Flame Bringers

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Flame Bringers

Protectorate Flameguard Cavalry Unit

When the need arises for great mobility, the most skilled riders of the Daughters of the Flame mount up for war. Flame Bringers engage their enemies at full gallop while riding with incredible skill and blinding speed. With their twin swords these masters of mounted combat slice through their enemies with fluid grace and precise lethality.

Basic Info

Flame Bringers
Missing Info
FlameBringers.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 9
STR
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 15
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 3 / 5
COST 11 / 17
3.4 each
N/A
FA
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks. Click the link for the full rules text.
  • Parry - This model cannot be targeted by free strikes.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.
  • Side Step - When this model hits an enemy model with an initial melee attack or a melee special attack, it can advance up to 2" after the attack is resolved.

Weapons

  • Sword (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee attacks.
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
    • Critical Grievous Wounds - On a critical hit, a models hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 10 mount attack.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Flame Bringers

Flame Bringers in a nutshell

Flame Bringers are light cavalry and have a a bit of a mixed bag of abilities.

As every other light cavalry unit, they sport an impressive speed, good DEF, and the thickest armour in their class (which still won't save them from most of the direct hits). They are also big and expensive targets, so you must use terrain and their supreme speed to reach the enemy lines.

Unlike light cavalries of the other factions, they don't have any form of ranged threat or a long-reach melee weapon, so their unaided threat range is among the shortest of their kind (and falls behind even to heavy cavalry with a 2" melee range, like Storm Lances or Exemplar Vengers). However, they sport Sidestep, which, along with Parry and Pathfinder, allows them to dart into the enemy lines, tag targets with their weapon-master attacks, then reposition even further, or back to safety.

Combos & Synergies

Even with weapon master, they rarely crack heavy armour. Against anything else, they will cut a swathe through their ranks, with the right support. Anyone, who can buff their strength, or helps them reaching their target, will find a good use of these girls.

  • Thyra - Her entire game style reflects the hit&run, aggressive warfare, and the Flame Bringers match her theme very well. She sadly doesn't give them her Elite Cadre bonus, but her Occultation and Silence of Death spells both offer great bonuses. Carnage helps them hitting the more elusive targets, especially with the boosted cavalry charge attack. Her feat offers some extra threat range.
  • Tristan - mainly a battlegroup caster, but he loves multi-wound models for Hand of the Creator, and if you don't have any better target for Inviolable Resolve, they can reach the ARM of Storm Lances.
  • Feora's first and third incarnations love the girls on fire. Feora 1 can increase their hitting power with Ignite, and they can benefit from her Veteran Leader ability to trigger Side-Step more reliably. Feora 3's feat will make them hitting super accurate, and able to set whole units on fire.
  • All Kreoss versions offer a lot for the Flame Bringers. Kreoss 1's feat is self evident, while Defender's Ward makes them much sturdier than they should be. He can also vanquish protective spells and animi from the enemy with Purification. The Flame Bringers become truly a close combat beast under Kreoss 2's feat, even if it somewhat works against the critical effect on their swords. Inviolable Resolve is not as good as Defender's Ward, but makes them nigh- immune to unboosted blast damage. Kreoss 3 loves cavalry, and Arcane Ward may put their DEF to absurd levels. Both Ignite and Death Sentence are great on the girls too.
  • Severius - He's a turd polisher without equal, and the Flame Bringers are no exceptions from the units, who can get a lot of mileage out of his abilities and spells.
  • The Harbinger - she supports every melee element of her army, through spells and Martyrdom, plus helps them by cleansing enemy upkeeps. Also, if the enemy happens to engage the Flame Bringers in her command range, they technically jump to DEF 16.
  • The High Reclaimer - Want to pump up the offensive output? Want to bring the girls back again, once they bit the bust? This guy is your man.
  • Testament of Menoth - Shelter your troops in hardly assailable DEF 16. Bring them back, if they die. Charge through enemy during feat like no matter, what.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Typical weakness of their class - big targets, and not overly durable. They can die to boosted POW 10 damages.
  • No ranged game.
  • The shortest unaided threat range of all the light cavalries (discounting side-step)
  • Even with weapon master, they struggle to crack heavy armour.

Tricks & Tips

  • Side Step adds up with Reposition - use this to run deep into the enemy lines, or go back to safety, up to 7" away from your opponent.

Other

Trivia

Released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)

Theme Forces

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Side Step      (Edit)

  • You can't trigger Side Step by hitting friendly models.
  • You can't trigger Side Step from additional attacks that you buy, or out-of-activation attacks (such as free strikes).
  • If you have multiple initial attacks, you have to step after each one. You can't "save up" all your side steps then get a single big 4" or 6" move.