Gorehound

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Grymkin Logo.jpg

Gorehound
Grymkin Light Warbeast

"Slinking in the shadows upon feet like grasping hands, the horror called the gorehound ranges all across our lands."

The gorehound hunts far and wide at its masters’ bidding. Its long tongue tastes the air for the sweet taint of corruption as it stalks its prey. Once a stonehearted coward falls within its grasp, the gorehound leisurely sups on the victim’s fear and flesh—a just reward for callousness.

Basic Info

Gorehound
Missing Info
Gorehound.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 7
STR 8
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 13
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 8
HP 20
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.
  • Extended Control Range - When checking to see if this model is in its controller's control range, double the range.
  • Ghostly - This model can advance through terrain and obstacles without penalty and can advance through obstructions if it has enough movement to move completely past them. It cannot be targeted by free strikes.

Weapons

  • Bite - 2" reach, POW 4, P+S 12 melee weapon
    • Pull - If this model hits an enemy model with an equal or smaller base with a basic attack with this weapon, immediately after the attack is resolved the hit model can be pushed directly towards this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction.

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Lightning Strike

1 SELF - - Turn -
The caster gains Sprint for one turn.
Sprint - At the end of an activation in which it destroyed or removed from play one or more enemy models with melee attacks, this model can immediately make a full advance, then its activation ends.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Gorehound

Gorehound in a nutshell

The Gorehound bears many similarities with the Legion's Raek, and not just in appearance. It is very fast, navigates terrain with ease, can operate far away from your warlock, and generally will be a real pain in the behind. Sprint and Ghostly is also a very nice combination. When it gets there it won't crack hard armor - but six points for a full light warbeast is a steal.

Why Should I Bring Gorehounds?

Gorehounds are absolutely stellar lights. They act as a fast skirmisher, a scalpel, they can fight infantry well due to their low cost even. They're no Rattler but they're also cheaper and significantly faster, with inbuilt better pathfinder. Gorehounds are also one of the single best triggers for The Shadow arcana in the faction, as they are a medium base with 2" melee it means all heavy warjacks and colossals except the rare few with 4" melee will trigger the arcana approaching the gorehound.

Take gorehounds when you want a good scenario light and mobile skirmisher, but don't want to commit yourself to something more deluxe like a Rattler.

Competitive Viability
As of June 2018 Gorehounds are considered extremely viable and are present even in multiples in some very successful list pairings. As an example, Pat Dunford runs three of them in his Dreamer Dark Menagerie list. The overall package that gorehounds bring is extremely compelling for 6pts.

Combos & Synergies

  • Extended CTRL range applies to all of your support spells with CTRL range. As the Gorehound will usually be too far forward for targeted spells, make the most out of these ones:
    • The Wanderer pushes its DEF even higher with Fog of War, while triggering Stealth from Prowl. Always on stealth is a really nice benefit for the Gorehound
    • The Dreamer makes it very accurate with Manifest Destiny, while also making it hit harder
    • The Child can choose the Gorehound due to Tantrum up to 28" away, if one of her "toys" were damaged within her CMD range
    • Control Range arcana such as The Sacrifice / Fortune's Path / Shroud Arcanas, along with the trumps of The Child, The King of Nothing and The Dreamer all measure a doubled control range.
  • The Gorehound's animus is good value for warlocks who have very strong melee output. Notably Old Witch 3, The Heretic, and The Child.
    • The Heretic can easily clear a jam of high def models with his auto hitting sword and then move back to a reasonable position for example
  • The Child runs a really mean Gorehound, Abuse takes a cheap light and gives it a 14" melee threat with a POW 14 attack, and allows it to sprint 9" AND it charges for free with pain response.
  • Glimmer Imp is almost self explanatory, basically every Grymkin model synergises with this guy for his accuracy buff.
  • [[Death Knell] bring his stats up to a super respectable 14/15.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Low MAT and low POW - It's a 6pt light warbeast and you aren't getting an incredible output out of it. the MAT alone means its favourite prey (solos, UAs, lights it can drag into danger, casters) usually requires boosting to hit which lowers its overall output
  • Very, very low Arm. Blast damage can significantly threaten ARM 13, let alone direct hits. Def 14 is nice but not incredible in Warmachine in 2018.
  • Having to pay for Sprint cuts into its output, if you want to sprint with the gorehound, it's effectively FURY 2
  • It doesn't threaten heavies, and won't massacre infantry. It's just a skirmisher.
  • Remember to have a hearty laugh whenever opponents use effects that remove Pathfinder. Gorehounds have Ghostly, and nothing in the game removes Ghostly and the always on pathfinder it gives you.
    • This includes ignoring effects that say you treat open terrain like rough terrain, Ghostly ignores rough terrain.

Tricks & Tips

  • It can use power attacks slam and headbutt. These are extremely under employed uses of a 6pt light.
    • Just because the target is bigger than you doesn't mean you can't slam them! Slam distance is halved but if you have good odds to just shove a heavy out of scenario and KD it, why not?
  • The Gorehound can act as a scalpel, running through the enemy frontlines because it ignores free strikes and terrain to kill key targets before sprinting is a very legitimate use
    • a good example of this is would be to slip past a frontline of trenchers and kill Ragman
  • Against dig in models the gorehound's immunity to free strikes, 2" melee, and high speed stat means it can run down a line and un-dig the models. This is mostly a Bump in the Night tactic where you will reasonably have follow up guns who will benefit greatly, such as Hollowmen and Frightmares.
  • It's expendable!! its a 6pt light. If your opponent has to send their 15pt heavy into it because its in an annoying location and that puts that heavy in range of your list that's a great trade for you.
    • It can body block charging lanes and landing spots to help blunt alpha strikes against you when you are radically outthreatened
  • Don't be afraid to send a gorehound in on something it can't really damage well and give it the old college try. Pow 12 (especially with some kind of buff like Manifest Destiny) can put chip damage onto arm 19/20 models for example, especially on a spike.
    • This can block up something like a Colossal badly while doing some chip damage, because the gorehound is a medium base it can't be trampled over and it blocks the movement for the colossal while also denying aiming, as Colossals can't aim while in melee even if they can shoot out.


Other

Trivia

Released with the Faction release (2017.06)

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl     (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth     (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Extended Control Range and/or Long Leash - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ghostly     (Edit)

  • Ghostly doesn't let you move through other models, just terrain.
  • Ghostly doesn't let you ignore damage from hazardous terrain. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)
  • If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
    • Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
    • You won't get the free melee attack from Drag, even if there's something different already in your melee range. No drag = no melee.
  • Enemy effects that occur after the attack (such as "Enliven" and "Whelp") are triggered before Drag but after Pull. Refer Apdx A:
    • Pull occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence . (Infernal Ruling)
    • Enemy effects occur at Step 13. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Drag occurs at Step 14.
    • As such, Enliven & Whelp etc can be used to 'block' the Drag movement, for instance, using Enliven to move behind an obstruction or another model.


The Movement

  • You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
  • The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
    • It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
    • They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
    • They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
  • You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
  • You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
  • You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
  • If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)


The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)

  • If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
  • If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
  • You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
    • To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
  • After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
  • After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.


More corner-case Rules Clarifications

  • Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
    • This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
    • When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
    • If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
      • Shoot the Drag weapon.
      • Drag the enemy closer.
      • Resolve the free melee attack.
      • Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
    • However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
  • Black Spot + Drag or Catch
    • If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lightning Strike     (Edit)

  • Lightning Strike is retroactive. Which means you can cast it after killing a model, and still benefit from it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sprintand/or Run & Gun     (Edit)

  • You cannot use this ability after an out-of-activation attack (such as Countercharge), only during real activations. (Locked thread)
  • You can't purchase additional attacks after the move, because you can only buy attacks during your Combat Action and by definition "the end of your activation" happens after "your Combat Action".
  • Differences
    • With Sprint, you cannot trigger other abilities that also occur "at the end of activation" (such as Reposition), because Sprint includes the phrase "and then its activation ends". Click here for a detailed explanation
    • Run & Gun doesn't have this restriction.
    • Run & Gun won't trigger if you RFP the model, but Sprint will.