Glimmer Imp

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Grymkin Logo.jpg

Glimmer Imp
Grymkin Solo

Mk4 icon.png
This model is available in one Prime Army, Grymkin. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

Spiteful creatures that lurk behind the looking glass and fall upon the vain enraptured by their own reflections, glimmer imps now skulk into combat to aid their fellow grymkin. With no eyes of their own, they crave stealing the eyes of others to see through them. They have a preference for unusual eye colors, but in a pinch are content to scoop out a pair of simple browns.

Basic Info

Glimmer Imp
Missing Info
Glimmer Imp.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 10
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock



Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 - -
  • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
  • Scoop - Instead of suffering a damage roll, a living or undead model hit by this weapon automatically suffers 1 damage point. This weapon cannot damage construct models.
  • Eye-Thief - When a living or undead model is damaged by an attack with this weapon, it suffers Blind for one round. (Blind - A model suffering Blind cannot make ranged or magic attacks, suffers -4 MAT and DEF, and cannot run, charge, or make slam or trample power attacks. It must forfeit either its Normal Movement or Combat Action during its next activation. Blind can be shaken.)

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Glimmer Imp

Glimmer Imp in a nutshell

The murderer with the extremely inefficient weapon - now on tabletop! A no-frills support solo, who offers universal RAT/MAT fix by running up and staring at enemies. He's a great accuracy fixer, and occasionally he'll run around scooping things eyes out which is pretty horrifying. His fixing ability is extremely notable considering there's only one widescale accuracy buff in the faction (Manifest Destiny on Dreamer) and apart from that there is only spot fixes (Scourge on Witch3 will only hit a small number of targets for example).

Why Should I Take a Glimmer Imp?

The Glimmer Imp is available to both Grymkin themes, Bump in the Night and Dark Menagerie. He's always going to be useful to sit on a flag at the end of the day as a stealth solo, but the primary reason to bring him is to accuracy fix. This is especially relevant for casters and armies without an accuracy fixer. The Child can run some absolutely terrifying beasts such as SPD6 POW19 cage ragers with free charges and 5 fury, or SPD7 POW21 Skin&Moans, but she can't do anything to fix their accuracy. That's where the Glimmer Imp comes in.

The Glimmer Imp can also be one of your Freebies in Bump in the Night and is a decent one if you don't have anyone else in mind. He can be very much a "one shot missile" of accuracy fixing, but if the turn is impactful enough it can be absolutely worth it.

Combos & Synergies

The Glimmer Imp essentially synergises with every model in the faction that makes attacks. Hes an accuracy fixer. Not much needs to be said that he'll make everyone more accurate. But it is worth nothing some defensive tools

  • He benefits from Old Witch's Windstorm greatly, as getting to choose deviation for blasts is critical for his poor arm 10
  • In particular his synergy with Rattlers should be highlighted above standard synergies. Rattlers with say, Manifest Destiny from The Dreamer against debuffed troops means it essentially never misses.
  • He appreciates models bigger than him who can block LOS to him

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Dies to pretty much anything that touches him. Def 14 Arm 10 is a joke even with stealth.
  • Blind won't trigger on constructs (read, warjacks, Convergence infantry, and anything with "Wold" in its name), and you better forget about it against Legion warbeasts - but Paralyzing Gaze still affects them.
  • Support bloat - you can spend an overly large part of your army points for support pieces easily. It's always a careful balancing act
  • Lack of Pathfinder can make him reaching the desired board position problematic

Tricks & Tips

Many people get a bit too eager with their Glimmer Imp and throw him away potentially for very little gain. Your opponent only has so many resources, and nestled in the middle of your army he's most likely benefitting from shield guards, arcane vortexes, his own stealth, and possibly an ARM buff from the Death Knell. The key is that Grymkin are essentially a counterpunch faction. You invite bad trades, and are very often out-threatened, sometimes to a large degree.

Once an enemy model(s) invites themselves into the Grymkin army to strike first, the Glimmer Imp can stand in relatively safe positions and debuff them without having to sacrifice his life. The longer the game goes the less attacks can be directed at him, and its possible to gain value from him over multiple turns. However, don't be afraid to throw him away if its worth it. What's worth losing the glimmer imp over won't always be the same from game to game. For example, using him to debuff a haley3 echo and a pile of trenchers for your wraithbaned rattler could be seriously valuable

  • Models with Tactician don't block LOS to him, so those Ogrun / Trenchers can see through each other to see him and get debuffed
  • He's MAT 5 only on paper, but due to the fact anyone he is attacking can either see him, or is being hit in the back means he will always be MAT 7
  • Blind is a very powerful effect, sometimes scooping out a cavalry model's eye or a valuable dragoon such as Champion of the Order of the Wall will be great value. Especially when they struggle to hit him back at effectively Defense 18 (due to them taking -4 to attack rolls)
  • He doesn't block LOS for most of your army outside of 5" due to stealth. But he does to anyone with the Frightmare Animus up, and for Hollowmen.
  • Invaluable for Assassination



  • Released with the Faction release (2017.06)
  • One of the few models to go through a CID process and yet not get changed.

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick


Lesser: Crabbit

Light: Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy: Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Gargantuan: Slaughterhouse

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters


Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Defiled Archon - The Four Horseymans - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Isiah, Dread Harvester - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Weird Wendell - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night Refer to Category: Grymkin Minion
This index was last updated: 2021.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eye-Thief      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blind      (Edit)

  • Blind prevents magic attacks. However spell-casters, spell slaves, etc can still cast non-offensive spells.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If a model is Blinded, and then given Eyeless Sight, then that model ignores Blind ... but it is technically still Blinded. So if you somehow later lose Eyeless Sight (for instance walking out of the range of Menoth's Sight), it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Also this means stuff that only works vs Blind models (ie Hidden Blade) will still trigger vs a "Was Blinded but then got Eyeless" model.

Rules Clarification : Scoop - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If a model is Blinded, and then given Eyeless Sight, then that model ignores Blind ... but it is technically still Blinded. So if you somehow later lose Eyeless Sight (for instance walking out of the range of Menoth's Sight), it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Also this means stuff that only works vs Blind models (ie Hidden Blade) will still trigger vs a "Was Blinded but then got Eyeless" model.
  • Anti-Cloud abilities vs Burning Earth (Edit)
If you make a piece of terrain "Burning Earth" it counts as a cloud effect in addition to it's original type. This has 2 odd rulings:
  1. If any part of the terrain piece is "hit" by an ability that makes clouds expire (such as Gale Winds) then the entire terrain piece is taken off the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If a model can ignore clouds but not the original terrain type, they don't ignore the terrain. For instance if you have a burning forest, then Eyeless Sight can't see through the forest. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Paralyzing Gaze      (Edit)

  • Gaze doesn't stack with itself. A model with 2 Imps in LOS only suffers -2 DEF, not -4.