Farrow Bone Grinders

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Minion Logo.jpg Farrow Bone Grinders

Minion Farrow Unit

Well versed in the mystic arts of butchery, farrow bone grinders seek out choice organs and marrow-filled bones from slain warbeasts in order to harness the mystical power lingering within. These parts are combined with blood, bile, and lymph to create powders, unguents, and talismans able to empower farrow warlocks toward victory on the battlefield.

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

As of 2019.09, PP has removed

Basic Info

Farrow Bone Grinders
Missing Info
FarrowBoneGrinders6man.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 5
STR
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD 6
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 4 / 6
COST 5 / 7
1.2 each
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Bloodthirst - When it charges a living model, this model gains 2" movement.
  • Craft Talisman (★ Action) - Target a friendly warlock within 3". If the warlock is in range, when it casts a spell and is the point of origin, the spell gains +2 RNG. Spells with a RNG of SELF, SP, or CTRL are not affected. Craft Talisman lasts for one turn.
  • Dismember - If you hit a warbeast in melee you get an additional die on the damage roll.

Weapons

  • Cleaver - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon.
    • Damage Type: Magical
    • Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
      • Grievous Wounds - A model hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.
      • Inflict Pain - When it hits a warbeast with this weapon, this model can place 1 fury point on or remove 1 fury point from the warbeast.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2019.08 Oblivion

  • Points cost dropped to 5/7 (from 5/8)


Thoughts on Farrow Bone Grinders

Farrow Bone Grinders in a nutshell

Farrow Bone Grinders are an interesting unit - a cheap unit with the cost of jammers that are designed to hurt warbeasts (and are conscripts against everything else). Alternatively, they help any warlock without a channeler or arc node help sling spells from a little further away. They are also cheap if limited access to Grievous Wounds.

Combos & Synergies

  • Paingiver Task Master - no knockdown tough on conscripts is just plain obnoxious to deal with - and the Task Master's STR buff means that charging bone grinders can do significant damage to a warbeast.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model.
  • Small units are often not worth buffing
  • When not against warbeasts the Bone Grinders show why they are so cheap

Tricks & Tips

  • Know your metagame - these guys will be either good or useless, depending on what your opponents bring.
  • Even if your opponent didn't bring warbeasts, Grievous Wounds prevents healing on 'jacks and infantry (multi-wound or Tough), which can sometimes be game-winning.
  • They can continue to Craft Talisman for your warlock as long as at least one is alive, it is not tied to any specific member of the unit.
  • They are cheap enough you shouldn't sweat if some die.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)

Other Theme Forces

Circle Orboros (Edit)

Legion of Everblight (Edit)

Skorne (Edit)

Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models

Minion Logo.jpg       Minion Index       (Edit)
Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh


Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager | Midas only: Boneswarm
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Underchief Mire - Wrong Eye


Gatorman Warbeasts Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper - [Underchief Mire only: Swamp Troll]
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow

Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries

Gatorman

Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Croak Trappers - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech

Unaligned

Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea

Solos Farrow Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman

Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Flugwug the Filcher - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor - Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Unaligned

Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dhunian Archon Efaarit Scout - Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Feralgeist - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuck, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Ledfoot & Tredz - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ogrun Bokur - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Primal Archon - Pyg Tank - Saxon Orrik - Swamp Gobber Chef - Swamp Gobber River Raiders - Thamarite Advocate - Thrullg - Totem Hunter - Underchief Mire - Viktor Pendrake - Void Archon

Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces
Minion Faction Themes (Edit) The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food
Unlimited Minions themes(Edit) Disciples of Agony (Skorne) - Oracles of Annihilation (Legion) - Secret Masters (Circle)
This index was last updated: 2019.09

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as intervening terrain) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, or two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bloodthirst - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Craft Talisman      (Edit)

  • Lesser Warlocks cannot benefit from Craft Talisman because they are not warlocks.
  • The warlock only needs to be within 3" when Craft Talisman is used. After that, the warlock can move away and still keep the buff.
  • The range bonus doesn't apply to other models that cast the warlock's spells (Spell Slave, Geomancy, etc).

Rules Clarification : Dismember - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
  • If your target can only be targeted by certain kinds of attack (ie a Menoth warjack with Passage), you can first choose the correct Attack Type (ie Magical Damage vs Passage) and then that allows you to target it. The Attack Type selection and target declaration both occur at Step 1 (Refer Appendix A). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.

Rules Clarification : Inflict Pain - None yet. (Edit)