Frightmare

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Grymkin Logo.jpg

Frightmare
Grymkin Light Warbeast

"SCREAM AND SCREAM and scream again, For you have seen the frightmare’s grin!"

Born of the deepest fears of The Child, the frightmare is a mélange of horrors embodying all that is wrong in the world. Staggering onto the battlefield, it disgorges foul bile to punish the enemies of the grymkin, so that even a victory against them is tainted with foulness.

Basic Info

Frightmare
Missing Info
Frightmare.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 7
MAT 5
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 8
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 9
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

Weapons

  • Claw (x2) - 0.5" reach, POW 3, P+S 10 melee attacks

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


See in the Dark

1 SELF - - Round -
The caster can ignore clouds for LOS, and can ignore stealth completely. Lasts 1 round.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on the Frightmare

Frightmare in a nutshell

Fragile and expensive, the Frightmare is the only ranged warbeast in the Grymkin faction. It brings a pretty good gun, and a very powerful utility animus that allows it to sidestep the normal weakness of gun lights.

Why Should I Bring a Frightmare?

Frightmares are brought for two reasons. The first being is for their animus, having a 1 cost way to gain true sight on a caster is extremely valuable. The animus can allow you to cover some match ups that may be rougher without it. Secondly, its a true sight gun in a faction without many guns at all. You do pay quite a premium, but never discount the benefit from being able to soften targets up with the gun first or use its gun to scalpel important models that can't use stealth or clouds to hide

Competitive Viability
As of June 2018 Frightmares are rare in Grymkin lists, but still seen. They are very, very often seen as a "bring one" beast for the utility. The utility of the animus alone has given Frightmares a place in competitive Grymkin. They are seen like this in both Bump and Dark Menagerie without much distinction.

As for the competitive viability of multiple Frightmares, they aren't terrible. It is definitely possible to make a build with multiple frightmares work and it has its own drawbacks and downsides. It's just an "off meta" build as Frightmares give up the ridiculous melee efficiency that Grymkin melee beasts have.

Combos & Synergies

The Frightmare will never be receiving a large amount of direct buffs, but it does have synergies in the faction.

  • The Warlocks of Grymkin both enjoy its animus for True Sight, and have some synergies with the Frightmare
    • The Heretic's Trump arcana works on melee and ranged attacks, meaning he can turn them into RAT 7 POW 15 guns that have true sight access. That is a stellar gun for 9pts
    • The King of Nothing is a spell slinger who plays with a cloud wall. The Frightmare can solve order of activation problems by using its animus to see through King's cloudwall, and also offering King the ability to hit stealthed models and to see through clouds. Notably the Frightmare also helps King's assassination game as once king has teleported near the enemy and debuffed their armor its open season for ranged follow up like the Frightmare
    • Old Witch 3 loves having the true sight animus to help her gun land on key targets. Very notably, the animus costs 0 whenever the Old Witch takes -1 cost to spells or feats. She also offers the Frightmare protection from ranged attacks that can absolutely crush its terrible arm 14
    • The Dreamer can buff its RAT with her small phantasm, as well as not minding true sight. She doesn't really need true sight, but she won't complain if its relevant.
  • Cage Ragers that have nothing better to do can Wraithbane it to make its gun magic and blessed. The only downside is the Frightmare can't use its true sight animus at the same time as this
  • Death Knell bring its armor from pathetic up to standard light warbeast stats (from 13/14 to 13/16)
  • Glimmer Imp will buff your Frightmare's RAT in a pinch. Very handy considering its got a low RAT

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • There's a lot of weird things in the world of Iron Kingdom, but this sure takes the cake of being downright disturbing!
  • Low RAT - RAT 5 is "acceptable" in the world of light warbeasts, but its not blowing anybodies socks off
    • Its animus doesn't let it ignore concealment, meaning models in forests / clouds etc are still harder to hit even if you can see through their stealth
  • Low Range - RNG 10 on the gun is one of the lower range guns in the game
    • This makes it weak to effects like Windstorm
  • Absolutely terrible defensive stats - def 13 arm 14 will be slaughtered by standard RAT 6 pow 10 guns even.
  • It's pretty expensive - 9 pts in other factions gets you more. Its the trade off for getting the utility of a gun with pretty decent pow.
  • It has essentially no melee output for its cost. Don't rely on it in melee at all.

Tricks & Tips

  • The gun has a continuous corrosion effect on it, that means it can still gain value shooting at infantry out of range, or blast immune infantry
    • It makes it pretty good vs models with tough/feign death as the corrosion is essentially a double tap
  • Don't be afraid to place it between your key models and the enemy, if something has to die its better to be your overpriced light than your game winning piece
  • Play careful with it! Arm 14 is so fragile its crazy
    • A good way to do this is a focus on "defensive fighting" - keeping the frightmare back and targetting models that have come into your formation rather than having it sit on the frontline and shoot into the enemy ranks deep
      • There is a time and a place to fire into enemy ranks however. It's really all about the match up and what important models you can kill.
  • Make shieldwall infantry suffer even if you can't break their armor by shooting them with continuous corrosion.


Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction release (2017.06)
  • If we regard the word-play in this model's name (Fright + Nightmare + Mare), this horse is a she. At least, the outer layer of it...

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)

Rules Clarification : Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Corrosion     (Edit)

  • A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : See in the Dark     (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.