
- Guardians of the Temple was one of the first Theme Forces to be previewed for MK III.
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Ambush (Edit)
- If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Ambush, then they all get to Ambush anyway. (Locked Thread)
- Ambush and Apparition both occur at Step 5 of the Control Phase. However, Ambush specifies the "end" of the Control Phase so you cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
- Declaring Prey:
- If a model/unit is going to use Ambush, it needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models. (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have Ambushing models, then it goes: Pick Sides, Player 1 chooses whether or not to use Ambush, then Player 2 chooses whether or not to Ambush, then Player 1 begins deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Girded - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency - whenever a model is considered a different faction to normal, it will not be its original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
- For instance Lukas stops being a Crucible Guard model when taken in an Infernal army, and as a consequence he cannot take Toros or Vanguards in Infernals. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Since Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- If they are on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want, plus another Mercenary unit/solo.(Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)