Golab

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Legion Logo.jpg Golab

Legion Character Heavy Warbeast

With a gargled shriek, the unclean beast Golab dives from the heavens to feast on the flesh of the dead and the dying. A favored pet of the ogrun seer Anamag, Golab is a terror to behold in battle. It shreds prey apart with its talons before feasting upon its prey’s open wounds with its oversized beak. Blighted energy permeates the beast, sickening nearby foes and withering any restorative magics in its vicinity.

Basic Info

Golab
Missing Info
Golab.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 7
STR 9
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 17
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4
THRS 8
HP 30
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 15
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.
  • Flight symbol.jpg Flight
  • Bond [ Anamag ] - If this model begins the game in Anamag's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Anamag and in their control range, Anamag and Golab both gain Swarm.. (Swarm - This model has concealment. Living enemy models suffer -2 to attack rolls while within 2" of this model.)
  • Carrion Feast - When a living or undead model is destroyed within 5" of this model, you can choose to have that model be removed from play. If a model is RFP'd as a result of Carrion Feast, it does not generate a corpse token and this model can remove d3 damage points.
  • Entropic Force - While within 5" of this model, enemy models lose Tough and cannot have damage removed from them.
  • Finisher - This model gains an additional die on damage rolls against damaged models.
  • Veteran Leader [ Blighted Rotwings ] - While in this model's command range, friendly Blighted Rotwings models gain +1 to attack rolls.

Weapons

  • Beak - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
  • Talon (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapons.

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Lightning Strike

1 SELF - - Turn No
The spellcaster gains Sprint. Lightning Strike lasts for one turn.
Sprint - At the end of an activation in which it destroyed or removed from play one or more enemy models with melee attacks, a model with Sprint can immediately make a full advance, then its activation ends.

Theme Forces

Recent changes

2021. October

  • Dropped 2 points (from 17)

Thoughts on Golab

Golab in a nutshell

Golab is the latest character in the Legion's arsenal, and the first one without the - thus far - omnipresent Eyeless Sight rule among the warbeasts. Thankfully, he retained Flight, so terrain is rarely an issue. On superficial sight Golab is an over-costed Angelius clone, with shorter threat range, beefier frame and way less damage output. That is, until you look at his card, which is pretty heavily laden with special rules which greatly affect his combat profile.

Due to Carrion Feast and Entropic Force, he is a flying provider of semi-Grievous Wounds, countering repair or healing, and providing RFP for your army. Despite having the largest amount of HP among the "flyer chassis" warbeasts (on par with the Scythean), he is still not invincible. Though his bond can provide crucial bonus to his DEF (and Anamag), he is still not designed for prolonged combat as he is extremely squishy for a heavy. With Finisher, he might actually have some respectable melee output, and with his animus he is perfectly suited for hit&run style attacks: Snatching a wounded prey, killing it, then sprinting back to safety.

In short, Golab is an interesting beast with great utility, stellar damage output and great survivability if terrain is used correctly. He fights with Zuriel for being the best beats in the faction and is almost always worth his points.

Combos & Synergies

  • In Ravens of War you may have both the Strider Deathstalker or the Blighted Nyss Sorceress to easily trigger damage on the target for Finisher.
  • With Kallus2's Overrun in combination with Sprint can mean that Golab could potentially be up to 14" away from the killed enemy model. Vayl1 and Thagrosh2´s feat also have similar effects which allows Golab to end up in extremely inconvenient places.
  • A Blight Archons Dragon's Blood upkeeps is a great spell on him because he is so, so squishy. In fact giving Golab to an Archon can be an even better idea just so Golab does not have to generate a fury to gain Sprint and use the free point as an extra attack or boost.
  • Bethayne2 loves Sprint, flying Arc-nodes, and Transmuation on Golab is down right abusive.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Way less damage output than other warbeasts in his price category - unless the the target is already damaged, which is easy to do, and in which case his damage output goes through the roof.
  • Lowest Threshold among the FURY 4 beasts - you better keep those Fury points cleared.
  • Without the bond, his DEF lags behind the other flying monsters of the Legion.
  • He is lacking Eyeless Sight, making him vulnerable to Blind effects. Also, cloud walls may deny your charge attempts.

Tricks & Tips

  • The healing from Carrion Feast is not tied to Golab's killing - he can chew on the remnants of the others' kills, and friendly losses too.
  • Watch the wording: Carrion Feast won't work on constructs, while Entropic Force still affects all enemy models.
  • Unlike the other flier beasts, he is not Serpentine, thus can be knocked down, but also can Trample and Slam.
  • Several rules interacting with corpses are being triggered at the same step as Carrion Feast (like Bring out the Dead, Body Snatcher, Bone Picker). As a rule of thumb, in such cases the active player gets preference. Read the rule clarifications and click on the Infernals link for a detailed description.

Other

Trivia

Released in the Primal Terrors CID (2018.01)

Other Legion models

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne1 - Bethayne2 - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Lylyth4 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2

Other Warbeast Controllers

Beast Mistress - Blight Archon - Thagrosh0

Lesser Blight Wasps - Shredder - Harrier - Mekanoshredder - Stinger
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph
Heavy

Angelius - Azrael - Carnivean - Golab - Neraph - Proteus - Ravagore - Scythean - Typhon - Seraph - Zuriel

Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Blackfrost Shard - B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel - Virtue Host

Solos

Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Beast Mistress - Blight Archon - B.N Shepherd - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Craelix - Forsaken - Fyanna1 - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - Thagrosh0 - Virtue Champion - B.O. Warmonger War Chief - Yssylla

Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • If a model is somehow thrown at itself (which can happen with Durst1's feat) it would not move, it would be knocked down, and it would take a standard power attack damage roll but it would not take an additional die for colliding with itself. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Incorporeal vs Slammed/Thrown models ( Edit )
    • Incorporeal models cannot be moved by someone trying to slam them.
    • Slammed models can move through Incorporeal models.
      • If they have enough movement to get past them, no dramas.
      • If they land on them, you move the Incorporeal model out of the way as per the Rule of Least Disturbance.
      • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (i.e. it's a flag) then you move the slammed model out of the way, also by the rule of Least Disturbance.
      • For the purposes of Collateral Damage, only the model(s) you contacted before you applied the rule of Least Disturbance count as contacted.
    • The same logic applies to Throws.
  • Collateral Damage
    • Collateral damage cannot be boosted and is not considered damage from an attack or model. Refer page 33 of the 2021.08 version of the rules pdf. As a result:
      • It doesn't trigger stuff that relies on being hit by an enemy (such as Shock Field) or damaged by an enemy (such as Vengeance).
      • It doesn't get bonus damage from stuff that adds to a model's damage roll (such as Signs & Portents or Prey).
      • It doesn't matter if the attacker has crippled weapon systems or aspects.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.
  • Forcing
    • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Animi
    • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
    • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Transferring Damage
    • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Frenzy (Edit)
    • You cannot trigger optional abilities (such as Cleave or Sprint). (Infernal Ruling)
    • You must trigger compulsory abilities (such as Consume) ... except for compulsory abilities that also generate an extra attack (such as Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation.
    • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
    • If a frenzying warbeast has two melee weapons with the same POW, it can choose which one to use. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain.
    • Most hazards. The exception is they do ignore Acid Bath and Burning Earth as long as they don't land in them.
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although flyers can move over obstacles/models, and horses can pause to do impacts while charging, flying horses cannot make impact attacks while overlapping models/obstacles. You need to pause in a legal position.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veil and/or Swarm     (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty stack with each other. If a living model targets you with a gun/spell, and they're within 2" of you, they effectively suffer -4 to the attack.
  • The attack roll penalty applies to all types of attacks.
  • The attack roll penalty applies even if the enemy model is trying to target something completely different.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Carrion Feast      (Edit)

  • Even though this causes RFP, the model still reaches the destroyed step. As such effects such as Overtake and Berserk will still trigger. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Resolving this ability vs other Corpse Taker models is a little weird. (Infernal Ruling)
    1. Carrion Feast triggers at Step 10d, which is often simultaneous with other Corpse Takers. So first you need to work out Active vs Inactive player priority.
      (There's a bunch of examples in the linked thread).
    2. If Golab gets priority and chooses to use it, that will shut the corpse collection down (as per the text of Carrion Feast).
    3. If the non-Golab model gets priority and RFPs the model, it is no longer on the table so Golab can't trigger Carrion Feast. Also the other model might or might not be able to get a corpse (it depends on the wording of its own rule).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Entropic Force      (Edit)

  • Affected models can still remove damage from other models.
  • Affected models can still trigger abilities that involve removing damage, and all other effects will be resolved. For instance:
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Finisher      (Edit)

  • Finisher is not tied to a specific weapon so it applies to all damage rolls, including power attacks.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader      (Edit)

  • Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause. However, if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
  • If a model can get Veteran Leader from two sources (such as Vet Leader [Winterguard] simultaneous with Vet Leader [Assault Kommandos]) then the benefit does not stack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lightning Strike      (Edit)

  • Lightning Strike is retroactive. Which means you can cast it after killing a model, and still benefit from it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sprint  and/or Run & Gun     (Edit)

  • You cannot use this ability after an out-of-activation attack (such as Countercharge), only during real activations. (Locked thread)
  • Run & Gun won't trigger if you RFP the model, but Sprint will.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
You cannot resolve two end-of-activation movement effects (refer to "End of Activation Movement" in the core rulebook). For EOA stuff that doesn't involve movement, though, it gets a bit more murky:
  • Some EOA abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
Whether it is explicit it or not, by definition an EOA ability is the last thing you can do for that activation. For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
You cannot do an "at any time" ability during or after triggering an EOA ability; you cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
  • If you start resolving an EOA movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while resolving the EOA movement, and after the EOA movement your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's EOA movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.