Exemplar Warder Elias Gade

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1213 articles and 91% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Crucible Guard Assault Troopers (one year review) Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (one year review) Cinerators CA (one year review) Exemplar Warder (one year review)


Protectorate Logo.jpg Exemplar Warder Elias Gade

Protectorate Exemplar Errant Character Solo

A decorated war hero of the Exemplar errants, Warder Elias Gade leads his team of pious knights on crucial missions into enemy territory. Operating far from the Protectorate of Menoth, Gade relies on a lifetime of battlefield experience and his unshakable faith to secure victory. The whistling of his blessed crossbow bolts have presaged the deaths of countless unbelievers, and by his hand many more will fall.

Basic Info

Exemplar Warder Elias Gade
Missing Info
Elias Gade.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 5
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 7
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Call to Sacrifice [Exemplar Errants] - If this model is disabled by an enemy attack, you can choose a non-disabled friendly Exemplar Errants model within 5" of this model to be destroyed. If another model is destroyed as a result of Call to Sacrifice, remove 1 damage point from this model.
  • Sniper - Instead of making a damage roll to resolve a ranged attack, this model can choose to auto-inflict 1 point of damage instead. Either way, models disabled by a ranged attack made by this model cannot make a Tough check.
  • Prey - After deployment but before the first player's turn, choose an enemy model/unit to be this model/unit's prey. This model gains +2 to attack and damage rolls against its prey. When the prey is destroyed or removed from play, choose another model/unit to be the prey.
  • True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.

Weapons

  • Heavy Crossbow (x2) - 10" range, POW 10 ranged weapons.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
    • Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
  • Bayonet (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapons
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2018.09 Exemplar Errata


Thoughts on Elias Gade

Elias Gade in a nutshell

Gade is a potent combat solo. With Advance Deployment, Pathfinder, Prey, Sniper, True Sight, and a pair of magical crossbows, both of which are rocking Weapon Master bayonets, the good Mister Gade is built for one thing: dealing death. Specifically, Gade deals death to his Prey no matter where they might try to hide and with terrifying accuracy. He is Exemplar Interdiction's tool for dealing with ranged stealth solos such as Eiryss.

Combos & Synergies

He requires little to no support from other Errants or even his warcaster. That said, though, if you’re already taking Exemplar Errants in your list, you’re almost definitely going to want to include Gade. Gade has Call to Sacrifice [Exemplar Errant] to keep his murderous butt alive.

  • While not all that great, Kreoss1's feat can set him up to 4 kills with quick work, which officially makes him our Swiss army crossbow.
  • Thyra can grant him Stealth via Occultation, meaning he can work on killing solos without having to worry about being sniped off the board by most guns.
  • Sevy1 (and 0) can push his RAT to effective 10 (12 with aim) with two POW13 blessed shots against his Prey target. Which, when paired with True Sight, makes him a very efficient solo hunter. Sev 1 can also put Vision on him to keep him alive a bit longer.
  • High Exemplar Gravus keeps him from getting knocked down or made stationary.
  • Anson Durst can get use out of him to unjam his jacks ad hold areas, while providing him increased surviability in return, ARM18 is not going to turn him into some unassailable tank, but it helps agaisnt blasts and bounces, it might save you one call to sacrifice and it's for free.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Outside of his Prey target, he doesn't hit that much harder than his Exemplar Errant brothers. He is a Sniper but even against his Prey, he will struggle against anything with more than one wound and armor not made out of paper with his crossbows.
  • His only survival mechanic is killing models in units which tend to serve as your front line.
  • The Knight Exemplar Seneschal and Exemplar Warder are both better for holding zones and flags most of the time.

Tricks & Tips

  • Although he's mainly a ranged combat solo, he's still a weapon master in melee and hits as hard as a Knight Exemplar in melee against his Prey target - he can do a surprising amount of damage on the charge (although don't expect him to live through the next turn if you do so).

Other

Trivia

  • Released in an Insider article 2017.10
  • Didn't go through CID before his initial launch.
  • During the Exemplar CID, he was given Desperate Pace, but before the end of the cycle, it was replaced by Sniper.

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Call to Sacrifice      (Edit)

  • This ability is optional.
  • This ability will be blocked by "anti-heal" effects (such as Grievous Wounds or Entropic Force).
  • This ability will not trigger if the model is disabled by damage rolls not coming from an ennemy attack (like Electro Leap, a continuous effect, or a friendly attack).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Leadership      (Edit)

  • If you have two Leaders handing out the same buff, then sometimes they stack (Bronzeback) and sometimes they don't (Exemplar Bastion). (Infernal Ruling)
  • See specific models for case-by-case clarifications.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prey      (Edit)

  • When you declare your Prey target, it has to be used on a model that is currently on the table. You can't use it on models that are in Ambush, Burrow, etc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Prey bonuses apply to "non-attack" damage, such as Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you hit your Prey target, but your attack is "shifted" to a non-Prey model (via Shield Guard etc) then you don't get the damage bonus vs the new target.

Rules Clarification : Sniper - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : True Sight      (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.