|As of 2022.08 Warmachine University has turned into an archive for Mk3 rules (3rd Edition).|
Refer to the Privateer Press website for all modern Mk4 (4th Edition) related content.
This site has been kept online for any players who want to continue using Mk3 rules and/or anyone who wants to compare Mk4 Legacy models to Mk3 models.
Privateer Press have an official wiki that covers all their main game systems, and my understanding is that Warmachine Mk4 will be on the PP wiki.
More information can be found on the Talk:Main Page area of this wiki.
None know the Feralgeist's nature, but its insubstantial form hungers for a body of flesh. It descends into the carcasses of freshly slain beasts and brings to them a semblance of reanimated life. Feralgeists pose a deadly threat to any who venture near as they lash out with the claws or fangs of the corpse they inhabit.
- Spirit Bind - When a living warbeast in this model's command range is destroyed but not removed from play by an attack, you can remove this model from play to use Spirit Bind. If you do, the warbeast is not destroyed and remains on the table under your control. If the warbeast was part of a battlegroup, the controller of that battlegroup can reave fury points on the warbeast as if it had been destroyed, and fury points that are not reaved are removed from the warbeast. The warbeast becomes a friendly Minion model, gains Undead, and no longer belongs to a battlegroup. Remove 1 damage point from each of the warbeast's aspects. The warbeast cannot activate the turn Spirit Bind is used, cannot be forced, and loses its animus.
- Claw - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon.
This solo may be used in the following theme forces without using their single minion solo option:
As a minion solo, they can also be taken in a bunch of other Faction's themes as their single allowed minion unit. Refer to #Other Theme Forces.
Thoughts on Feralgeist
Feralgeist in a nutshell
The Feralgeist is a harrassment/annoyance support solo, rather than actual combat. The rules to take over enemy warbeasts is often just icing on the cake. It relies on incorporeal for protection against non-magical damage, which also makes them excellent contesters on scenario elements.
Bring them if you have some army points left, and you need a good contesting model. The Feralgeist also has some additional feature in form of applying paralysis on a critical hit, but that only should be a back-up plan as in 99% it will be much more useful in its incorporeal form.
Combos & Synergies
- Dhunian Archon - heal the warbeast you create so it may survive till your next activation. Or if the Geist dies heal something else they are cheap.
- Any warbeast. Especially your own. For spirit Bond you have to stand within 3" of the target warbeast, but doesn't have to give up the Incorporeal form to be able to trigger. The damage that destroys the warbaest must come from an attack, so electro leaps, continuous effects, collateral damage and the like won't suffice.
- If you don't want to take over a warbeast, just run up on the flank - and away from magical weapons.
- In Oracles of Annihilation the Feralgeist is both incorporeal and corrodes infantry that end up too close to it. An aggravating combination.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Not much combat potential to talk about
- Spirit Bind won't work on Gargantuans.
- With only one unmarked box in each aspect, your new warbeast isn't going to stand up to much of anything.
Tricks & Tips
- For the first couple of turns, try to find somewhere safe (ie behind a building) that is 16" away from the enemy flag and/or 12" away from enemy zone(s). That way you've always got a model ready to contest those flags/zones at the drop of a hat.
- Similarly, you can "threaten" the enemy flag by hiding somewhere 12" away from it. If the enemy forgets to to leave a model within 4" of their flag (or you kill them all) then your Geist can swoop in and steal it.
- You can use it to screen your caster from enemy melee attacks, but only by occupying the space that the enemy model wants to charge into.
- If you just need a sacrificial light or a 3/4 dead warbeast to block a critical charge lane, the Feralgeist can help prolong your speedbump by keeping the model in play, even if only for another attack or two.
- Unlike Stationary, Knockdown or Blind, Paralysis cannot be shaken.
- Expecting fratricidal attacks from your Berserk troops? Run up a Feralgeist into a suitable position to be in their melee range, and let them went their steam on him. Just watch out to stay incorporeal and not to give magical weapons to them.
- Electro leaps can jump on incorporeal Feralgeists, and they still count as a model for the King of Nothing's trump arcana - though none of them will hurt them, until they become corporeal.
- Spirit Bind can be triggered by friendly attack on the warbeast too, if you really need to turn your warbeast into an Undead Minion...
Incorporeal 101 for beginners:
- As models cannot end their movements within the same space as an Incorporeal model, Feralgesits and the like can effectively block charges, if your enemy needs a linear move to be in melee range.
- For the same reason, Feralsgeists are ideal to block the movements of huge based models. Place them in front of such a model; they won't be able to advance past you without running due to the length of their base and losing their combat action.
- Incorporeal models are immune against non-magical damage, and armies that tend to have few out of it will be hard-pressed to remove them. Park them on a suitable scenario element to counter point-writing.
- While Incorporeal it CANNOT MAKE FREE STRIKES. While it does prevent enemy models from shooting out of melee range with it, it cannot prevent them from simply walking away.
The Geist of Xmas Yet to Come
- Limited Edition sculpt
Other Theme Forces
Circle Orboros (Edit)
Legion of Everblight (Edit)
Other Minion models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Paralysis - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Incorporeal (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|Damage & Debuffs
- All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
- If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
- "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
Incorporeal models moving
- If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
- If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
- If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
- Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
- If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
- If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
- (Infernal Ruling)
- Charging through models (Edit)
- You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
- Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
- Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
- You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
Moving through an Incorporeal model
- A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
- The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
- Incorporeal vs Slammed/Thrown models ( Edit )
- Incorporeal models cannot be moved by someone trying to slam them.
- Slammed models can move through Incorporeal models.
- If they have enough movement to get past them, no dramas.
- If they land on them, you move the Incorporeal model out of the way as per the Rule of Least Disturbance.
- If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (i.e. it's a flag) then you move the slammed model out of the way, also by the rule of Least Disturbance.
- For the purposes of Collateral Damage, only the model(s) you contacted before you applied the rule of Least Disturbance count as contacted.
- The same logic applies to Throws.
- Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.
- If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Spirit Bind (Edit)
- When the possessed warbeast dies, control returns to the original owner. Thus they can return it to play, or use Spirit Bond to get fury from it. (Locked thread)
- If two Feralgeists controlled by two different players are near a beast when it is destroyed, the Active player will trigger first for Spirit Bind. (Infernal Ruling)
- Any continuous effects on the beast remain when a Feralgeist uses Spirit Bind. (Infernal Ruling)
- Because Spirit Bind is resolved at Step 10d and causes a "destroyed" model to stay in play, it can let you resolve some extra effects (that normally don't work when a model is destroyed); specifically, a warbeast with Rapid Healing can be destroyed, possessed, then heal itself.
- If a Feralgeist takes control of a Wild warbeast, it is no longer Wild. This is going to be errata'd. (Infernal Ruling)
Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit) [Show/Hide]
- Several abilities start with the sentence "Take control of a model" then a full stop, then a bunch of stuff you can do with that model. You can't uncouple the first sentence from the rest of the "do stuff" sentence(s), in other words if you want to "do stuff" then you have to "Take control". (Infernal Ruling)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any "while within" (aura) buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If the controlled model has already been hit by a "currently within" (pulse) debuff, then it will keep that debuff while under your control. Even if that pulse only affected enemy models (such as Deneghra1's feat) - temporarily changing who is friendly/enemy doesn't change who was/wasn't affected by the pulse.
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- Many "Take Control" abilities allow a basic melee attack. Some allow a basic attack. Gunfighters cannot make a ranged attack unless they're allowed the later.
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
- Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
- Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)