Farrow Sapper

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Minion Logo.jpg Farrow Sapper

Minion Solo

The farrow have joined Brigadier General Gunnbjorn's military crusade against the infernal invaders both in the name of their goddess and because the alliance affords them access to all manner of modern weaponry. What the farrow lack in discipline, they make up for with reckless ingenuity; the farrow sapper is an excellent demonstration of this quality.

Basic Info

Farrow Sapper
Missing Info
Farrow Sapper.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Minion - Works for Circle, Legion, Skorne, or Trollbloods.

Abilities

  • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
  • Gunfighter symbol.jpg Gunfighter
  • Stealth symbol.jpg Stealth
  • Tough symbol.jpg Tough
  • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy this model at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
  • Minelayer - After deployment but before the first player's first turn, you can place a mine marker up to 20" past your deployment zone. This counts towards the total number of mine markers this model can have in play at any one time.
  • Plant Mine (★ Action) - Place a mine marker completely within 3" of this model. This model can have up to 3 mine markers in play at any time. After resolving continuous effects in the Maintenance Phase, you can detonate any number of friendly mine markers. Centre a 4" AOE on each detonated mine and remove the mine marker from the table. Models in the AOE are hit and suffer an unboostable POW 14 blast damage roll. You can detonate mine markers even if this model is destroyed, RFP'd, or wasn't deployed normally and isn't in play yet.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.

Weapons

Thrown Mine
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
8 1 4 14

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions

Thoughts on Farrow Sapper

Farrow Sapper in a nutshell

The Farrow Sapper is a board position disruption piece, making it a great addition to Gunnbjorn 2 where your opponent needs to carefully position unless they get destroyed by his feat. If you take two of this solo, you can place two mine markers that you are guaranteed to be able to blow up later in the game within or near a scenario element. This can provide a decent amount of denial to where certain models can stand and strike your force.

While this solo can Ambush, don't always feel you have to. It has Stealth, Tough, and 5 damage boxes. It is sometimes better to deploy it normally and have it run up on the first turn so it can plant more mines centrally on the board. Also don't miss that when you do Ambush, this is a solo with a RNG 8, RAT 6, AOE 4 attack. You can use the sapper to really threaten your opponent's softer back line support, or shut down prominent areas where enemy snipers or archers might want to stand to take shots. Having two of them in a list pushes this threat even further, and the ability to plant two mines at the start of the game is often more than twice as good as planting a single mine, especially if you put them both on flags where even more robust solos might have a hard time dealing with two POW 14 blasts.

Combos & Synergies

The Sapper isn't really worth buffing. The Sapper is happy working independently of the main battle lines. That said...

  • Carver can provide him +1 to hit.
  • Helga1 dash polishes all infantry but being able to disengage with parry is safer than throwing an Aoe with gunfighter.
  • Gunnbjorn2 buffs everything with AOE weapons with his feat.
  • Horgle2 solid ground lets him get into melee without fear of blowing himself up and his feat cracks armour.
  • Splatter Boar it may not be the best target for Lucky Shot but at least it’s less likely to miss and hit himself.
    • Dozer & Smigg can also do this in Vengeance of Dhunia under Gunnbjorn.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Will Work for Food has lots of other Ambushing models already.
  • because of how the mines trigger low model count armies can pretty much ignore them - unless they are placed on an objective.
  • for non minion players it’s difficult to see why you would reach for a Sapper if you are only allowed 1 solo in your theme, it works fairly independently and it’s not as if that slot isn’t hotly contested.
  • fairly average stats all round
  • no melee weapon and a low range means that Countermeasure or similar anti ranged abilities can really mess with him.
    • even if he hits in melee with gunfighter, he can still hurt himself with blast damage.

Tricks & Tips

  • Put a mine on an opponent's flag. It won't stop them from scoring on their turn, but on your turn you can blow up whatever they sent to camp the flag.
  • Put a mine near an opponent's objective. It can often chip damage in allowing you to use more valuable attacks elsewhere.
  • if your Farrow Sapper came with only 1 30mm base you are allowed to request the 3 for the mines via the parts replacement store.

Other

Trivia

  • Released 2021.01

Other Theme Forces

Circle Orboros (Edit)

Legion of Everblight (Edit)

Skorne (Edit)

Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Azazello1 - Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Helga2 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh


Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks

Barnabas0 - Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow

Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries

Gatorman

Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech

Unaligned

Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea

Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Farrow Sapper - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman

Barnabas0 - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Bone Shrine - Croak Hunter - Flugwug the Filcher - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor - Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Death Archon - Dhunian Archon - Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 & Dez2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kogan the Exile - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Ledfoot & Tredz - Malvin2 - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Pyg Tank - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - The Wastelander - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Tubbin - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon - Weird Wendell

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
Independent Warjack Malvin1 & Mayhem1
 
Minion - Theme Forces
Minion Faction Themes (Edit) The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Vengeance of Dhunia - Will Work for Food
Unlimited Minions themes(Edit) Disciples of Agony (Skorne) - Oracles of Annihilation (Legion) - Secret Masters (Circle)
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
  • If you have a Gunfighter stuck in melee and the Gunfighter wants to shoot a friendly model, then you can only do so if that friendly is within the Gunfighter's melee range. Also, if that friendly model is engaged by an enemy, that friendly model will always get the +4 DEF bonus (because the point of origin of the attack, the Gunfighter, is not "in melee" with the friendly model).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee.
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • If they engage you then you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs RNG modifiers (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put something like Windstorm (-5 RNG) on it. Then what happens is:
    1. If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    2. If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    3. If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Ambush, then they all get to Ambush anyway. (Locked Thread)
  • Ambush and Apparition both occur at Step 5 of the Control Phase. However, Ambush specifies the "end" of the Control Phase so you cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Declaring Ambush:
    • Choosing whether a unit deploys normally or ambushes needs to happen before deployment.
    So it goes: do the starting roll, Player 2 chooses sides, Player 1 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 2 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 1 starts deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Minelayer - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Plant Mine      (Edit)

  • The damage roll from a mine explosion is considered to be "from a model" for the purposes of stuff like Ragnor1's feat, regardless of whether the Farrow Sapper is still in play or not. (Infernal Facebook Ruling)
  • Mine markers are not models and can be placed anywhere, even on top of flags, on top of objectives, or inside obstructions. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Other models can stand on top of mine markers.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
You cannot resolve two end-of-activation movement effects (refer to "End of Activation Movement" in the core rulebook). For EOA stuff that doesn't involve movement, though, it gets a bit more murky:
  • Some EOA abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
Whether it is explicit it or not, by definition an EOA ability is the last thing you can do for that activation. For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
You cannot do an "at any time" ability during or after triggering an EOA ability; you cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
  • If you start resolving an EOA movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while resolving the EOA movement, and after the EOA movement your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's EOA movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.