Exemplar Errants

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Protectorate Logo.jpg

Exemplar Errants
Protectorate Exemplar Unit
Officer & Standard Bearer
Command Attachment

Armed with blessed crossbows capable of piercing even arcane wards, Exemplar Errants act as the hand of Menoth sent forth to strike at enemies abroad. With passages from the Canon of the True Law inscribed upon their shields, these dedicated knights devote themselves fully to the Protectorate’s holy crusades. Each is more than willing to sacrifice his own life to allow one of his brothers to fight on in Menoth’s name.

Basic Info[edit]

Exemplar Errants
Missing Info
ExemplarErrants.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 5
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +2 CA
COST 10 / 16 +4 CA
1.7 each
N/A
FA 3
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Entire Unit
    • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
    • Self-Sacrifice - If this model is disabled by an enemy attack, you can choose a non-disabled model in this unit within 3" of this model to be destroyed and this model removes 1 damage point.
    • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Officer only
    • He has +1 MAT & RAT, and 5 hitpoints
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Purity (Minifeat) - Once per game, enemy upkeeps/animi on the unit to expire and the unit can't be targeted by enemy spells for a round.
    • Tactics: Quick Work - Models in this unit gain Quick Work. (Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.)
    • Mark Target - While this model is in formation, other friendly Faction models gain +2 to ranged attack rolls if they target an enemy within 5" of this model and in its LOS.
  • Standard only
    • Standard Bearer - While this model is within 5" of the unit commander, the unit commander gains +2 CMD.
    • Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.

Weapons[edit]

Everyone except Standard Bearer (who is unarmed)

  • Heavy Crossbow - 10" range, POW 10 gun
    • Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon deals Magical damage.
  • Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee wepaon.
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.

Theme Forces[edit]

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.07 Exemplar Errata

  • Entire unit gained Pathfinder
  • Officer gained Mark Target
  • Tactics changed from Assault to Quick Work
  • Minifeat Purity changed to only affect enemy spells.


Thoughts on Exemplar Errants[edit]

Command Attachment

Exemplar Errants in a nutshell[edit]

Exemplar Errants are your mixed-arms, single-wound, weapon-master infantry, deploying forward and thinning your enemies ranks before getting stuck in. It is not common on single wound units to have ranged magic attacks, making the Errants ideal deterrents against cheap, Incorporeal solo pieces (Gremlin Swarm, Feralgeist, Machine Wraith, etc.) who would otherwise contest zones and flags with impunity. Their defining trait is Self-Sacrifice, which interacts with a load of rules, happening upon the destruction of a model. Check Tips and Tricks for details.

Thoughts on the CA[edit]

The Officer adds utility to the rest of your army via Mark Target and additional infantry killing with Quick Work. The mini-feat is of situational usefulness, but when it comes in handy you'll be glad it's there. The only real purpose of the standard bearer in most games is to be a sacrifice. Still, the additional CMD he provides can be helpful for spreading the unit out.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • The dedicated Errant support solo: Exemplar Errant Seneschal, who gives them Unyielding.
  • They're a good target for Defenders Ward, which Kreoss1, Severius1, and Vindictus have. Each of the three have their own individual synergies with Errants:
    • Kreoss1's feat can potentially let them slaughter infantry en masse via Quick Work, assuming they get to the enemy.
    • Severius 1 makes them much more lethal and accurate at range with Eye of Menoth and Death Sentence. You can even be cheeky and put Death Sentence on a model/unit besides whatever they're killing to trigger Quick Work.
    • Vindictus can jam them up the field with True Path. They make good targets for Penitence as well.
  • Cyrenia can use her Battle Plans to give them Tough or Reposition 3", allowing them to back up after shooting with the latter. They also make good fodder for her feat, allowing your slower models to advance up the field with their deaths.
  • Rhupert gives them Tough or concealment.
  • High Exemplar Gravus - As The Covenant of Menoth is not allowed in the Exemplar theme force, he is your reliable source for a no-knockdown no-stationary bubble for your Errants to form a very hard screening brick. The Unyielding form the Exemplar Errant Seneschal is also crucial for that task. He also now provides Desperate Pace which can push your errants much further up the table and increase their gun range - with Vindictus you can now push an Errant unit to the 27" mark up the table going first which can set up massive scenario problems for your opponent.
  • Mark Target is one of the few ranged hit buffs available in faction. A Judicator (possibly with Scrutator Potentate Severius) actually has reasonable rocket accuracy against a target under this effect. It also does a lot for the rest of the Errant unit.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Grievous Wounds and the like prevents their self-sacrifice tricks from working.
  • Without some way of speeding them up or defensive buff, they'll have a hard time getting to the enemy even through average shooting.
  • Half inch melee means it's easy for them to get engaged by enemies with longer reach, preventing them from making Quick Work attacks.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

Self-Sacrifice is a great tool to enrage your opponent.

  • Self-Sacrifice prevents anything triggering on destroy. For example Sprint, Berserk, Swift Hunter, Snap Fire, Overtake, War Path, Quick Work, etc.
  • Cavalry can't move on after charge impact attack then Self-Sacrifice another Errant.
  • It also can be used to stay engaged. This especially helps to keep an Arc Node engaged to prohibit that caster or locks spell through them.
  • When contemplating the use of Self-Sacrifice, remember that in some cases when you remove a different model from the one being hit, it could leave the first model still within range of yet another attack, resulting in further casualties to the unit.
  • Errants sacrifice themselves for each other. So sacrifice the ones that have yet to take the attack and keep the ones that have already been attacked alive.
  • While High Reclaimer and Testament do not gain souls from Self-Sac, Reclaimer solos, Gravus, Sanctifiers, and the Shrine do.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • The unit (not including CA) was originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
  • The CA was released in Warmachine: Protectorate of Menoth (April 2010)
  • The Errant unit was re-released as a plastic set, but the UA is still metal. The newer plastic models are noticeably shorter than their UA counterparts, which can lead to you wondering why one of the bigger guys is just holding a flag instead of beating people down.

Other Protectorate models[edit]

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Durst - Cyrenia1 - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant
Blessing of Vengeance
Heavy Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher
Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy
Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Self-Sacrifice and/or Roth's Mercy     (Edit)

  • The model that is destroyed is not destroyed by an enemy attack, instead it is destroyed by the Self-Sac ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This allows you to nullify many enemy abilities (such as Overtake and Blood Boon).
    • However, it will not nullify all abilities, some abilities don't care who destroyed what (such as Soul Taker or Body Snatcher).
  • An enemy ability that prevents healing (such as Entropic Force) does not prevent you triggering Self-Sacrifice ... it just prevents the part where you heal.
    • This means you could end up with 2 dead models and 0 healed models; an opponent is perfectly within his rights to let you declare self-sacrifice, remove a 2nd model via self-sacrifice, then refuse to let you heal the first one.
  • If multiple models are caught in the same attack (for instance, an AOE), then they can't self-sacrifice to each other (because they're all disabled at the same time).
    • However, if you have Self-Sacrifice & Tough they trigger at the same time. So you resolve tough first and if anyone in the AOE passes they become non-disabled. Since it's simultaneous, that model is now a valid target for self-sacrifice for the other guys in the AOE.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Purity      (Edit)

  • This causes friendly upkeeps/animi to expire, too.
  • You can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-Purity model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mark Target      (Edit)

  • The model with the Mark Target rule needs to have the target in LOS for anyone to benefit. And within 5", of course. (Infernal Ruling)
  • And the model actually making the attack also has to have the target in LOS in order to, you know, target it.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer      (Edit)

  • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Take Up      (Edit)

  • The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit CA's tagged abilities, Click here