Four Horseymans

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1327 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Grymkin Logo.jpg

Four Horseymans
Grymkin Neigh Slayer Character Solo

Before the infernals came, the grymkin had been unleashed by the Old Witch to stave off the apocalypse. Well, that plan was stupid, and it failed. Now, not only did the apocalypse happen, but there's freakin' grymkin running around in the ruins of the world, and guess what? THEY LOVE IT!

One of the most notorious group of celebrating grymkin are the Four Horseymans, a group of neigh slayers that have taken up the monikers of Death, War, Famine, and Pestilence. They ride through the ash and cinders, whooping and cheering and having the time of their lives. And woe be it unto those who get in their way. The Four Horseymans bring the kind of party you never truly recover from.

Basic Info

Four Horseymans
Missing Info
Four Horseymans.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 4
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 6
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Riot Quest - Although this model has rules which allow it to be played in Warmachine and Hordes, it was primarily designed for the Riot Quest game. RQ is set in an alternate and/or future timeline where the Infernals won the war. Some of the RQ models have a deliberately goofy aesthetic.

Abilities

  • Cavalry symbol.jpg Cavalry
  • Ancient Shroud - When a damage roll against this model exceeds its ARM, it suffers 1 damage instead of the of the total rolled.
  • Relentless Charge - While advancing as part of a charge, this model gains Pathfinder.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
  • The End of All Things - At the start of this model's activation, choose one of the following special rules:
    • Death - While within 3" of this model, enemy models lose Tough and cannot have damage removed from them. Death lasts for one round.
    • Famine - This model's melee weapons gain Starve this activation. (Starve - A model damaged by a weapon with Starve must forfeit either its Normal Movement or its Combat Action during its next activation, as its controller chooses. Starve can be shaken.)
    • Pestilence - Center a 5" AOE cloud effect on this model. The AOE remains centred on this model for one round. If this model is destroyed or removed from play, remove the AOe from play. While in the AOE, enemy models suffer -2 DEF.
    • War - This model gains +2 STR and Linebreaker this activation. (Line Breaker - This model gains an additional die on impact attack rolls.)
  • The Last Ride [ Minifeat ] - This model can use The Last Ride once per game at the start of tis activation. This activation, this model gains the effects of all four of its The End of All Things special rules.

Weapons

  • Apocawypse - (★) range, POW 3, P+S 9 melee weapon
    • Armor-Piercing - When calculating damage from this weapon, halve the base ARM stat of models hit.
    • Lance - This weapon can only be used to make charge attacks. This weapon's RNG 0 unless it charges. When this model charges, this weapon becomes RNG 2 until the charge attack is resolved.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 10 mount weapon

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Four Horseymans

Recent Release icon.jpg

New model - This article is a Work In Progress
This model has only recently been released/spoilered, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Please don't delete this warning unless you (1) have played several games with the final rules (games with CID rules don't really count) and (2) you've reviewed this article and it mostly(★) matches your experiences.

(★) Bearing in mind that other editors may make suggestions you don't think are the "best" but that doesn't make them "wrong". Don't delete stuff just because you disagree with it, please.
See also Category: Recent Release and Category: Recent Change.

Four Horseymans in a nutshell

  • Deadly to single targets on the charge and bringing general army support the rest of the time....

Combos & Synergies

  • The 4 Horseymans work very well with the Heretic. Being able to cast Fury and have The Heretic's trump Arcana up means this unit gets +2 to hit and +5 to damage rolls, boosting their P&S to 14 with armor piercing. On a charge with average dice against a Khador jack, that's 16 damage. With War up, it's 18 and will generally knock out 3 entire columns on a heavy jack/beast and will outright kill many lights.
  • The Death aura gives these models the ability basically have a grevious wounds aura, which may mess with enemy activation economy if positioned correctly. Ancient Shroud can help with this.
  • The Horseymans can potentially take out a light and then block a lane and soak attacks from near by models with Ancient Shroud, forcing your opponent to deal with a 6 point tar pit that just took out something equal to it's points.
  • this model works independently of caster buffs and can support pretty much the whole faction with the Death and Pestilence abilities.
  • the Twilight Sisters can heal the horseymans which is obnoxious with ancient shroud.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The Lance rule sucks to have.

Tricks & Tips

  • Use Pestilence on the approach to protect other models in your army and use all 4 abilities the turn you engage because when your opponent realises what you can do they may not give you another combat activation.

Other

Trivia

  • Released 2020.05
  • The only model in the game with 4 hitpoints. 1 for each of the horseymen.
  • each of the decapitated horse belongs to a preexisting character Kraye, Morvahna2, Goreshade3 and Reznik2

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Defiled Archon - Four Horseymans - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Isiah the Dread Harvester - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Weird Wendell - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night Refer to Category: Grymkin Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Cavalry model with no melee weapon
    • If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
    • You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
    • Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't make a melee attack against it. Because you can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
    • If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ancient Shroud      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
    • Some end-of-activation abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability, and some don't. Either way, you can never do anything extra during or after triggering an end-of-activation ability. You cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
    • If you start resolving an end-of-activation-movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's end-of-activation-movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one end-of-activation ability, you have to choose which one to resolve, then your activation ends and you cannot use the other one.
    • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.

Rules Clarification : The End of All Things - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Death - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Famine      (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Starve - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Pestilence - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : War      (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Line Breaker - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : The Last Ride - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Armor-Piercing and/or Case Cracker     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lance      (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then it doesn't count as a charge attack and you can't use your Lance.
  • If you kill your charge target with an Impact Attack, then you "lose" your Lance attack. (Infernal Ruling)