Theme - Exemplar Interdiction

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Exemplar Interdiction)
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Theme - Exemplar Interdiction

Protectorate Theme Force
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith

The ruling priesthood and scrutators of the Protectorate of Menoth have no more loyal and steadfast protectors and warriors than the Exemplars.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Exemplar Interdiction theme force can include only the following Protectorate models:

  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Protectorate.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Protectorate] rule.
    • Mercenary units can include non-Ranking Officer attachments

Full model list

The models allowed in Exemplar Interdiction are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Protectorate warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Protectorate warjacks
  • Fire of Salvation
  • Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Battle Engines

Structures

Mercenaries

  • One solo
  • One unit

Requisition Points

  • One Protectorate CA
  • Two Vassal solos
  • One other small- or medium-based Protectorate solo

Theme Bonuses

  1. The melee weapons of Protectorate warjacks in this army gain Blessed.
  2. Exemplar models in this army gain Aegis.
    Aegis - Models with Aegis are immune to continuous effects.

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Attendant Priest removed from the list of allowed models.
  • Two Vassals added as a freebie option
  • The Blessed benefit changed to melee weapons only (used to be melee and ranged weapons)
  • Lost the +2" deployment zone benefit
  • Gained the Aegis benefit.


Thoughts on Exemplar Interdiction

Exemplar Interdiction in a nutshell

Exemplars are the elite infantry of Protectorate, and this theme rewards you for fielding them. Given that all Exemplars have Weapon Master on their melee weapons, you're going to have a terrifyingly potent melee force. Aegis as a benefit for you Exemplar is better than nothing, it prevents them from dying to continuous effects, but as they have no immuities to any attack types, they can still die to the attacks inflictim said effects. Blessed weapons on jacks are quite a good feature on melee jacks, saving you Focus and/or model activations dealing with whatever buffs your opponent has on their models. However, the interdiction is chalck-full of melee models so its usually better to bring ranged jacks or a single colossal to offset the lack of guns. Still, the cheap and trusty Crusaders will have a real shot at punchin way above their weight class, making them the envy of factions that have to pay way more for a simple beater.

Core Units - Role Recap

Theme Weaknesses

Slow army

Most of the Exemplar units are quite slow. While there are some mitigating options like Gravus you'll still want a caster that can either speed them up or protect them.

Limited Guns

Most Exemplar units do not have ranged weapons. You'll want to include some way of sniping out annoying enemy support solos, whether via Exemplar Errants, the Errant solos, or with an arc node and offensive spells.

Weakness to Guns

Part of the above, most Exemplars are not tough enough to weather too much firepower. You'll want some method of weathering the storm before you get to the enemy, such as screening with Exemplar Cinerators, Kreoss2's Tough bubble, or Vindictus' feat.

Starter Set

Starter set

Unlike most themes, the Exemplar Interdiction have a starter set. This is a decent purchase as you save about 11% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:

You'll notice that there is no warcaster or warjacks included.

List-Building Tips

Exemplar-Heavy build

There are essentially three infantry-heavy archetypes for Exemplar Interdiction.

  • Infantry-spam, involves taking many of the small-based Exemplar, Knights and Errants, and swarming the field with high volumes of accurate, high damage Weapon Master attacks. It is excellent with Testament of Menoth for souls and recursion or Vice Scrutator Vindictus as he can speed up and protect large numbers of models.
  • Medium-base spam. Bastions and Cinerators offer very high damage output and good survivability at the cost of speed and volume of attacks. This means the list excels with The Harbinger of Menoth who can protect the higher value targets with Martyrdom, and speed them up via Crusader's Call.
  • Judicator and friends. The third variant involves taking the Judicator, already a powerful field dominating piece, and supporting it with the various means available to Exemplar Interdiction. Exemplar Errants offer board control and aid accuracy with their CA, Rhoven & Co and Severius0 further support the colossal, while units like Exemplar Vengers or Exemplar Cinerators can hold objectives and offer a second threat to deal with. This type of list excels with a host of warcasters including The Harbinger of Menoth, High Exemplar Cyrenia and The High Reclaimer

Jack-Heavy build

  • Take a max unit of Exemplar Errants with CA (20 points) and use them to screen your jacks. You'll get a free solo (probably Severius 0) out of it. If you want them to stick around a little longer, the Exemplar Errant Seneschal solo (3 points) gives the Errants Unyielding which makes them a more durable screening unit.

Combined-Arms build

  • Kreoss3 and Thyra have flexible buffs that can affect both warrior models and warjacks. Severius0 fits nicely into these lists; Road to War is an excellent threat extender for his battlegroup, and Eye of Menoth provides a buff for the entire army.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Caster Thoughts

Harbinger

She is an excellent Warcaster to run with medium- and large-based Exemplars, able to increases their threat range and melee accuracy with her spells, while Martyrdom keeps them alive. Especially frustrating on ARM21 Cinerators, or the ever-annoying Knights Exemplar Seneschal.

Cyrenia

She is another great choice to run Exemplars with. Her Battle Plans are quite useful, and she increases her troops offensive and defensive capabilities via her spells and feat.

Reclaimer1 and Reclaimer2

Either version are good at running troop-heavy forces. They can recycle your troops further forwards, helping offset the slow speed of Exemplars.

Kreoss2

He gives Exemplars Tough thanks to Paragon of the Faith, and his feat turns your melee attacks up to 11.

Kreoss3

He favors running Vengers (often two units) thanks to providing Divine Inspiration to them via his Elite Cadre; his spells support them and other Exemplars as well.

Thyra

She is a potent force multiplier for Exemplars; like Cyrenia, she gives her troops a threat extender (via feat), as well as a POW and accuracy buffs. Occultation prevents a unit from getting shot.

Vindictus

He can speed them up with a spell and protect them with his feat.

Other

Trivia

Released 2017.05

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessedand/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).

Rules Clarification : Aegis - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]