Fire of Salvation

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Protectorate Logo.jpg Fire of Salvation

Protectorate Character Heavy Warjack

Fluff

Basic Info[edit]

Fire of Salvation
Missing Info
FireOfSalvation.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 8
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Bond [Kreoss] - If Fire of Salvation begins the game in Kreoss's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. Fire of Salvation is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While Fire of Salvation is bonded to Kreoss and in their control range, Fire of Salvation gains Divine Inspiration.. (Divine Inspiration - This model gains an extra die on melee attack & damage rolls, but discards the lowest die.)
  • Relentless Charge - While advancing as part of a charge, a model with Relentless Charge gains Pathfinder.
  • Righteous Vengeance - If a friendly Faction model dies within 5" of this model, next turn this model gets a free 3" move and melee attack during the maintenance phase.

Weapons[edit]

  • Open Fist - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
  • Absolver - 1" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.
    • Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in the Maintenance phase of its owner's turn until the fire expires.
    • Dispel - When hit with this weapon, upkeep spells and animi on the model/unit immediately expire.

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken by Kreoss When taken by anyone else
Themes for any & all bonded warjacks (Edit)

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.07 Exemplar Errata


Thoughts on Fire of Salvation[edit]

Fire of Salvation in a nutshell[edit]

Fire of Salvation walks like a Crusader and hits like a Crusader - but with a higher base SPD, potential extra movement thanks to Righteous Vengeance, and is both an accurate and hard hitter. Stack in the standard Menoth buffs and load him up with Focus and he'll demolish most models short of a Colossal/Gargantuan, especially since Dispel will remove any buffs they have on them.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Taking Fire of Salvation with any Kreoss makes him an extra sp00ky Crusader upgrade.
  • Thyra offers it protection from shooting via Occultation, an accuracy and damage buff through Carnage and Strength of Death, and non-linear threat extender with her feat.
  • The Choir of Menoth, obviously. The Vassal of Menoth and Vassal Mechanik also help keep it up and running.
  • A skirmish screen to trigger Righteous Vengeance (if the enemy doesn't kill them you win through a different route).
  • Although putting him on a Junior warcaster is somewhat risky, both of them have something to offer besides an independent Focus source. Durant1 makes it immune to most control effects and gives it a good ARM buff, while Severius0 provides Eye of Menoth and Road to War, giving Fire additional non-linear movement.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • It's more expensive than a Crusader but still has the same defensive stats and hitting power.
  • It might have problems keeping up with your infantry screen while still remaining protected by them, especially if you want to get attacks via Righteous Vengeance.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Remember that Relentless Charge only applies for the charge action - additional movement like that provided by Road to War won't have Pathfinder, even if you use it after having charged.
  • You can use FIre's mace to remove enemy upkeeps on your own models, although given its power you'll probably kill non-warjacks you hit.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Warmachine: Legends (2008)

Other Protectorate models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Divine Inspiration      (Edit)

  • Discard Die (Edit)
    • The dice must be discarded - you can't keep it even if you want it for a critical hit.
    • For instance: if you discard "the lowest die", need 6+ to hit, and roll a 3, 3, and a 4 ... then you must discard one of the 3s, and you'll end up with a non-critical hit with the 3 + 4.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dispel      (Edit)

  • Dispel can't be used versus upkeeps that are not "on" a model/unit (such as Rock Wall, Void Gate, etc), because you can't "hit" them.
  • Because Dispel causes spells to expire on a hit, it will prevent spells that trigger on a hit from triggering at all.
    • For instance, the defensive animus Spiny Growth causes any model that hits the target to suffer d3 damage. This damage will not occur if it's hit by a Dispel weapon.
  • Anti-Upkeep vs a unit (Edit)
    • If an upkeep is on a unit, then all you need to do is make it expire off any member of the unit and the spell will expire from the entire unit.
    • It doesn't matter if the target is in formation or not. (Locked thread)
    • However, if an upkeep is on a single model within a unit (such as Scything Touch) then you need to dispel it off that particular model to make it dispel. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum     (Edit)

  • Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
  • You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
  • When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
  • Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
  • Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
  • Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
  • Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
    • If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
    • But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".