Feralgeist

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


Minion Logo.jpg Feralgeist

Minion Solo

None know the Feralgeist's nature, but its insubstantial form hungers for a body of flesh. It descends into the carcasses of freshly slain beasts and brings to them a semblance of reanimated life. Feralgeists pose a deadly threat to any who venture near as they lash out with the claws or fangs of the corpse they inhabit.

Basic Info

Feralgeist
Missing Info
FeralgeistPNG.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 11
CMD 3
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 2
N/A
N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Incorporeal - This model can walk through walls, terrain, models, and just about anything else. It can't be damaged except by things which have Damage Type: Magical. When it makes a melee or ranged attack it loses Incorporeal until its next activation.
  • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
  • Spirit Bind - When a living warbeast in the Feralgeist's CMD range is destroyed, but not RFP'd, by an attack the Feralgeist can take control of it. The Feralgeist is RFP'd and the original owner can reave, then the warbeast becomes a Minion non-battlegroup model that has one health box left in each aspect and can't be forced.

Weapons

  • Claw - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Critical Paralysis - On a critical hit, a living model hit has its base DEF reduced to 5 and cannot run, charge or make slam or trample power attacks for one round.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • As a minion model, he can also be taken in a bunch of other Faction's themes. See #Other Theme Forces.


Thoughts on Feralgeist

Feralgeist in a nutshell

The Feralgeist is a harrassment/annoyance support solo, rather than actual combat. The rules to take over enemy warbeasts is often just icing on the cake. It relies on incorporeal for protection against non-magical damage, which also makes them excellent contesters on scenario elements.

Bring them if you have some army points left, and you need a good contesting model. The Feralgeist also has some additional feature in form of applying paralysis on a critical hit, but that only should be a back-up plan as in 99% it will be much more useful in its incorporeal form.

Combos & Synergies

  • Any warbeast. Especially your own. For spirit Bond you have to stand within 3" of the target warbeast, but doesn't have to give up the Incorporeal form to be able to trigger. The damage that destroys the warbaest must come from an attack, so electro leaps, continuous effects, collateral damage and the like won't suffice.
  • If you don't want to take over a warbeast, just run up on the flank - and away from magical weapons.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Not much combat potential to talk about
  • Spirit Bind won't work on Gargantuans.
  • With only one unmarked box in each aspect, your new warbeast isn't going to stand up to much of anything.

Tricks & Tips

  • If you just need a sacrificial light or a 3/4 dead warbeast to block a critical charge lane, the Feralgeist can help prolong your speedbump by keeping the model in play, even if only for another attack or two.
  • Unlike Stationary, Knockdown or Blind, Paralysis cannot be shaken.
  • Expecting fratricidal attacks from your Berserk troops? Run up a Feralgeist into a suitable position to be in their melee range, and let them went their steam on him. Just watch out to stay incorporeal and not to give magical weapons to them.
  • Electro leaps can jump on incorporeal Feralgeists, and they still count as a model for the King of Nothing's trump arcana - though none of them will hurt them, until they become corporeal.
  • Spirit Bind can be triggered by friendly attack on the warbeast too, if you really need to turn your warbeast into an Undead Minion...

Incorporeal 101 for beginners:

  • As models cannot end their movements within the same space as an Incorporeal model, Feralgesits and the like can effectively block charges, if your enemy needs a linear move to be in melee range.
  • For the same reason, Feralsgeists are ideal to block the movements of huge based models. Place them in front of such a model; they won't be able to advance past you without running due to the length of their base and losing their combat action.
  • Incorporeal models are immune against non-magical damage, and armies that tend to have few out of it will be hard-pressed to remove them. Park them on a suitable scenario element to counter point-writing.
  • While Incorporeal it CANNOT MAKE FREE STRIKES. While it does prevent enemy models from shooting out of melee range with it, it cannot prevent them from simply walking away.

Other

Trivia

The Geist of Xmas Yet to Come - Limited Edition sculpt

Other Theme Forces

Circle Orboros (Edit)

Legion of Everblight (Edit)

Skorne (Edit)

Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh


Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow

Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries

Gatorman

Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech

Unaligned

Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea

Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dhunian Archon Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Saxon Orrik - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Underchief Mire - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces
Minion Faction Themes (Edit) The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food
Unlimited Minions themes(Edit) Disciples of Agony (Skorne) - Oracles of Annihilation (Legion) - Secret Masters (Circle)
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Paralysis - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Spirit Bind      (Edit)

  • When the possessed warbeast dies, control returns to the original owner. Thus they can return it to play, or use Spirit Bond to get fury from it. (Locked thread)
  • If two Feralgeists controlled by two different players are near a beast when it is destroyed, the Active player will trigger first for Spirit Bind. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Any continuous effects on the beast remain when a Feralgeist uses Spirit Bind. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Because Spirit Bind is resolved at Step 10d and causes a "destroyed" model to stay in play, it can let you resolve some extra effects (that normally don't work when a model is destroyed); specifically, a warbeast with Rapid Healing can be destroyed, possessed, then heal itself.
  • If a Feralgeist takes control of a Wild warbeast, it is no longer Wild. This is going to be errata'd. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • General
    • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
      • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
      • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
    • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
    • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Buffs and effects:
      • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
      • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • Theme abilities:
      • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Movement
    • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
    • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
    • Melee Attacks
    • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
    • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
    • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
    • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
      • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
    • Destroying the Controlled model
      If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
    1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
      • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
      • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
      • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
    2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
      • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
      • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
    • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
    • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
      • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
      • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
      • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
      • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)