Gremlin Swarm

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Feora2 (theme thoughts) Imperatus (Dawnguard and non-vyros combos)


Gremlin Swarm
Minion, and Grymkin, Solo

Mischievous and malicious in the extreme, gremlins delight in rooting around in mechanikal constructs with the intent of causing as much damage as possible for their own amusement. These mysterious grymkin are attracted to the hiss and clank of warjacks on the battlefield and have been known to bring mechanized weaponry grinding to a halt at the most inopportune times.

Basic Info

Gremlin Swarm
Missing Info
GremlinSwarm.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 12
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Minion - Works for Circle, Legion, Skorne, and Trollbloods
  • Grymkin - The Gremlin Swarm also belongs to the Grymkin, as a Faction model.
  • Incorporeal - This model can walk through walls, terrain, models, and just about anything else. It can't be damaged except by things which have Damage Type: Magical. When it makes a melee or ranged attack it loses Incorporeal until its next activation.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Annoyance - Living enemy models within 1" of this model suffer -1 to attack rolls.
  • Apparition - During your Control Phase, place this model anywhere completely within 2" of it's current location.
  • Man-Sized - This model is on a large base, but is treated as being on a small one.
  • Mischief - When an enemy warjack or battle engine begins its activation B2B with a Gremlin Swarm, roll a d3. On a roll of 1, it suffers –2 SPD. On a 2, it suffers –2 to attack rolls. On a 3, it suffers –2 to damage. Mischief effects last for the activation, and are cumulative.
  • Sabotage [d3+3] (★ Action) - Target enemy warjack or battle engine in B2B with this model suffers d3+3 damage points and cannot have damage removed from it for one round. You choose which column suffers the damage.

Weapons

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.


Thoughts on Gremlin Swarm

Gremlin Swarm in a nutshell

Working both as Minion and Grymkin solos, Gremlins have 3 defining traits

  • Incorporeal
  • Unarmed
  • They mess up warjacks and battle engines.

Bereft of any offensive tools, they can still cause a lot of mischief through their abilities. Due to their special rules, they can be extremely annoying for your opponent - see Tips & Tricks for a detailed run-down.

Combos & Synergies

Minions:

  • A very cute target for Quagmire from Carver - just make sure to stay incorporeal!

Grymkin

  • There isn't a single warlock, who could (or rather, should) offer direct support to the Gremlins. However, in the Dark Menagerie theme you can bring four of them (even free, if you wish), and with the theme benefit of Serenity they can offer some decent fury management on their own.
  • Grymkin, especially with loads of Cage Ragers in Dark Menagerie, tend to be very slow and thus bad at taking zones. The exception is the Gremlin Swarm.
  • Gremlin Swarms are very good at preventing larger bases from being able to land charges, allowing a skilled player to 'funnel' their opponent's larger & harder hitting models onto one side of the board. This is a general property of Gremlin Swarms, but is particularly applicable to Grymkin and being able to protect your softer Death Knell, caster, and support solos.
  • Competitive Note: As of August 2018, almost all top Dark Menagerie lists include the max four Gremlin Swarms. They are great zone denial solos and are perfect for triggering the Sacrifice arcana or The Dreamer's phantasms.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Unarmed, thus, no charges or free strikes.
  • Can't do anything offensive against targets who are not warjacks or battle engines
  • Fragile (seriously, what did you expect?)

Tricks & Tips

  • Overall, the Gremlins are more effective against Hordes (and Convergence), as they lack easy access to Magical damage. Some Warmachine theme forces (like Legion of Steel) are also seriously low on magic weapons. Even if they have such weaponry, they usually have to mobilize resources way over the 3(0) pts value of these solos, making them excellent attrition pieces.
  • Expecting fratricidal attacks from your Berserk troops? Run up a Gremlin Swarm into a suitable position to be in their melee range, and let them went their steam on the poor little fellas. Just watch out to stay incorporeal and not to give magical weapons to them.
  • For movement shenanigans, keep in mind that the enemy must have enough movement to be able to completely pass through you - they cannot stop "within" the Gremlins' base.
    • It is a great tool to keep your key models in place despite from smaller pushes, like the ones from Bulldoze, Thunderbolt, Beat Back, Repulsor Field, slams from smaller based models, etc.
    • If your enemy would need a linear charge lane to reach an important model of yours, park the Gremlins in front of them, just a bit shorter away than the base size of the charger. Unless they have Chain Strike, their melee range will be insufficient to reach you.
    • The same goes with Drag/Pull - if there is not enough place between the Gremlins and the attacker to fit your base, you will stop right at the Gremlins' base - hopefully out of melee range.
    • They are especially annoying, if ran up in front of a colossal - usually, it does not have enough movement to bypass them.
  • Even though they have no melee weapons, enemies can still engage them and receive the "target in melee" defense bonus.
  • Battle engines are also valid targets for Mischief and Sabotage - perhaps even better than warjacks. Since Mischief happens at the beginning of the activation, your enemy must divert resources to remove the swarm, before the BE activates, lest they will cause trouble. Battle Engines also lack fury/focus to boost attack/damage rolls (though many have some inherent abilities, which have similar effects), so cumulative modifiers on their rolls can be pretty effective.
    • Don't forget, several casters (Denny3, Reznik2, Lylyth3, Xerxis2, and Old Witch2-3) are battle engines too, making them vulnerable for both Sabotage and Mischief. Apart of Denny, all of them are living models too, along with the Siege Animantarax and the Throne of Everblight, so they are affected by Annoyance too.
  • Grymkin
    • Note: It cannot be back-doored into a Grymkin theme force that doesn't specifically allow it via the "Up to one Minion solo that works for Grymkin" clause.

Other

Trivia

  • Originally released in Hordes: Devastation (2015)
  • If you take their own words from the Grymkin book, the gremlin Swarm is a monster of a unit!

Theme Forces

Minion Grymkin
Circle Orboros (Edit) Legion of Everblight (Edit)
Skorne (Edit) Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Faction models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)            
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech
Unaligned Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dhunian Archon Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Saxon Orrik - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Underchief Mire - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food
This index was last updated: 2019.04
Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grymkin model

  • Grymkin status (Infernal Ruling)
    • In addition to being a usual Minion model, Gremlin Swarms can also be taken in a non-theme force Grymkin army and the Dark Menagerie theme force.
    • They will be considered friendly Faction models to Grymkin when taken in one of those 2 army builds
    • They do not have the Partisan rule.
  • Despite being a Minion model, they cannot be taken in a Bump in the Night theme force as your "Up to one Minion solo" choice. Because they are not "a Minion model that will work for Grymkin". (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Annoyance - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Apparition      (Edit)

  • If a model is B2B with you when you use Apparition then they will be exactly 2" away afterwards. So you can't get away from 'long reach' melee weapons.
  • Unit members must always be placed in formation. Refer to the "Placed" section if the core rulebook.
    • If a trooper can't be placed in formation (because it's more than 2" out of formation to begin with) then it can't be placed at all.
    • The unit commander is always "In Formation" by definition, so can be placed where he likes.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Man-Sized      (Edit)

  • Despite being mounted on a large base, the model counts as a small-base for any and every rule. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes Ranking Officers being able to join them. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes abilities that only work vs small-based models (such as Consume, Trampling over them, etc). Those work just fine vs Man-Sized models.
  • When drawing LOS it blocks LOS across the full width of its base (some players think you should swap it for a small proxy base when trying to draw LOS past the edge of its base ... don't do that).
  • Since it only counts as a small-based model, it only blocks LOS to other small-based models. You can see medium and larger bases through it just fine.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mischief      (Edit)

  • Mischief cannot stack, even if you roll different results. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Sabotage - None yet. (Edit)