Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Minion Logo.jpg Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers

Minion Unit

Fearsome necromancers, gatorman bokors wield the very powers of life and death. Stalking among the war parties of the gatormen, bokors command the walking slave-corpses of bog trogs, using the cadavers in death with the same ruthlessness that first cost them their lives. Should any doubt the terrible power of the gatormen, they need only look upon the bokors and their undead minions.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers
Missing Info
GatormanBokorBogTrogSwampShamblers.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Gator / Shamblers
BASE Medium / Small
SPD 5
STR
MAT 6 / 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12 / 10
ARM 16 / 13
CMD 7 / 4
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5 / 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 1 Bokor 9 Grunts
COST 10
1.0 each
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Bokor
    • The Bokor has better stats, as shown in the statbox.
    • Gatorman - the Bokor is a Gatorman. The Shamblers are not, and the unit is not a Gatorman unit.
    • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
    • Death Magic - 1) During its activation this model can RFP friendly Grunt models in its unit that are in formation to make additional melee attacks or to boost attack or damage rolls. It can make one additional melee attack or boost one roll for each model removed. 2) When this model would suffer damage, you can choose one or more models in this unit that are in this model’s CMD range to suffer any number of those damage points instead, divided as you choose. If you do, this model does not suffer that damage. A model cannot suffer more damage as a result of Death Magic than it has unmarked damage boxes.
    • Stir the Dead - When a living model is destroyed in this model’s command range, this model gains the destroyed model’s corpse token. At the end of your next Control Phase, remove all corpse tokens from this model and add to play one Grunt to this unit for each corpse token removed. Place the Grunts completely within this model’s command range. This unit cannot have more than twenty Grunts in play at any time.
    • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
  • Shamblers
    • Amphibious - As above
    • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
    • Bog Trog - the Shamblers are Bog Trogs. The Bokor is not, and the unit is not a Bog Trog unit.
    • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.

Weapons

  • Bokor
    • Bite - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
    • Tail Strike - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon
  • Shamblers
    • Claws - 0.5" reach, P+S 8 melee weapon

Weapon Attachment

They can attach up to three Void Leeches. The Leech's info has been omitted from this page for brevity.

Theme Forces

Minions

Non-Minion themes

This unit may be used in the following theme forces without using their single minion unit option:

As a minion unit, they can also be taken in a bunch of other Faction's themes as their single allowed minion unit. Refer to #Other Theme Forces.

Recent Changes

No changes since 2017.12

Thoughts on Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers

Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers in a nutshell

It's a zombie horde! Shamblers aren't great - but they are good enough to mess up the enemy and jam up charge lanes.

Combos & Synergies

  • They're Rask's favorite choice of Bog Trog meatshields.
  • Lots of infantry - lots of bodies for the mill
  • Sacral Vault - the Gator recycles the bodies, the Vault the souls. The vault also brings telemetry for more accurate Hand of Glories.
  • Paingiver Task Master - Extra hitting power is always useful - especially with this many troops. And tough shamblers are annoying.
  • Bog Trog Mist Speaker Veteran Leader really helps shamblers hit average targets.
  • Gatorman Witch Doctor Extra speed on Shamblers is useful. And they are great cheap targets for sacrificial strikes. However be aware that the Witch Doctor zombifying other units will deny you corpse tokens for Shamblers.
  • Wurmwood, Tree of Fate & Cassius the Oathkeeper - Similar to the Sacral Vault; you're already farming soul tokens, why not double up and farm corpse tokens too?
  • The Blindwater Congregation theme effectively makes them cheaper.
  • The Boil Master and Spirit Cauldron can give the Bokor corpses.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model
  • Shamblers are terrible troops
  • The Bokor is a killable lynchpin.

Tricks & Tips

  • You're better to run and jam with them, than you are to burn your clock time making attacks with them.


Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Gargantuans (2013)

Other Theme Forces

Circle Orboros (Edit)

Legion of Everblight (Edit)

Skorne (Edit)

Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh


Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow

Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries

Gatorman

Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech

Unaligned

Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea

Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman

Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Flugwug the Filcher - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor - Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dhunian Archon Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Ledfoot & Tredz - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Pyg Tank - Saxon Orrik - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Underchief Mire - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces
Minion Faction Themes (Edit) The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food
Unlimited Minions themes(Edit) Disciples of Agony (Skorne) - Oracles of Annihilation (Legion) - Secret Masters (Circle)
This index was last updated: 2019.09

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Death Magic - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Stir the Dead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hand of Glory      (Edit)

  • Remember, stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the recap on stationary for what models can/can't do.
  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as intervening terrain) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, or two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.